You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WizardFantasy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2013 1:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

It was interesting to see actual love btween spock and uhura, authors don't usually do that because they're usually die hard s/k fans like me, but i appreicate now, that it can be done without uhura bashing and everything else. It's really good story!



Author's Response:

Although, like you, I'm a diehard Kirk/Spock fan and felt a physical jolt - like a kick to my gut - the first time I saw THAT scene take place in the first reboot movie, I'm careful how I portray Uhura.  I won't want to create a two-dimensional harpie, or someone who is just mean.  TOS Uhura was a lovely lady and I feel whatever we saw in TOS is somewhere in the reboot versions, so to me, Uhura can't be a bad person. :-)  Thanks for the lovely feedback! ♥

Reviewer: mapleshadechris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2013 11:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

How wonderful to read the same story again, from a differing view point.  K/S was my first slash pairing and it is stories like this (these) that reminds me of just why this pairing has lasted as long as it has.  This is a beautiful romance, from beginning to end.  



Author's Response:

Thanks for another lovely review! I found the change in POV really affected the tone of ths story, as it felt 'darker' from Spock's POV.  I'm so glad it worked for you! ♥

Reviewer: roswellfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/13/2013 3:59 AM Title: Chapter 1

This was so very enjoyable, a well-written companion piece that still could stand easily on its own. I'm so very glad you decided to share this.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you made that point, as having writting it, I wasn't sure if it could be read without the other one first.  Thank you so much for reading and commenting - I really appreciate it! ♥

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2012 3:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

It was nice reading the story from spock's pov.It makes me sad that Logoralan had to die.



Author's Response:

It was an interesting exercise to write it - I had in my head what he was going through but when I wrote it, it was far sadder and more angsty than I'd imagined.  I was so sorry Logoralan had to die and I actually cried as I wrote it! It's the first time I've killed off an original character like that, but I couldn't see any way for him to live.  Thanks again for commenting. <3

Reviewer: Doni99 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2012 12:54 AM Title: Chapter 1

How could I not love this?! Same amazing story, but from Spock's point of view. Plus a little more Nyota. So very well done!

Author's Response:

I was surprised how different the story felt from Spock's POV - it was an interesting exercising writing it all again from another POV. I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/25/2012 2:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really loved this and Silver Lining. It was great reading the same story from two points of view. On the whole, I prefer Spock's. Hope you continue to write stories in this fashion.

Author's Response:

First, thank you so much for your lovely comment.  I'm glad you enjoyed both stories.  Although I had a lot of what Spock was going through in my head, it was a fun process writing it out and seeing how much the events affected him.  I'm not sure if I'd do it again but it's worth thinking about. :)

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2012 2:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

Like this section of K/S archive as it opens up stories you missed first time round or enjoyed but lost before working out how favourites operated. This is one of the few fics to really conside Uhura without dismissing her. I love the change of rules....just ebcouse there aren't a lot of vulcans left I presume.



Author's Response:

I'm not sure what 'this section' is, but glad you found and enjoyed this story.  Dealing with Uhura is difficult in the reboot universe and I don't believe I've ever been dismissive of her and am sure I've never demonized her.  In most cases, their relationship is over before my story begins, but in Children of Destiny and also in Slow Beginnings, the Spock/Uhura relationship is integral to the plot.  As for the change of rules - yes, it's explained more in the companion story, Silver Lining, which was written first and is the same story but from Kirk's point-of-view. :)  Thank you for your feedback - I appreciate it. :)

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/21/2011 9:39 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow - just finished reading this companion story and I loved this as well!!!! I especially loved your characterization of Uhura -- I absolutely hate Uhura-bashing (I almost feel like it is reflective of an undercurrent of misogyny in K/S fanfiction) and it's so nice to read about Spock's genuine love for her here.

 

Gosh - have to say I'm also surprised that this story doesn't have more reviews!  Seems like the best stories in this archive have the least number of reviews sometimes!



Author's Response:

So glad you enjoyed this version too! :)  I'm aware how Uhura is sometimes shown in a negative light and I've gone to some effort to not to go down that road myself.  In my story, Slow Beginnings, the relationship between Spock and Uhura lasts until gone halfway through the story and their final split is amicable.

As for reviews, I think a lot of people read but don't comment - Silver Lining has been read over 24,000 times but has only 18 comments! I know there are some very prolific writers on the archive who seem to have a large fan following for all their work. :)  Perhaps another reason for the lack of comments is because this (and all viritually all my other stories) was posted in one go, rather than as a serial, where each person only leaves one comment, rather than leaving one at the end of each chapter. :)

Reviewer: magpie1600 Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/16/2011 6:15 AM Title: Chapter 1

I've just finished reading both and they are both wonderful and it was nice to see it from both points of view. Great story telling.



