Reviews For Fighting Gravity
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SuperSticky Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2010 12:12 PM Title: Chapter 24

Thank you.  I look forward to your next story.

Reviewer: Sahviere Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2010 10:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

I have been reading this since day 1 posting, and you have made the last three weeks extremely pleasant, giving me a lovely chapter every night to read before bed.

Thanks for the time and effort you put into this, and for the delightful punctuality of updates. It's a keeper, and I will most certainly be reading it again.

Reviewer: SuperSticky Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2010 11:10 PM Title: Chapter 23

Thank you for being such a fast writer!  I can't wait for what happens next in a good story and I so often have to.  You are great!  I love this story! 



Author's Response: Thanks! Though I have to admit I've actually been working on this for six months - I've only been posting this fast because I waited until it was in final edit mode to begin posting. =)

Reviewer: TPara Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2010 9:55 PM Title: Chapter 23

But.... but.... that means it'll be done. :( I love this story too much for it to be done. Please tell me you have a sequel planned?

Author's Response: I've actually been asked a few times about a sequel, and the problem with this story is that it ends in such a way that it would be very hard to do anything with a sequel to make it obvious that it was set in this particular alternate universe. So I'm really not sure. If I get some interesting idea, though, I'm definitely on it! (I'll admit that I've gotten a couple of ideas, though they involve Kirk/Spock/McCoy, because I can't ship any two of them for long without wanting the third involved...)

Reviewer: momachan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2010 7:59 PM Title: Chapter 23

Woow an awesome fic from the beggining to the end, I really enjoyed it a lot! Thanks for writing it and congratulations!! :D

P.S. Could you maybe do a sequel when they return to Iowa? XD I'm greedy LOL



Author's Response: Thank you! I just mentioned in another comment that a lengthy sequel would be tough, although a return to Iowa (or the "not-happening" trip to Antarctica, as someone else suggested) might make an amusing one-shot somewhere. ;)

Reviewer: mila Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2010 2:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

What an EPIC story.  Your writing style is effortless and fluid, making this a delightful story to read.  The characterization is also wonderful.  I just love to take Spock out of his "Vulcan trappings".  One of the very best pieces of Reboot fan fiction that I have read.  I hope that you continue to write in this fandom and like many others have mentioned, I really appreciated your diligence in posting the chapters.  It shows a great respect for your readers that we are very happy to reciprocate.  OK, now for a small piece of constructive criticism (and no, it is not about sex scenes as I thought your story was just fine without them).  In several chapters you have had Spock (Prime and Young) say "Honestly?" before going on to make a point.  That's probably not a speech pattern that a Vulcan would have as it is not logical and begs the sarcastic response "No, I want you to lie".  I think that a Vulcan would assume that if you were asking him a question, you would expect him to answer honestly.  Just a small detail as I do want you to know that I was paying very careful attention!  Thank you again and I can't wait for tomorrow's conclusion.



Author's Response: You make an excellent point. I do recall noticing while I was editing that I had had both of them do that at some point, puzzled over it, and went "Well, it's consistent!" But considering it jumped out at me to begin with, maybe I should have thought about *why* it jumped out at me. ;) Thank you for the praise, and for the constructive criticism - I should go back over those parts and have a look...

Reviewer: vitaminH Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2010 11:50 AM Title: Chapter 23

I am going to miss my morning fix for the boys. but look forward to any more stories you have with the guys. Thanks for the update and a great story.

Reviewer: momachan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2010 7:32 PM Title: Chapter 22

Looking forward to read the next chapter, this fic is so good. :D

Reviewer: RedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2010 2:20 AM Title: Chapter 1

It's fine with me you don't have explicit sex scenes.  Your story and dialogue are so involving that I don't need the sex.  I can see that in my head or go read other stories that provide the details.  Great work!

