You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: fandomlucky Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2013 9:24 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

I loved this story - it was a romance but still felt true to the characters. Spock is such a difficult POV to write, and you did such a fantastic job. I liked your intergration of Gary Mitchell into the story - I am always interested in people's depictions of him, and I enjoyed yours very much. Thank you for a very enjoyable read!



Author's Response:

You've paid me a huge compliment by saying I stayed true to the characters - thank you!  I really enjoy writing from Spock's POV and am so glad you feel it works.   I find Gary Mitchell an intersting character.  I felt underneath the bravado, there was a degree of insecurity that left him feeling somehow inferior, so that when he was transformed, he finally had the power over others that his ego demanded.  Thanks for the lovely feedback! ♥

Reviewer: nekoii-desu Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/09/2013 12:51 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

Haha! Oh the irony. To think right after I read your 'human pov' story from By Your Side. I stumble upon this particular one! and it's in Spock's POV! Yaaaaaaaay! :D

Love it.

I don't know if it was your intention or not, but this Spock (TOS) is more in touch with his human side as compared to the other one (XI). and it's simply endearing to read that. That Vulcan mind express emotions. Nice nice nice nice nice. Oh, and I'm really really glad nothing too horrible happened - what with Gary in the picture, you can never be too sure - so this one turned out very nice and positive, Was peeved off with Gary not allowing Spock to be the 'Officer of the Deck'. But it all turned out well in the end~

Happy :D



Author's Response:

Thank you for more lovely feedback!  I really love writing from Spock's POV as I find it interesting imagining how an alien would view humans while living in their world.


TOS Spock is 10 years older than reboot Spock at the start of the 5 year mission, and I believe that has given him more time to explore his human side.  I think, too, he has a clearer idea of what he wants from life.  I believe if Gary had lived, Kirk would not have been so predisposed to seeking out Spock's company and their legendary friendship may never have happened.

So glad you enjoyed this story - it's one of my favourites. :)

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/21/2012 2:56 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

I love your story. Very well.

Thank you.

Author's Response:

So glad you enjoyed it - thank you! ♥

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/28/2012 3:34 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

I have to admit. This is the best TOS fanfiction that I have ever read! Characters are so well-written that this can easily be what happened during the series. I searched ff.net and this fic is not uploaded there.I think you will get more reviews over there. This fiction is awesome and it deserves at least 100 reviews! Anyways, thank you so much for this great work.I really enojyed reading it.



Author's Response:

Wow! *Thank you* so much for your very kind comment! There is so much wonderful TOS fiction out there, I'm thrilled that you've put this at the top of your list. :)   I have to admit, remains one of my favourite stories too.    I've never put my writing on ff.net but will certainly consider it - thanks for the advice.  I really appreciate you taking time to leave this lovely comment - it's really made my day. <3

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2012 8:12 AM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

Lovely! All of it!

Author's Response:

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it and thank you for the five stars! <3

Reviewer: Doni99 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2012 2:45 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

Just lovely. The vulnerably of the two was nicely done. I like the idea that they had to spend those years apart to become the men they are.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I was intrigued with the idea that they'd met a long time before the mission - I'm glad it worked for you. xx

Reviewer: duneline Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/27/2011 2:36 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

yeeeees! trop beau!



Author's Response:

Merci beaucoup!  :)

Reviewer: nhrc Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2011 6:54 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

This story deserves the prize he won. With great integrity and creativity has earned this honor.
I would like to begin to elaborate a few excited moments of Jim and Spock - but I lose all words.
I played "Annie's Song" again and again throughout the story: these words dripped in to my mind when they became more intimate - it was all so beautiful moving to tears
I enter myself into the story. I believed in them.
And it hurt... all the lost time ... ... it hurts like hell.

I was moved by how human was "your Spock" and how sensitive your "Jim " than others I've read antil today
The words they shared were like a burn on my heart. The language was gentle and soft, especially in the intimate moments.
But when Jim said what position he wanted, at the back of my head lit up a giant neon sign of "My Oh (F) God" that can decorate in Las Vegas, and I giggled.

I felt "them"everywhere: my mind, my heart, my breath, and some more modest I am ashamed to write.
When I got to the end - I smiled. And a sense of reconciliation, wholeness and that everything good in the world filled me.
With these feelings I thank you from the depths of my heart for the experience you gave me, and go to sleep hoping to sweet dreams.



