Reviews For A Gilded Hook
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Alhena_star Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/17/2009 4:49 PM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

Oh my god! I can´t believe this, Spock was the bad guy!

This story was shocking!

First, because Jim falls in love with older Spock and they had "sex" so many times.   @_@ 

Second, that Spock was the Spock of the Mirror Universe! And he wanted an Empire! And he was the real guilty of everything! And he wanted Jim! And he manipulated Jim so he went back to him! Again, OH MY GOD!  Ó_ò

Then, what about the younger Spock? In that part "Spock was there, too-human eyes full and shocked as Jim grabbed his wrist and pulled him over" Is him the younger Spock? And if this is him, how is possible that he didn´t do something! I understood that he realised the problem of Jim...

Your fic made my head spin, but I LOVED IT! Very well done! Was worth reading!



Author's Response:

Thank you. I'm glad you...

well, maybe not enjoyed it. I'm glad it had an impact, though.

Reviewer: Lavellington Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2009 11:49 PM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

HOLY EFFING SHIT.

THAT WAS EPIC.

Okay, it's 2 in the morning, I'm sleep deprived, full of caffeine and trying to write a presentation on Renaissance poetry, so that could be contributing to my extreme reaction- but this fic just FUCKED me up. Seriously.

Well done- I'm not a fan of Kirk/Spock Prime, but that was such an amazing twist. It would be such a mindfuck (heh) if they did that in the next film, but I think I'd probably cry.

I think you killed me. XD



Author's Response:

Thank you. I was going for epic and fucking people up, so mission accomplished. I'm glad you liked it, but if they did something like this I would cry too.

Reviewer: Summerisle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2009 4:31 AM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

FWIW, I agree with you that no warning is needed for this fic.  Caveat lector is redundant, for fanfic anyway.  (Go dig up a Latin Dictionary, and look up "Caveat lector."  Go on, I'll wait.  Ok, so read me the exact translation... yup.  You got it:  "FANFICTION.")

It was bad enough we all knew Nimoy was cameo-ing in the new flick.  This fic would be ruined by any spoiler for the twist at the end.

Still the best twist in fanfic yet, by my tally. 

(Five more stars for my two more cents.)



Author's Response:

Lol. Thank you for the back up. I don't like to warn for things, because I've heard so many times, things like "I don't usually read this sort of thing, but I really loved..."

I've converted people to Kirk/Pike before, I've gotten fluffy readers into horrible angst, and I don't even know how to categorize this fic, but I figure that if it is well written enough, I can get away with anything.

In conclusion- you rock.

Reviewer: theredtart Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/08/2009 3:55 AM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

wow.  total mindfuck.  awesome!  i really never noticed how i assumed spock prime was from TOS in the new movie.  again so fucking awesome! 

but if i would have to give you a critique (and i do, i'm just that kind of bitchy person); i was so confused after spock and kirk try to fuck and meld and kirk starts screaming.  you wrote "And Spock-/ But not his Spock."  i sort of thought you were talking about spock prime, but it really wasn't until much much later that i was one hundred percent positive that you were talking about spock prime.  honestly i'm probably just slow and what you wrote was fine.  but i thought you might have wanted to know. 

 

once again (again) omg! awesome!!!



Author's Response:

Glad you liked it.

 

To be honest, at that point I was trying to keep the reader off balance, without having them abandon the story because it was confusing. A fine line to navigate, and I hope I cleared it up well enough and quickly enough to do so.

 

Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2009 6:28 PM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

Oh, totally did like it, do not worry :-D I can deal with a non-happy ending when the story is that good. But even if that might undermine said story if the ending turned into a happy one, I'm just sappy enough that I always wish it ended happily. I'm a hopeless case, I'm afraid :-D



Author's Response:

Yay!

Reviewer: Tatya Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2009 1:43 PM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

Well, following your reasoning, we should have no warnings at all since us readers should always be aware ;P

I would suggest you to use it^^

 



Author's Response:

"About warnings: The policy of this archive is to leave warnings to the author's discretion. If you prefer to label your story with warnings, please do so, but it is not required."

