Reviews For Check Mate
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Sick-of-Dreams Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2014 8:44 AM Title: Chapter 1

Really quite cute. I enjoyed seeing subtle Spock.



Author's Response:

So glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the lovely comment. :)

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/02/2013 8:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

Aha!  "The Cloud Minders" finally makes sense. :-)  This is a lovely little story, and Spock's inner voice here is much more realistic than it is in most of the stories I've seen; thank you for that.


One tiny thing:  Since Jim is from Iowa, he'd follow the American pattern and say MERRY Christmas, rather than HAPPY Christmas.

 



Author's Response:

I always hated that episode because Spock was so out of character in it - I always wanted to fix it!  I'm also thrilled to hear that Spock's voice worked for you - I do love writing from Spock's POV. :-)

Thanks for the feedback re Happy vs Merry.  I remember debating that when I wrote it, but wanted Spock to suggest happiness for their future, rather than merriness, so went with Happy.  But I'll add a note to explain this in case it jarrs with anyone else who reads it. ♥

Reviewer: sakura Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/02/2013 12:01 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great story!!!!



Author's Response:

Thank you!!!

Reviewer: Akaiii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2013 11:51 AM Title: Chapter 1

One of my all time favourites K/S one-shots~~~



Author's Response:

Well, I'm glad you changed your mind after your last review!  Thank you so much! ♥

Reviewer: Akaiii Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2013 5:31 PM Title: Chapter 1

Pretty awesone, I liked it! Though it has been slightly ooc few times, I very enjoyed 'revisiting' ofthe episode.

Thank you for writing and posting!

Author's Response:

Sorry you felt it was a little ooc but glad you seemed to enjoy it anyway! :-)  Thanks for the feedback!

Reviewer: Doni99 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/05/2012 9:55 AM Title: Chapter 1

Sneaky, plotting Vulcans are the best. ;) Lovely work!

Author's Response:

I adore sneaky!Spock more than anything! :) I had so much fun writing that story and finally putting to rights, in my head, an episode I'd long disliked, not least because Spock seemed so out of character in it. Thank you once again for a fabulous comment! <3

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/07/2011 9:10 AM Title: Chapter 1

I look forward to meeting the author of these tales at KiSCON 2012




K

Author's Response:

Ooo, are you coming? Wonderful! I look forward to meeting you too! :)

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/07/2011 6:39 AM Title: Chapter 1

I started with this story a week ago and I'm sure it will take more time, and when he reached the end, I was so surprised!
Without any doubt, these were the best kissing scenes I've ever read, it made r03;r03;me want to leave the house out, find somebody and try the "techniques" on him!
It was the a very valuable lesson I hope to implement someday



Author's Response:

I'm pleased you enjoyed this story so much!  Writing the kissing scenes was huge fun, especially as Spock was being so devious and Kirk was being so oblivious.  :)  I hope you get a chance to try out the techniques soon!  :D  Thanks for the lovely review.  <3

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2011 6:27 PM Title: Chapter 1

You fixed "The Cloudminders"! Now it makes sense! My God, I wish they'd filmed your version... The kissing lessons were unbelievably hot. Plus I have massive love for your  Devious!Spock and I extra specially loved the way he realized that he was fooling himself about being able to have casual sex with the captain (I was a bit O.o when I read that bit, and then later I was like, Right, okay, that's better, Spock). Also, because I kind of love the fact that he's blatantly giving Droxine the GTFO with his discussion of pon farr in the episode (except she doesn't get it at all; I'm going with Kirk on the 'vacuous' thing, because that pretty much sums up my thoughts on the empty-headed little waif), I loved the fact that you preceded it with that kissing scene. The contrast of "Oh, captain, I must learn to kiss because that silly little airhead finds me attractive," with “SORRY 7 YEAR MATING CYCLE KTHXBAI” is just wonderful. I would never have thought such a touching, heartfelt and utterly believable first time story could have come out of that distinctly odd and jarring episode, but it flows so perfectly into the post-mission Christmas confession of feelings. Oooh and that would absolutely be the best Christmas ever. Do want Spock for Christmas pls!



Author's Response:

I'm sorry I didn't respond to this sooner...  I've never liked The Cloudminders for a number of reasons and set out to fix all those reasons in this story.  :)  I had a lot of fun writing the kissing scenes and I adore devious!spock so much, especially when combined with oblivous!kirk.  :)  I noticed in the episode that Kirk and Spock are shoved alone into a bedroom not once, but *twice* and I thought...hmm...I wonder what might be happening then that we're not seeing, and so this story was birthed.  And yeah, Spock for Christmas would be awesome!  ;)  Thanks for this fabulous feedback - I'm glad you enjoyed the story so much.  x

Reviewer: TLara Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2011 9:24 AM Title: Chapter 1

Perfect story, so very well written!!

Author's Response:

Thanks - glad you enjoyed it.  :)

Reviewer: Damej Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/17/2011 4:27 PM Title: Chapter 1

So awsome!

This story just got better and more engaging as it went along (not just because the porn was at the end).