Author's Response:

Annie's Song is so beautiful and evocative - I can't listen to it and not think of Kirk and Spock.  They are everything to each other. 

Because the story is narrated by Spock's, we see how everything affects him and though he may control any outward manifestation of it, it doesn't mean he doesn't feel, so he seems more human because of it.  And Jim never forgot that time with Spock and knew he was something very special

Thank you for this beautiful review - you wrote it while I was away for four weeks and when I returned I forgot to give you a reply.  I'm so happy that this story moved you so much and that you felt such an emotional connection to Kirk and Spock through it and experienced their emotions - their angst and their happiness - with them.  This is one of the loveliest reviews I've ever received.  Thank you for taking time to write it - I really appreciate it.  :)

Reviewer: kokoroyume Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/14/2010 5:09 AM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

Sweet, well writing, an amazing story too ^^

Thanks !

Reviewer: Notboldly50295 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/14/2010 10:14 AM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

Well, first let me say that this story is well and beyond romantic, and that it’s one of my all-time favorites. Second, I love your level of detail, and the depth that you put into explaining a) Gary Mitchell, b) the journey for Kirk becoming Captain and Spock being First Officer, and c) minor things, like the old uniforms.
Not only does it feel completely natural for the characters but it fits flawlessly with existing canon, as well as not being so over-the-top that Kirk and/or Spock no longer feel like men. Overall, a very excellent read from a very excellent author.

Reviewer: Unicorn Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/27/2010 5:47 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

"Shamelessly romantic" is right :-) It's beautiful! I have rarely read a story so romantic without being sappy. I particularly liked the fact that their first encounter had an impact on both characters despite the many years of separation that followed.

The only thing that irritates me slightly is "Annie's Song". I love it, but it seems a little funny that a song dedicated to a woman should eventually be leading two guys to be together ^^

Reviewer: Hakka Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2010 10:43 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

Wow, it's marvellous! I'm without words at the moment, so I shall use the little amount I have to say you filled in greatly the whole "old uniform" thing.

Wonderful piece!

Reviewer: TechnoPoet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/16/2010 11:29 AM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

O_O I love you! Or... I love this story! This is one of the most brilliant fanfictions I have ever read; I love how you made every little quirky bit of pre-and-early-TOS work out beautifully with the canon; the uniform replicators, Spock smiling, everything! And I love how well the romantic plot-line blends into the canon, and is extremely adorable, by the way. This is the most beautiful true-to-canon writing I've seen!

This was a perfectly genius and amazingly mindblowing story! :D 

 

Reviewer: Kerchan Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/01/2009 3:19 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

Beautiful. I really felt their emotions and resolvement. Simply beautiful.

Reviewer: sazuka-chan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/14/2009 10:56 AM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

SO. FRREKIN, SWEEEET!!!! *cries from the adorableness* love it. so. much. >w<

Reviewer: sundara Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2009 8:11 AM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

I  loved this! I especially enjoyed your characterizations: the gentleness and intelligence of Jim Kirk, and Spock's Vulcan face tempered by his human half--very well done. The fact that they met and fell for each other so young, and yet still had to wait because of fate and timing fits it quite wonderfully into canon. (And the uniform replicators!! LOL You thought of everything!)

Reviewer: luverofallthatisks Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/27/2009 10:49 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

Please write more stories like these!  It was the best ks I have ever read.  It was fluffy, intelligent and well-written.  You did a splendid job and I was extremely lucky to find this one-of-a-kind story.  Extremely fine job on this story whoever you are, and I look forward to more in the future.

Eloise

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/16/2009 5:52 AM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

What can i say that has not been written here before me.  Words cannot convey the love you showed for these two special friends.  When i read what you write it's like i'm there with them feeling the love and experiencing it also for the very 1st time.  I envy the love they feel for each other.  To be able to find a soul mate is so rare.  I should be so lucky...thanks so much for this.  5 stars

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reviewer: Syrus Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2009 4:00 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

Awww!  I really loved this story!  It was quite epic the way you talked about them when they were young and then went into the current time, and I felt like the Spock POV was flawless.  It's great to see things that we take for granted through his mind.  Great Job! XDDD

Reviewer: lobsanglud Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/30/2009 9:58 PM Title: Mistletoe Challenge

good story, I like the ones that start with them at the Academy

You must login (register) to review.