Author's Response:

I was away when you left this lovely feedback, and so missed it until now.  Thank you for taking time to leave a review, I really appreciate it. <3

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2011 12:44 PM Title: Chapter 1

It was all so beautiful, I put the story in a museum.
You've never been in space travel, but I feel my heart as well as my stomach, were just down there



Author's Response:

Thank you for your lovely feedback.  I'm so glad you enjoyed this story so much! <3

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2011 6:30 PM Title: Chapter 1

Seems like an eternity since I started reading this novel.
It was captivating sentence: "As I feel destined to love you"
It usually sounds "great defining" But here I believed it. Kirk and Spock indeed designed to each other
It's one of the most charming stories I ever read.
I had the honor to read it - certainly very unique



Author's Response:

It is a long story if you read both parts!  I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed it.  Thank you so much for leaving this lovely feedback.  :)

Reviewer: Kirkinadream Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2010 4:43 PM Title: Chapter 1

Freakin awesome...



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed it - did you read its companion story, Silver Lining? Thank you for reading and commenting.  :-)

Reviewer: atymer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/24/2010 7:35 PM Title: Chapter 1

I have always thought Vulcans believed themselves to be more violent than humans could imagine in their past. If so, the emotions would have been more deeply experienced.  The story seems to support that theory and also the incredible mental abilities they have.

 Considering Spock loved Nyota so much, he was able to shield that painful desire from both his love and the rising emotions he began to feel for his new bondmate. That the shielding was necessary supports the true depth of the love he must forego.

It was certainly clear that so much more of his emotional depth was hidden than anyone but Nyota could suspect. Kudos to the author for this addition and the opportunity to see the full effects of despair such events would inccur.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for this wonderful and extensive review.  As you may be able to tell, I'm fascinated by the depth of emotion that Vulcans are capable of feeling, even though it's normally so controlled.  I can't imagine, given that, how hard it would be to lose the woman he loved and not let her, nor his new bondmate, see the depth of his loss.  I'm so glad you picked up on that - I really wrote this companion piece just to have the opportunity of showing this facet of Spock which isn't readily obvious in the version from Kirk's Point of View.  I'm glad you enjoyed the story - thanks for reading and feeding back.  xx

Reviewer: DarlaPr0duction Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/16/2010 2:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm so glad you did Spock's POV too. I enjoyed this just as much as 'Silver Lining’, but I really felt for Uhura in this version. It makes me want to re-read Kirk's POV all over again. Thank You.



Author's Response:

Silver Lining is the first story I've written where I felt only half the story had been told, and that feeling was strong enough to motivate me to write a companion piece for it.  I felt there was so much missing by seeing everything only from Kirk's POV where, particularly at first, he didn't want to know how much Spock was suffering as a result of the sudden change in circumstances.  Thank you for your lovely review! x

Reviewer: JamesTKirk1701 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/11/2010 8:03 PM Title: Chapter 1

Awe. That was so cute!

Reviewer: BeCullen Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 4:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very nice I loved reading from Spock's POV, although it was sad at times. Thanks.

Reviewer: besidemyside Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/08/2010 7:57 PM Title: Chapter 1




Author's Response:

Speechless?  :-)

Reviewer: Brytewolf Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2010 5:57 PM Title: Chapter 1

While I already knew where this story was headed, having read Silver Lining first, the differing twist on events was refreshing. The crushing weight of Spock's pain was even more vivid -- logically so -- from his side, and his slow plotting to break down Kirk's defenses a beauty to behold. The author shows his strength and determination wonderfully, as well as the depth of the feelings he shows for not only Kirk, but Uhura as well in the beginning.

I especially enjoyed how, even though Spock was involved only with females at the beginning, his logic allowed him to view their situation without the hangups that Kirk had had, and he readily accepted the situation long before Kirk was able to get over his emotionally difficulties regarding caring for a man. It rang true to both their characters, for this scenario, in my eyes.

The way the author shows different scenes, as well as the same (but from Spock's perspective) from Silver Lining I also found intriguing. Some of the things that Spock did in the first did not make complete sense until seen from this side, and I enjoyed that very much. Beautiful reading, that certainly cannot be skipped, and I am so very happy I finished Silver Lining and continued on to this one.

Reviewer: Vigdis Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/30/2010 4:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed this story. Sneaky with the Vulcan kisses... :)

Reviewer: Damej Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2010 6:04 AM Title: Chapter 1

Read both, LOVED both.

You must login (register) to review.