Suggest all you like. I don't like to soften the impact of my writing. There isn't any rape, so I'm not triggering there. Should I warn for violence? This is Star Trek. It is full of violence. This story is about the mind, not the vessels that carry it- commentary on a much broader scope than just the action. Should I warn for the biggie and remove all shock value, rendering the story pointless since all that build up was focused on something people are already anticipating? I'm not going to shoot myself in the foot.

If there was a warning for hitchcockian mindfuckery I might use that, but since there isn't...

None of the other reviewers seem to mind. If you are somehow this site's complaint department and you've been fielding an inbox full of "oh no she didn't!", please contact me at my email, instead of condescendingly taking it upon yourself to correct my antisocial inability to warn for things that functioning adults can handle.

Yes. I am getting snippy. I'm not breaking any rules, and you are not my mother.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2009 5:09 AM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

Woh.  Damn.  This is one hell of a read -- takes off like a damn bottle rocket!

Very nicely done.  The one is impressed!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I don't believe in pussyfooting around.

Reviewer: FanoraJane Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2009 4:03 AM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

I love this story!!!  I can't find ANY Spockprime/nu!Kirk fics so I was really happy when I saw that that's where the story was going. The twist at the end was awesome too.



Author's Response:

Prime and Kirk isn't exactly my thing (My other story is JKirk/Bones& JKirk/Pike), but this demanded that I write it. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2009 2:42 AM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

*sigh* I had guessed so, but there's always a tiny part of me who hopes for a happy ending, no matter how desperate the situation. The romantic in me finds it so terrible that Kirk's mind could be destroyed beause of his love for Spock, any Spock. :(  *wants to hug Kim and Spock and squeeze them together and never allow them to escape*



Author's Response:

I hope you liked it despite the hurt. I want to hug them too.

Reviewer: ahomelesspirate Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2009 2:37 AM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

Um WOw, Total sucker for doomed romance. And this was perfect Terintino styke I-love-you-so-miuch-i-have-to-kill-you. epic and emotional!

Author's Response:

Thank you for your review...I appreciate them all.

I'm glad the emotion resonated with you- it was a hard thing to pin down.

Reviewer: Summerisle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2009 12:39 AM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

This is the most brilliant twist and the best interplay of "old" and "new" Trek that I have seen thus far in the realm of FanFiction.  And very well written!  Thank you for this compelling and original gem!



Author's Response:

So kind! I wanted to blend TOS into reboot, and maintain canon. It was a plausible idea, and it haunted me and haunted me until I had to write it.

Reviewer: mycapeisplaid Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2009 10:14 PM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

I don't even know how to start reviewing this. 

 

Wow.  Cerebral and gorgeous and I think I hurt.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it. And yeah...I hurt writing it.

Reviewer: Della19 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2009 8:47 PM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

That was so hauntingly beautiful and macabre.  It simply grabbed hold of my heart and by the end it had ripped it out of my chest (but in the best way possible).  I don't think I've ever read an AU with Mirror Spock Prime instead of regular Spock Prime and I loved the idea (and the fic).  A truly excellent job.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your review. This was my post-movie head canon...and I needed to share.

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2009 6:12 PM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

Oh yeah, I remember reading this over at LJ. Girl, that was one hell of a headfuck, in a good way of course. It was very well-written but I thought it would be like most other stories of emotional transference, causing reboot! Jim and Spock to develop feelings for each other (which I like but it had been done many times already). Then wham! you completely turned the tables on us and stunned us all with that ending. Holy. Cow. I so did not see that coming. One hell of a twist, and you delivered it with flawless efficiency. Great work, although I hope there's still hope for Jim and I wish we knew what happened to him after that.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Hope for Jim? I don't know. He might be able to recover somewhat, but I think he will always be a shadow of himself. His most courageous act is also the one that destroys him.

And how do you function, after losing your T'hy'la?

I don't have much hope there.

Reviewer: PolarStar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2009 5:19 PM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

O.M.G.

Didn't see that one coming- not at all.

Awesome, scary, intense!



Author's Response:

Thank You.

Reviewer: Tatya Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2009 3:35 PM Title: “Wer geteilt, ist, hat, nicht, mitzuteilen”- Bargeld

I would suggest a Caveat Lector warning :)



Author's Response:

Nah. Readers should ALWAYS beware.

 

Plus, I think my name is already a bit of a caveat lector.

You must login (register) to review.