Reviews For Communication
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: scioscribe Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/18/2019 4:30 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was one of the first K/S stories I read, and I keep coming back to it because it's just so gloriously nuanced, in character, subtle, tense, and swoonworthily romantic.  The blend of intimacy and circumspection in their earlier letters is just incredibly well-done, and I love watching the circumspection gradually fall away--Jim's "God, I need to see you so badly I can taste it" just hits squarely in my heart.  I love all this to pieces and will just be forever grateful it exists.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/02/2016 9:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

I'm reading this again because I love it so much, and it's just spendid!  I love how much you manage to suggest with just a detail here or there, not just about their relationship but also about the progress of the war and the things they did to stop it.  This is a really lovely story; thanks so much for sharing it with us.

It looks as if you've stopped writing Star Trek stories, and that's a real shame, because yours were among the very best.  Still, I'm beyond grateful for what you've already given us.

 

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/15/2016 6:32 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very good. ;-)

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2016 1:59 PM Title: Chapter 1

A beautiful tale deserves a review. The format reminds me of Daddy Long Legs. So good to see that letters are not passé in the future.

Reviewer: Four-Nostril Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/17/2015 7:09 PM Title: Chapter 1

Gods have mercy on me, I'm weeping and wet at the same time. (May I say that your style makes me think of Dorothy Sayers.

Reviewer: kimko krnhl Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2014 8:10 AM Title: Chapter 1

When I want to feel happy feeling, I always read this story.This is a one of best K/S story I ever read. You might think I am very Nerd,I have to confess,every time I wathced Abrams Star trek ,I could not stand lonliness of Spock Prime.May be I had been loving him long time,I imagin his life without Jim so real. I think why I felt such a lonliness, its because no TV series ,no movies showed their happiness. They showed us their union and friendship, but we thought  there were something more. And I wanted it to make certain.Your story was a perfect answer to my heart. Your work tell me everything I want to read. Their hesitation, their fear ,their crave and their love. It fulfill me. I embarrassed my bad English, but I really wanted to say thank you for sharing such a wonderful story.

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2013 12:59 AM Title: Chapter 1

Sweet and beautifully in character!  Brava.

 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2013 4:56 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, this is great! Such a good idea, telling this story through epistolar exchange and log entries, and so well done, too. It convays so much of their closeness while they are so distant. The resolution to Spock's vision was quite unexpected - great effect. It makes me smile that Uhura voices much of what we have ever felt, watching them on screen - that there is much more there than meets the eye.

Reviewer: skaylin Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2013 8:14 PM Title: Chapter 1

You managed to convey such complexity and depth of feeling between the lines in the letters. A work of art.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/14/2013 5:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

Damn, that was sweet!

~AKO

Reviewer: melusine2001 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2013 3:11 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh my god this story was so so so so amazing ! I totally squealed and clapped my hands. So beautiful and so wonderfully written !

Reviewer: fohatic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2013 3:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

Man oh man. This was just TOO great! I was so emotionally invested as each raised the stakes bit by bit that I was actually breaking a sweat at times, and making all kinds of nervously excited noises as I grinned at my computer screen (something I'm not usually compelled to do). So much fun! So sweet! So perfectly K/S!

Reviewer: T nash-veh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/17/2013 12:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

K - so I read this about a year ago - but I was still lurking at that point and didn't post a review.  After I decided to jump in, so to speak, I remembered this story, but had no luck remembering name or author.  Finally decided to ask on FB for help finding it again.  So, first things first - I thank you from the bottom of my heart for writing and posting this.  It is perfect - PERFECT.  I can't possibly thank you enough, because this story is one of those that will stick with me and give me satisfaction and inspiration for years to come.  

Second, this actually transcends Star Trek and Spock and Kirk.  If slash were 'mainstream' - this would be a classic, okay?  Right up there with Romeo and Juliet / Westside Story.  It was beautifully, beautifully written.  From the way their communications progressed, to how they try to protect each other in the only ways that are available to them, the way that you show how in synch they are with each other, thinking in similar ways, and with the same goals, even when unable to really exchange plans with each other.  All of this - incredibly well done.  So well done that

third - if a person just reads it in one great gulp (and good god, how could you not?!) then it is only later if you think about it carefully, that you realize how fantastically well crafted, well thought out, and well implemented this is.  I am in awe of your accomplishment here.  Everything from the voices, the storyline, the pacing, the restraint (really, amazing how you kept it from being over-the-top emotional) ... To have Uhura deliver the ending ... beautiful.

