Reviews For Balance
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/11/2015 12:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

I've read this story three times on AO3 and loved it every time.  Now I'm reading it here, and yep, I still love it. :-)

First-person Spock is rarely done, and when it IS done, it's almost never done this well.  I love how wonderfully in-character you keep him.  Much of the time when I read Spock (in other stories), I'm thinking, "Oh, come on, Spock would never say/do/think THAT."  But when I read this story, I feel as if I'm having the wonderful privilege of hearing his actual thoughts.

I know the reboot is new and flashy and seductive, and of course you must write what you feel called to write.  But I selfishly wish that you were still writing stories that take us inside of TOS Spock, as this one does.

I wish I could send you flowers or chocolates or something, to thank you for the lovely things you write for us.


Author's Response:

Thank you SO much for this wonderful feedback - I take it as a huge compliment that you found Spock's voice and thought patterns authentic.  I have often found myself thrown out of a story because something Spock has thought, said or done that I found jarring and unlikely. So it means a lot to me when you say this worked for you.

I haven't given up on TOS, although my creative juices at the moment are at a low ebb, but I will write more.  For a short time over this winter, my life is set to become a little more settled than it has been for the last few years, and I hope that it will give me the space to write again. :-)  I'm co-chairing the Seattle KiScon over Halloween and I'm sure the people and the panels will inspire me. :-)

Thank you again for lovely message - I really appreciate it. ♥

Reviewer: Kukia Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2015 2:47 AM Title: Chapter 1

Awesome, Awesome story. Loved the progession of the relationship and how they find in the end that Jim's erections were not because of danger but because of Spock. Thanks so much for posting. I don't usually read TOS, I never really saw the original series and I'm more hooked on the reboot. But I have started to appreciated (and watch) TOS because of great writers like you. Thanks again. Also I wanted to mention that I have enjoyed reading your other stories also (you are one of my favorite authors :) ).

Author's Response:

Hi Kukia, thank you *so* much for this lovely feedback. :-) I'm really happy you enjoyed the story, especially as you generally ship reboot. It thrills me to know that you're beginning to appreciate TOS from stories you've read - it is quite a different dynamic. Thank you so much for taking time to leave this comment. ♥

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2014 4:30 AM Title: Chapter 1

I love this one. I really like the progression Spock went thrthen and the introspection. I thought it was funny how in the gym they both thought they were helping each other out.

Author's Response:

Thank you for your lovely feedback and five star rating!  ♥ Glad you enjoyed the story. 

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2014 3:07 PM Title: Chapter 1

Please next time: division into chapters

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for your feedback.  This story was put up when a much earlier version of the software was used and dividing stories into chapters weren't possible (I imagine you must leave this feedback for a *lot* of the older stories on the archive, some much longer than this one!).  When I get time I shall do as you ask and put the story into chapters for you.  Meanwhile, I'm so sorry for the inconvenience.

Reviewer: fohatic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2013 9:52 PM Title: Chapter 1

This may be the hottest, most satisfyingly in-character s/k fanfic I've read yet! Despite the occasional typo distracting me now and then, this story flowed at an excellent pace, setting the perfect tone for the mounting tension and sweet, sweet release. Loved it!!

Author's Response:

Wow, thank you so much for your lovely feedback! I really appreciate it. ♥  I'm so happy my characterisations worked for you.  I'm so sorry, though, that those typos caused such distractions and am very happy you were able to overlook them to enjoy the story.  :-)

Reviewer: Akaiii Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2013 8:44 PM Title: Chapter 1


Author's Response:


Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2013 6:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great story. Love the ending.

Author's Response:

Thank you - glad you enjoyed it! :)

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2012 4:18 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love this story. I must have read a hundred times

Author's Response:

Wow! It makes me very happy to know you've enjoyed it so much.  Thank you for your support - I really appreciate it. <3

Reviewer: Doni99 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/03/2012 12:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

Another lovely, compelling story. You've got a great way of working in events from the series and tweaking them. Loved it!