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2010 6:15 PM Title: Chapter 1

basically, the main portion of the story is plot and character development, and that's where I wanted the attention to be.[...] Also, after so many kink meme fics, I'm bored to death of writing sex scenes, especially vanilla. ;)

I can understand being bored of writing sex, it's OK :) But I think your story is more than strong enough that it would have withstood some sex in it and not distracted from the story, especially that first time between Spock and Jim; it couldn't have been gratuitous since it's a key moment in their relationship and therefore integral and even essential to the plot. And sex needs not be explicit :). But as I said, I can understand if you didn't feel like it, although given the buildup I'm sure  you would have written something great. :)

Reviewer: filliamhmuffin Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2010 2:48 PM Title: Chapter 21

Time for yet another review, which is to say, another heap of praise for you and for this story.

Seriously, this is one of the best stories I've read in awhile. I'm a little picky, and I often find myself skimming over parts of stories that don't sound right for whatever reason, but I have absolutely hung on every word of this story. In fact, I've already read most chapters twice.

And I really LOVE that they are both so uncertain. I want to wretch at some of the schmoopy meet, decide yr in love, decide to bond in five days kinda fic I come across. People just don't work that way, or if they do, it's because they have mental problems.

Last, you are such an awesome updater! I cannot express how much I love getting a new chapter every day. I want to bake you muffins and pay all of your bills for you! Three cheers for pantswarrior!!!

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2010 1:35 PM Title: Chapter 21

Aw. I liked this. Although I do worry about how Spock will react when he finds out that Jim was his destined one all along... that is one conclusion at least I'm pretty sure about *g*

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2010 1:21 PM Title: Chapter 20

*still giggling at Spock slinking out of the window, and the probably look on Bones' face when he realized Jim slept with Spock * Well, not quite the HEA yet, but they're making lots of progress. It might be a bit disappointing that Jim isn't already head over heels in love with Spock from a romance fan POV, but it is probably much more realistic and I appreciate his honesty with Spock. And the connection between them is growing by the minute :). Funny how totally wrong I was about Spock's reasons to leave Starfleet and Vulcan thought ;)

Reviewer: vitaminH Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2010 1:07 PM Title: Chapter 21

I am so happy for them. Love the coming home all dirty and worried. Thanks for the update.

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2010 4:16 AM Title: Chapter 19

From the beginning of the chapter I had the feeling it was going to come to this culmination :). Hooza! :-DD I do feel like a little cheated out of the sex though, because you wrote such a great, intense buildup to it but when the moment happened we neatly stepped over the sex to when it was over. Of course if you didn't feel comfortable writing it it's your call, you're the writer after all but it still feel like such a pity.

Anyway, still an absolutely fabulous chapter, and it appears that their issues are far from over and many things still need solving. So SPock didn't want to leave Starfleet... obvious question is why did he do it? Was he forced, did he feel it was his only recourse? Why didn't he go back after he left New Vulcan? And we still don't know why he left the colony in the first place. If it had to do with Spock P telling him about his relationship with his own Jim, why did he so readily accept staying with Jim throughout this story? And then  Jim is gonna have to do some soul-searching of his own about his feelings for Spock... that might not be an easy morning after.



Author's Response: Thank you so much! And a note about the lack of sex in this story... basically, the main portion of the story is plot and character development, and that's where I wanted the attention to be. Throwing in an explicit sex scene would, I thought, only result in a distraction from the plot, and readers having to be concerned about where they were reading it (as the whole story would require a higher rating for the sake of one scene, and no longer be worksafe), or the age of the readers in question. ...Also, after so many kink meme fics, I'm bored to death of writing sex scenes, especially vanilla. ;)

Reviewer: vitaminH Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2010 1:16 PM Title: Chapter 20

I am so happy. Thanks for the update.

Reviewer: SuperSticky Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2010 12:56 PM Title: Chapter 20

The honesty is brilliant.  I'm so relieved.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2010 5:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

Day-amn, this is some awesome shit!!  Just started catching up, a lotta new stuff posted in da last three weeks.  But mm, this!!

Been homeless, done that -- this is very much relevant to my interests.  And now, woo, yeah -- I eagerly await learning -- what the hell happened that made Spock stay away for so very long?

Greywolf, dying of curiosity

Reviewer: momachan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2010 4:03 AM Title: Chapter 1

This story just keeps getting better and better, I love it! :D

Reviewer: filliamhmuffin Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2010 2:08 AM Title: Chapter 19

*is dead*

just.....so goddamn good!

You must login (register) to review.