So, again, thank you.  I know this is one I will read over and over and over.



Author's Response:

Dear T nash-vey,

I really want to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write what is a pretty comprehensive review of your reaction to my K/S piece, Communication.  It's always a thrill for me to hear from a reader, honestly, and it gives me such encouragement!  I think readers often forget that writing is such a lonely, lonely task, and for me "communication" with the reader is so important. 

I am often in tremendous awe of the amazingly talented writers we have in fandom, so to read that you think this story is well-crafted is a great compliment.  Thank you!  Writing Communication was a special time for me;  I wrote it while on vacation with my family, most of it in the back seat of our car while the conversation swirled around me. But that didn't matter, because I was lost in this particular world with Jim and Spock.  It was a unique experience that produced what is an unusual story for me.  Thank you again, very much, for taking the time to tell me you enjoyed it. Take care.

Very gratefully,

Jenna

Reviewer: museattack Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2013 5:09 AM Title: Chapter 1

Butterflies -- this gave me butterflies. I love the structure of this piece, its slow progression, how we too are waiting on the next communication. penda's letter at the end was my favorite one. I nearly cried. 

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2012 2:01 AM Title: Chapter 1

You comprehend space heros than anyone in the univerese.   I want to give you 100 stars.

Reviewer: Elemental_Mage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2011 3:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

oh god. i can't even type straight right now! there was so much i loved about the story, and the ending! that beautiful ending that had me breathing out a sigh of relief i didn't even know i had been holding, so absorbed was i in your work of art.

honestly, the feelings you managed to transfer across the screen, and the original epistolary format you used without falling into the usual traps was so very mesmerizing. I congratulate you for creating such a memorable piece of art.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your kind words, Elemental_Mage.  I'm so glad you liked Communication.  You're so right about the usual traps of an epistolary format.  I wrote Communication at such speed, though, that I think I didn't give myself time to fall into them!  I really wanted Kirk and Spock to come across most vividly in this piece, and maybe it was easier to do that because I took them each out of their comfort zones. Which would be:  next to each other!

Again, thanks so much for commenting.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/18/2011 7:59 PM Title: Chapter 1

Here's something I never had in this wonderful and delicious;
Correspondence!
You brought me, although not personally and directly to me, a lovely gift:
I just love letters stories!
I'm still reading,i do not want to think they got into such a level of intimacy only to not see each other again.
It reminds me very much the play "Love Letters" by A.R Gurney, man and woman are connected to each other along their separate lives, until the moment that ... well, you can not get a happy ending from story like that!      I also thought about the messenger who could not get the message to Romeo in time that his Juliet was not really dead.
How the entire fate lies in a small letter.

When Spock letter appeared I jumped in my chair like a Michael Jackson concert and shouted enthusiastically, "Yes! Yes! He said yes!"                 When the NEWS FLASH i scared
"Oh my fucking God, it can not be good!"
Then
CEASEFIRE!
"O. K Maybe this could be good!"
And when I saw the formal signature of Spock, I threw my hand on my chest and blew "Oh, thank God, He's alive!"

And when I got to the end of the "For the third time: yes" letter, once again, I threw a hand on the chest with a round "Whoa"  but I could not resist.
But then
"Uh-oh! so short  distance from each other, something might happen - do not do this to me!"

but  finally you gave me my happy ending

Thank you
With great admiration
Meirav



Author's Response:

Dear Meirav,

Thanks so much for letting me know you enjoyed Communication!  It sounds like reading it was a very emotional experience for you, which is a great thing for a writer to hear!  I often wondered, over the years, how Kirk and Spock *would* communicate with each other if they were separated for a while, and this story was my eventual response to those wonderings.  I like how it ended too!  LOL!

Yours,

Jenna

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/15/2011 8:55 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh my God, I think I'm actually floating with happiness. This was wonderful! It's easily the most romantic K/S story I've ever read. I have nothing more coherant to add than that because I'm far too lost in the warm and fuzzies.

I think this might be my new favourite fic...

 

Reviewer: muggy44 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2011 9:12 AM Title: Chapter 1

AGAIN, PERFECT. XOXOXOXOXO

Reviewer: rae1013 Signed starstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/01/2011 5:04 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was a wonderful and powerful story and the format you chose to tell it in works so well. <3

You must login (register) to review.