You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2016 1:23 PM Title: Chapter 1

How could I have missed this before. It is such a well rounded piece.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/05/2014 8:30 PM Title: Chapter 1

Lovely story, well thought out and well told. I love the way the action slips into the background to give space to what happens between the two of them.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2014 11:11 PM Title: Chapter 1

I just read this story for the second time, and I love it all over again.  You've given them a great problem to react to, and their dialogue is just SO perfect. 

I love this exchange: 

“I wouldn’t be sitting here deciding which of my people should die and which get a chance—what kind of person could do that?”

“A starship captain, one would assume,” Spock says calmly


and this one:

"We both have a duty to fulfill.”

 “Duty,” Kirk repeats spitefully. “Spock, I’m afraid that that word—”

 “Made you the man you are,” Spock finishes confidently. “Made you the man I came to respect above all others. Made you the one I chose to follow.”

Just so perfect!

Thanks for writing this wonderful story and for sharing it with us.

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2013 3:54 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great story, very well done!

Also, this line is so perfect:  There’s only one person equipped with some kind of an internal compass with ‘Kirk’ spelled where the North should be.  

 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2012 10:19 PM Title: Chapter 1

Hmmm, very interesting.  I like stories where Jim is aware of how special Spock is and Spock is oblivious to the same thing.  I like this story and will check to see if you have more about that I can indulge in.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/12/2011 4:15 PM Title: Chapter 1

There were some wonderful moments in this story:
The invitation merging Spock, promise to stay alive for him, thanks, repeating the request and of course the wonderful sentence: "Can you tame a storm, Spock?"
So I did not understand the story at first but I was glad when it ends well

Reviewer: Lina03 Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/28/2011 5:00 PM Title: Chapter 1

Awww....beautiful....just beautiful. thanks for sharing =)

Author's Response:

Thank you. :)

Reviewer: Aconitum-Napellus Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2010 4:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

Is is wrong that this kind of writing makes me insanely jealous? It's beautifully written - I wish I could approach something like this in my writing...



Author's Response:

Thank you, that's very kind. I'm glad you enjoyed the tale. :)

Reviewer: croatine Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2010 5:27 AM Title: Chapter 1

I've written yesterday that your "In the End it's Easy" is my new favourite (excellent piece of writing), and now I just don't know - this one is beautiful and stunning as well. You're a very good writer, I love your language and your imagination. Usually I just hate mind meld descriptions (guess why ;)), but yours gave me great pleasure.

The characterization of Kirk and Spock is spot on. Thanks so much. Please, write more, much more :).



Author's Response:

Hey, sorry for a late response. ):

Thank you very much, I'm delighted you liked the tale! I'm usually wary of meld descriptions myself, but this story was a help_haiti fill and my winning bidder asked to include one. You can imagine how relieved I am that it seems to have worked! :D

 

Reviewer: bistokidsfan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2010 3:15 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, this was great!  I kept wishing it was longer, but it was so well done.  Beautiful characterizations.  You give great meld - it's such a kink of mine, but I'm picky, and this was tops.



Author's Response:

Melds are tricky stuff to write. I'm so relieved this one worked for you. :D

Thanks for reading. ~

Reviewer: ATHENS Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2010 10:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

Another breathtaking story from one of the greatest authors of the Archive. I love your Kirk, so complicated and distressed. And Spock also is beautiful in his endless devotion and loyalty. The description of the meld is one of the most powerful and impressive I ever read. And the image of a raging, soaked with blood McCoy is intense indeed. The background plot is intelligent and well-constructed, and it kept me in suspense 'til the end.

Thank you so much!



Author's Response:

Wow. *bows* Thank you, I'm flattered. Well, flustered is more like it. ;) I'm thrilled the story was worth your time, and thank you so much for taking the time to review! ~

Reviewer: ArsenicSands Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2010 5:04 AM Title: Chapter 1

That was downright incredible. Both of your characterizations are spot-on and nuanced. But what I really liked was the way that your background plot served its purpose without being forced or overdone--it was believable and it provided the perfect mechanism for the story.

I'm having a terrible debate with myself as to whether I like your Spock or your Kirk better, and then I intervene in my own argument and note how excellent a blood-spattered, ranting, good-hearted but short-sighted McCoy is, and decide that his cameo is in the running for Best Character, too.

In short: impressive.



Author's Response:

I'm happy the characterization seemed authentic. The ironic thing is, I never obsess as much over McCoy as I do over Kirk and Spock, yet later his characterization seems th most consistent. Funny that. ;)

Thanks very much for reading, I'm delighted you liked it. ;)

Reviewer: mila Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2010 4:15 AM Title: Chapter 1

Incredibly beautiful. I would expect nothing less after reading so much of your writing.  Love complicated Kirk.



Author's Response:

Thank you, my friend. ~

Reviewer: garnettrees Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2010 2:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

This was just beautiful. The words worked together to form an almost painfully lovely, accurate portrait of the loyalty between Kirk and Spock, the affection, and all the dangers of space exploration that stand to challenge them. In particular, I loved the image of Spock's clock-covered tower, and Jim's storm swirling up on the horizon.

Thank you so much for sharing!

-Meredith

 



Author's Response:

:D I think Spock has a real thing for precise measurements of pretty much everything. Clocks made sense. And Jim, well. Jim is a goddamn hurricane. ;)

Thank you very much for being so kind! ~

You must login (register) to review.