Reviews For By Your Side
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/31/2013 1:23 AM Title: Chapter 1

Slowly building up to an amazingly tender and romantic ending, closing the circle with the beginning. I found your story of deep intuition, trying to explain on one hand Jim's daredevil behaviour and on the other hand how their essentially antagonistic relationship could eventually evolve into the closeness Jim and Spock are due to have in any universe or time-line.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for leaving such lovely and detailed feedback!  I completely agree, that no matter the universe, they're destined to be together. :-)

Reviewer: yuki_nechan Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/04/2013 7:39 PM Title: Chapter 1

Great, amazing...ridiculous because a virgin Jim is like...i don't know, crazy?

But i love the idea as...the center idea of this marvelous fic.

Excellent!



Author's Response:

Crazy is the right word - but I really wanted to write a story where Jim being a virgin was at least plausible, and I'm really happy it worked for you.  Thank you so much for leaving such lovely feebdack! ♥

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/28/2013 10:29 PM Title: Chapter 1

Another intriguing story Amanda. Any potential for a sequel?



Author's Response:

Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed this story!

I'm sorry, I don't have any plans for a sequel to this as I felt that both Jim and Spock had gotten past all their issues to be together, and there wasn't more to say about it.  Also, I have too many other new stories ideas I want to write! Thank you for taking time to leave feedback, I appreciate it! :)

Reviewer: nekoii-desu Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/09/2013 12:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

Hi again Amanda :)

No issue on any late review response, I'm pleasantly surprised you responded at all :D Thank you~

As for feedback on this one - By Your Side

It sure is a quirky one. Really weird since the basis (it felt like this was the basis) was built around Jim's discovery of his odd link between sexual arousal and fighting. That is a very strange direction to go out on, but it works out in the end. Must admit that initially, it was just really strange, what with Jim going on about the multiple dates he had with his hand due to this and that fighting incidents. But once the mission-years began, things lost it's strangeness - especially after the focus on Spock developed and progressed.

It also felt very Jim, and human centered. There was a very important "mind" component in this - how Spock felt during their skin-touch moments during the gym practice sessions, and the mind meld to keep Jim alive. But it was played down, while the whole talking, communicating and physical sexual action was given center stage.

I like that it was made this way - more human, more Jim's POV. Because that made me realise that I actually prefer the Vulcan side of things. To each his own, and each his preferences. Human-way is good to, but I personally prefer there being more 'mind' related references.

That being said, the 'conversation' both Jim and Spock had in sickbay was executed very nicely :) We are all afterall Human (sad! no Vulcans in real life :( ) and that makes communication key to solving many of life's problems and mysteries. So Thank you for pulling that bit of the story of beautifully.

That's all for feedback! :D I'm gonna loot around ksarchive for more goodies now~ heheee~



Author's Response:

Thank you SO MUCH for the wonderfully long, detailed and thoughtful feedback.  Again, I'm behind with my responses! :)

My first goal with this story was to find a way that Jim could still credibly be a virgin when he meets Spock.  But clearly Jim is a very sexual being, and I'm aware that some men do become sexually aroused when fighting or in danger, so I used that aspect of Jim to channel his sexual energy/frustration, thus providing him some kind of outlet for it.  But I can see how strange it would be to see him acting that way!

It's interesting that reading this story helped you realize you enjoy reading from Spock's POV more.  I actually find writing from Spock's POV much easier - which probably says a lot about me! :)  I have written two stories which are actually narrated by Spock (i.e. 1st person) in A Friend In Need and in Balance and at least half my stories are from Spock's POV.  The advantage of writing from Jim's POV is that he gets to look at Spock and enjoy and appreciate his physical beauty. :) 

Reviewer: atymer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/06/2013 3:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

Observation does not alway lead to correct interpretation of the data. I alway thought that in TOS Kirk's reputation was misconstrued.  In the new film Kirk's reputation has a womanizer is also implied. Perhaps it is true as he is at least ten years younger when we meet, than the Kirk of TOS.

I enjoyed the authors take on 'looks can be deceiving'.  I appreciated that Spock, who obviously is not living a strickly Vulcan life, was very open to the possibilities. Their interactions were charged with anger and desperation.

I enjoyed the story very much and appreciated maturity kicked in on both their parts in order to communicate. Thanks heaps to Bones! lol



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your lovely long and and detailed review! ♥

I think if you look at TOS, many of the encounters with women were pragmatic, rather than romantically-driven.  Laura Goodwin wrote a fun essay about it >>> here.  Meanwhile, I can imagine Spock isn't as in touch with his emotions as a human might be, spending most of his time controlling them, so that when they do surface, they tend to be more explosive.  Ultimately, they are both super-intelligent men and I think will be able to figure things out between them. :)

So glad you enjoyed this story. :)

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2013 12:43 PM Title: Chapter 1

You have to write more academy fictions! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful fictions.They are quite refreshing and help getting through tiring days of studies and tests.