Author's Response:

You leave the best comments! Thank you! It was fun working in episodes around the story - so glad it worked for you. :)

Reviewer: sacara Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2012 7:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

I absolutely love this story! You're a great author. Also it was very hot ;) Thanks a lot for sharing!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the lovely comment! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. <3

Reviewer: kokoroyume Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/07/2011 7:57 PM Title: Chapter 1

Awesome story and great Spock's POV :D

Thank you !

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the lovely feedback - I love writing from Spock's POV.  :)  So glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: lm_vanillarose Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/26/2011 1:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

I've never left a comment on a story before, but I couldn't help myself. That was awesome. It sexy, sure, but those are easy enough to find. It was also a great story, with very authentic characters, especially Spock. Much trickier to do. And the icing on the cake was the humour. That was the funniest story I've read on here. Thank you so much for sharing.

Author's Response:

Wow, I feel honoured that my story is the first you commented on.  I'm so glad that what you enjoyed went beyond the story to the characters themselves - I try hard to make them as authentic as I can and love writing from Spock's point of view - I'm really pleased to hear this worked for you.  I love adding touches of humour and Bones is always a great one for the foil for it.  :)  Thank you so much for his wonderful feedback - I really appreciate it.  :)

Reviewer: WendyPlains Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2011 2:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

Great story - hot and loving at the same time.  You have a gift for creating the right atmosphere.  Love your stories!

Author's Response:

Thank you for the comment - I'm glad you enjoyed this story and it toally is a love story where the two men involved just need their heads knocked together a bit, mataphorically speaking, to figure things out.  :)

Reviewer: Damej Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2011 3:18 AM Title: Chapter 1

I loved this and I was so glad to realise it was "Evil-Kirk" being such a dick in the lab.

Excellent interpritation of the episodes.

Great story.

Author's Response:

I had to switch the ep order around a bit to make that happened, but I couldn't pass up the parallel of Spock's constant human/vulcan war within himself and Kirk's adventure being split in two - and for them both to gain important insights from it.  Thanks for such great feedback.  :)

Reviewer: bluefeathers Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/31/2010 1:02 PM Title: Chapter 1

Love it. Thank you so much for posting it.


Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting - I appreciate it.  :)

Reviewer: ousoonerfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2010 9:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

By far one of the best I've read...Totally fell in love w/it..

Author's Response:

Wow!  Thank you for such an amazing comment!  :D

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2010 6:46 AM Title: Chapter 1

Kirk quoting Napoleon makes a lot of sense. So does Spock overthinking. As does Kirk winning him over with logic.

Author's Response:

So glad to hear it worked for you!  Thanks for commenting.  :)

Reviewer: omega111 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2010 2:02 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh!! What a fabulous story. I really loved the character analysis in this. Thank you so much for posting it!!

Author's Response:

Thank you for the lovely feedback!  I love getting inside Spock's head and seeing the world and the people in it as he does.  :)

Reviewer: Jules Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2010 1:59 AM Title: Chapter 1

I was so glad that they both realised that they loved each other. It was so beautifully woven together. The ending where Spock comes out of the blankets was priceless, you could just imagine McCoy's face. You remained so true to the characters which is what made it so believeable. Was still sitting up at 2am reading it on Boxing Day. Oh well sleep is over-rated.


Author's Response:

I'm sorry I didn't respond to this lovely comment at the time you wrote it.  I know what it's like to stay up way too late because I've become hooked on a fic and am thrilled that you found this story so compelling.  I had a lot of fun writing that scene with Bones at the end and swear I grinned all through writing it, like you imagining McCoy's face when he catches them.  :)  I can totally imagine Spock being completely dignified in that situation even if Kirk is helplessly giggling at the whole scenario.  :)  Thank you so much for leaving such lovely feedback - I really appreciate it.  :)

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/25/2010 11:35 PM Title: Chapter 1

Beautiful.  Absolutely beautiful.  I'm so glad your Kirk and Spock didn't just jump together, that it took time for them to find out what they wanted.  That made it all that much more priceless when it did happen.  You write an awesome story and I want to thank this Kathleen Resch for letting you post this too!  Thanks!

Author's Response:

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it so much.  It's great to hear the story worked for you - and that you appreciated how they needed to sort past a lot of stuff to figure out what was right for them.  And yes, Kathleen Resch and her K/S zine T'hy'la rocks!  :)

You must login (register) to review.