Well written...well done.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the lovely feedback - I'm pleased you enjoyed it (as well as the pr0n!)  ;)

Reviewer: JamesTKirk1701 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/11/2010 2:03 AM Title: Chapter 1

That was awesome.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  <3

Reviewer: spockollama Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2010 4:23 AM Title: Chapter 1

I totally beleive that Spock was just trying to get a reaction out of Kirk in that episode. You hit the bullseye:) And I I don't I can express how much I love the fact that Spock is considering that his warped time sense could be cause by spores or god-like creatures:) This fic was all around amazing, with great characterizations, humor, and a hot ending. Loved it:)



Author's Response:

Poor Spock - I think he jumped in the deep end in this story, but he's a survivor and he came up gold at the end.  :)

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2010 1:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is simply an outstanding story!! It looks like you had a lot of the same problems with this episode as I did - and you managed to fix them all, which officially earns you the grade of "awesome" in my book :-D. Spock did notice the noise in the chamber when Jim was  attacked, we see why he discussed Pon Farr with a perfect stranger when Jim had to pull it out of him word by word in Amok Time, and we know how Spock could leave the palace without a backward glance after having flirtly pretty heavily with Droxine the whole episode. I'm actually very happy with your making Droxine an instrument in Spock's master plan to seduce Jim, because I found her especially unappealing as a character. In my notes, I described her first as "stupid anorexic brat" (I laughed a lot at Spock's "painfully thin and malnourished" comment) to "bigoted little bitch" later on. So yeah, not going to lose any sleep over Spock using her for greater good, and he shoudn't either. ;)

I did have a tremendously good time watching Spock manipulate Jim thought, shyly but determinedly bringing them in closer physical intimacy. Oh, he knows his Captain so well! You hit one of my secret buttons with those kissing lessons - and what a delight to see the savvy captain so flustered over a few kisses! The tension build-up was slow yet powerful, and the easy, comfortable friendship they share made me want to bask in it. I let out a big awwww when they exchanged their gifts, and I loved their discussion about facades and hidden selves in the beginning - I could totally imagine Nimoy as Spock crossing his arms defensively in front of him when Jim started pushing too hard! Those reflections on the differences between Spock and Kirk and the bit about Kirk's non-strategy actually being to have many startegies running simultaneously were very astute and insightful. It's obvious that you know the characters through and through.  Your Spock is bold, yes, but we follow his reasoning step by step and it is, indeed, always justified and logical :). That moment when he sits in the Captain's chair and very seriously comes to the logical conclusion that he is in love with his Captain made me want to give him a big hug. I loved him even more when he realized that it would be all or nothing with Jim then, even though he'd been willing to compromise in the beginning. He was honest with himself and I admire that.

Oh, and the sexing? HAWT. Spock "alleviating his tension through manual stimulation" using this cave scenario in his mind made me 0_o, and I went OMG!!! when Spock walked into Kikr's cabin and smelled the sex in the air. Hot damn. The kissing lessons themselves kept me on the edge of my seat, melting at the little touches of tenderness they showed each other throughout, I squeed unabashedly every time Kirk mentioned Spock's 'persuasive techniques', and the final sex scene that came to demonstrate their mutual love was everything I could have wished for. Spock having taken the lead (although Jim followed him step for step), then surrendering physically to his Captain at the end made it even sexier for me. I cannot thank you enough for writing such great stories :).

One thing I wish I coudl know is what the accident statistics in the gym are when *Kirk* is working out. *I* would assuredly have walked into a bulkhead or tripped over my feet. I'm crazy for the man. LOL. :-D

 

Reviewer: BeCullen Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2010 10:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

Very nice story.  Thanks.



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed it!  <3

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/05/2010 9:31 AM Title: Chapter 1

I love this:

“You know Bones keeps accident statistics,” Kirk asked, looking up at where Spock stood two meters away. “Apparently, the number of injuries in the gym goes up by over ten percent any time you work out in there.”

I'm a visual kind of person, so that immediately snapped me to the scene and it made me smile.

Wonderful writing as always, this was a great read.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the kind feedback!  I think I'd probably not pay proper attention to what I was doing if I ever got to see Spock working out!  ;)

Reviewer: JWUP Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2010 8:57 PM Title: Chapter 1

Just beautiful! I absolutely love your writing style. Spock was delightfully adorable yet perfectly in character as well! I loved it! :D

Author's Response:

Thank you for this lovely feedback - Spock really can be adorable when he puts his mind to it, and poor Jim...doesn't stand a chance!  :)

Reviewer: t le ha Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2010 5:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

i really, really loved it... not only was it wonderfully written, it was phrased really well too. :P you definately get top rating XD



Author's Response:

Thank you for the lovely feedback and the five stars for this - it remains one of my favourite works.  :)  I'm glad you enjoyed it too!

Reviewer: freemountin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2010 11:55 AM Title: Chapter 1

I really liked this, thanks for sharing. Good Spock pov are few and hard to find, and it makes this story all the more special. I adored seeing Kirk and their moments of intimacy through his eyes, like "...the moment their mouths met, they went straight to phase three,..." - awesome!



Author's Response:

Spock is so analytical that I honestly don't think he could switch his brain off during intimate moments if he tried.  I really enjoying writing from his POV and find it quite easy, which probably says a lot about me.  ;)  Glad you enjoyed this!  x

Reviewer: bistokidsfan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2009 12:14 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a great first-time fic!  I have always wondered about the "Cloudminders" ep.  It was like, "Dude, we should let Kirk take a rest & give the ABOTW to Spock or somethin'."  "Sweet, and you know, make her wear a dress that looks like she's gonna fall outta it any second."  "Way to go, dude!"  "Hehehehehe."  Ahem, anyway....I like your version much better.  Fun, funny, and way teh hott with the kissage :D



Author's Response:

That episode to me was one long WTF??  And I really, really didn't like it.  So I fixed it and had fun switching Spock and Kirk around with Spock being all assertive and sly, and Kirk being all oblivious and naif...  :)

You must login (register) to review.