Author's Response:

I do love Academy fics and have written a few.  There's the TOS story, Mistletoe Challenge, and in reboot there's Extra-curricular Activities and its sequel (taking place after the reboot movie) Academic Matters, as well as Knowing Me, Knowing You (all those are linked to the stories).  I'm sure I'll write more as it's fun to explore them at that time of their lives.  :)

Thank you so much for your kind comment and I'm very happy they're proving a welcome diversion from your exams - good luck with those! <3

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/17/2012 2:24 PM Title: Chapter 1

Yay for the KiScon recs list! I loved this story SO MUCH - all the little details it filled in that the movie glossed over, and I have to agree with what so many other reviewers have said: it totally makes a very plausible case for virgin!Jim (and that was all kinds of delightful). But my all-time favourite couple of lines have to be these:

"Instant hard on.

Well, that’s fucking inconvenient."

Beautifully understated and funny as hell. I LOLed my heart out.

Reviewer: nixishadow Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/04/2012 5:04 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love the premis of this story.  You made it so believable that Kirk could be a virgin when he meets Spock.  Thanks so much for sharing your talent with all of us readers.  Great job, I can't wait to see what else you come up with.



Author's Response:

Thank you for leaving such a lovely comment and for the five gold stars! Jim as a virgin's been done before but I really wanted to write a plausible story and am so pleased you thought it believable! <3

Reviewer: Doni99 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2012 4:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

Another amazing story. I loved what you did with the twists to Jim's past and his initial meetings with Spock. Great job working them from antigonistic and unhealthy to absolutely adorable.

Author's Response:

Thank you once again, for this lovely comment! <3 The story started off with the thought: 'under what circumstances could Spock plausibly be Jim's first sexual encounter?' and it went from there! I'm so glad it worked for you and you enjoyed it so much. :)

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2011 3:43 AM Title: Chapter 1

yeah I thought the scene on the bridge in the movie was sexual as hell -- and I reckon the director did too, that close-up on Jim's fluttering eyelids, hee hee hee!!

this was so much fun, love me some angry wall!sex, mm-hm yeah!  And poor Jim, everyone thinks he's Casanova and he can't even get to first base half the time.  Very credible how easy he'd pop off once he did get some, for sure.  It, uh, it takes most guys a while before that stops happening... :)

I just enjoyed everything here -- how persistent Jim was, his whole relationship with Daisy and how in tune they were with one another, plus watching him and Spock dance around each other -- yeah, great fun!!



Author's Response:

So pleased you enjoyed it!  This was such a fun story to write - trying to figure how Jim could credibly remain a virgin for so long.  :)  Thank you for this wonderful review.  x

Reviewer: beam_me_up_13 Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2011 4:32 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very nice!



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: SuperSticky Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/15/2011 10:52 PM Title: Chapter 1

Fantastic story.  Masterful build of sexual tension and what a pay off.  I know it's good when I don't want it to end.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'ver never written that kind of confrontational ST before and wanted to give it a go and with Jim already being pretty screwed up, this would feed right into that.  :)  Thank you so much for taking time to leave your kind feedback - I'm glad you enjoyed it.  :)

Reviewer: Spockaholic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/15/2011 5:48 PM Title: Chapter 1

There were so many moments of awesomeness in this story, but my favorite *had* to be Spock threatening to report a virgin Jim as a sexual predator, lol.  The "angry sex" was a great element to the story as well, especially because there was an underlying reason for it.  I also really enjoyed reading about the conflicts between Jim and Spock as captain an first officer; the dialogue was very well thought-out and provided great psychological insights into the characters.  Many thank-yous for such an incredible story.



Author's Response:

my favorite *had* to be Spock threatening to report a virgin Jim as a sexual predator

I know!  Poor Jim!  Still, at least he got what he wanted in the end.  :)  As for the angry sex - I just imagined what the two of them who were really attracted to each other, but utterly frustrated with each other, would do when they had a blow-up argument (with Jim, of course, pushing Spock to the edge).  I think the scene on the bridge in the movie had a very strong sexual component to it.  :)  I'm so glad the dialogue worked for you too!  Thank you for this wonderful review - I really appreciate it.  :)

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/15/2011 9:44 AM Title: Chapter 1

Very well done, and it does explain why Jim keeps trying to get himself killed. The only thing I don't buy is that Jim was still a virgin. Comes on. You KNOW he had to have lost his virginity at about 14--there's nothing else to do in Iowa. I'm a native; I know, lol.



Author's Response:

I wanted to write a story where Jim's virginity into his mid-20s is plausible - I'd like to think he wouldn't cheat on Daisy.  :)   But I guess it didn't work for you though!  Thanks for reading and leaving feedback.  :)

You must login (register) to review.