You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2019 9:26 PM Title: Chapter 1

May I suggest you rewrite after watching TMP the directors cut. The extra elements of script as delivered by Nimoy are just pure slash. In the context of the real version you can see why GR and ADF produced the novel. The front dialogue and the comments about the press are not Kirkdale words but Paramount‘s censorship of the original intent. 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2014 5:18 PM Title: Chapter 1

I just discovered this essay, and it's blown me away! I've always seen the slash in the Movie, from the very first viewing when it opened in DEcember 1979, but you've shown how deeply embedded the message about the K/S relationship is in the very structure and design of the film. Very well done!

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/30/2012 9:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

You have done an amazing job.I always felt it's a shame that Brittany has not done her analyzation of the motion pitures but after reading this, I can see that you have already created a wonderful piece of work that I can happily shove down the throat of whoever says kirk and spock are just really really good friends.Then again there are people who simply don't want to see the truth and well...they are not worth arguing with.Thank you for sharing this!

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/15/2011 2:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

You are awesome. And this is awesome.

You know, I’d never really considered before how unworthy the plot of the movie is of Star Trek, but you’re absolutely right. Forget the fact that it’s a rehash of The Changeling, it’s just so shallow and un-nuanced (look at me making up words) if you take it at face value. The only way it becomes Star Trek-deep is if you bring the Kirk/Spock relationship into it. Hurray!!!

I absolutely adore this movie and it’s pretty much entirely on the grounds of the slash. I totally get why non-slashers hate it so much. There’s basically nothing there for them. We get: the affirmation of the deep, abiding and romantic love that was built up over the course of three seasons of flirting. They get: a two hour version of a fifty-minute story they’ve already seen. I kind of want to hold out my arms to the non-believers and say, "Come on over here and join us. Our film is more fun."

Thanks for posting this! And the screencaps are perfect too.

Reviewer: Bastet Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2010 6:49 PM Title: Chapter 1

Star Trek put a lot of 'ghost couples' throughout that to me were supposed to represent Kirk/Spock. Decker and Ilia of course being a main one. But I think the relationship between Will Riker and Deanna Troi was an ever bigger parallel to Kirk and Spock. A human in love with a half human/half alien. Both aliens are from a telepathic race. Spock is linked from childhood to a mate (T'Pring), Deanna is linked from childhood to a mate (Wyatt Miller). Spock is dumped by T'Pring, Deanna is dumped by Wyatt. As suggested in the novel version of TMP, Spock and Kirk have a telepathic link-very rare among humans and vulcans except in rare cases. Riker and Troi had a telepathic link-rare because she can only telepathically communicate with other Betazoids...except in extreme cases. When Troi and Riker see each other again ofter being separated for many years, you can see them practically want to jump each other. Kirk has that same look after seeing Spock again after three years. Another interesting note...Spock's pon farr. Never thoughout any of the movies (which are supposed to span about twenty years) is there any mention of a wife for Spock. So how does he get through those pon farr cycles? (And I'm not talking about that incident in "The Search for Spock"). Someone would have to get him through it. Riker and Troi do wind up together, so it would seem to me that so do Kirk and Spock.

Reviewer: idvo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2010 5:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

Your analyzation and writing skills make me envious! I know a lot of people don't feel that TMP is one of the better Star Trek films, and I think that the reason for that is that they cannot see the K/S subtext in it (and, most likely, they don't want to see it). The love that Kirk and Spock have to one another is so obvious to me and so incomprehensible to others that I can barely wrap my head around it. It;s interesting, because what about Kirk and Spock's relationship would change if there was an explicit romantic element? Nothing. They would still be the same characters we know and love. So why is it so hard for people to believe in the love they so clearly share?

I'm reminded of one of XI's producers (Damon Lindelof) saying that Kirk and Spock "fall in love," before quickly stating "not in the sort-of romantic way," as if he has to clarify. Why would he say "fall in love" if he did not wish to convey the romantic connotations that the phrase has built into it? The mainstream audience for the film probably doesn't believe in the K/S romance, but fans like us certainly do. I simply cannot believe that the producers of the film were unaware of the K/S phenomenon; with all the research they had to do, they were bound to come across it. It's also interesting to note that while Roddenberry and co. never flat-out denied the K/S interpretation (they simply say they never intended or suggested it) Lindelof does deny it. Why? I think we can all infer the answer to that.

That's one of my fears for the nuTrek direction: will they try to cut out all the subtext in order to placate a mainstream audience that's more aware of homosexuality? I hope not, because that would not only "dumb-down" this brilliant franchise, but it would be a gross disservice to the work Roddenberry, Shatner, and Nimoy (because they had to know what they were doing) put into Kirk and Spock's relationship. I can only hope that Nimoy imparted some of that K/S wisdom onto Quinto before handing the reigns over to him.

Sorry that this is more of a discussion than a review ^.^;; I just wrote a paper about K/S in XI for a one of my classes. I really like your analyzation of TMP; your thoughts flow together neatly and you always manage to focus on your main argument (something I have trouble doing in my own writing). You summarize the film just enough to illustrate your points without doing it too much. Thanks for writing this!

~Heidi

Reviewer: Loethlin Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2009 9:10 PM Title: Chapter 1

Yea I had a constructive comment on this, but I forgot it.

Good job, keep it up!

Reviewer: SlenderSail Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/02/2009 9:41 PM Title: Chapter 1

Exactly, without their relationship as a central key element, the show is lame, and dated. The only "point" I ever watched TOS for was the sense of there being something they had - whether we call it "friendship" or "love". The technique of using other "vessels" in depicting aspects/facets of their relationship has always fascinated and intrigued me, for not only does it say there is "love" between K and S, but that it is "the one true love" - giving their entire context the correct meaning, and vice-versa. Thanks for writing this.

Reviewer: 1billsookie Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2009 12:57 AM Title: Chapter 1

i completly agree. from the first epsoide of TOS to the last movie with Kirk and Spock he inteanded for them to be totally and ireversbily in love with each other. he shows this in every epsoide and movie, all the while mangeing to aviod the cencors. he was truly a master of subtext. we miss you Roddenberry.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2009 1:24 AM Title: Chapter 1

I like this, and agree with every word.  Nice to see it here.

Greywolf

Reviewer: Mirrorgirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2009 12:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

Absolutely fantastic review and analysis of 'The Motion Picture' and just how important it is to the K/S timeline. Thank you for this

You must login (register) to review.