You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: skepticallady Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/19/2011 10:58 PM Title: Flower of Hope

I cried.  This was soooo good.  Please update soon.



Author's Response:

*hands you a tissue* Just a little left to go now...

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 1:04 AM Title: Shotgun Wedding

Been really enjoying the last few chapters - I love how you've been mixing the crack with the angst throughout this story!!!  It's really been satisfying my h/c cravings as well!!

 

Poor Kirk in this chapter though - McCoy seemed a bit negligent here by not putting some kind of monitor on Kirk to warn him of when he went into labour.



Author's Response:

You know, McCoy probably did put a monitor on Kirk; he's a responsible and intelligent doctor. Jim probably just forgot to turn it on, or check the battery, or something like that...

Hey, I was putting the finishing touches on this chapter at 4 in the morning. Sometimes I forget things... :-p

Reviewer: holmes221b Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 12:02 AM Title: Flower of Hope

Awww! That's adorable and awesome! I was totally thinking that Jim would somehow end up being the one to get to Spock, but T'svaistaya is way cuter!



Author's Response:

Yep, she's a miracle in every sense of the word. :)

Reviewer: Spockaholic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 5:28 PM Title: Flower of Hope

Yaaaaay! *runs around handing out cigars to everyone*  Beautiful, beautiful chapter.  First I thought the baby was going to die, then I thought Selek was going to die, and then I thought Spock was going to die.  I'm so happy with how you resolved everything, both from the perspective of "rabid fangirl Steph" and "Steph who enjoys it when great writers manage to do a good job of tying everything together."  Bravo, girl!



Author's Response:

*hugs super tight* I'm so happy that I could reach both aspects of the Steph! This chapter was definitely the emotional apex of the story, so I'm relieved to see that it's actually doing its job and reaching people.

I'll take one of those cigars now. :-D

And after I smoke it, I have to write a fluffy wedding scene to close out the story.

Reviewer: putigress2012 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 4:13 PM Title: Flower of Hope

Oh... this chapter was such a rollercoaster ride. I was worried about Spock, and then Jim and the baby... and then Spock again. Good thing Selek was there...

And I really like the baby's names. Good choices. :D



Author's Response:

I tend to live and breathe with characters, which can be both wonderful and terrible at the same time. I know that I certainly ran the gauntlet of emotions when I was writing this chapter. Sometimes I'd only be able to write a sentence or two before I had to walk away and do something else for an hour, I'd be so worked up.

I had a dear friend of mine decide on the baby's gender -- I couldn't decide myself, and I didn't want to flip a coin -- so even I got a nice surprise when she told me that she had decided Jim and Spock should have a girl.

I did pick out her names though. A process which, I can tell you, I waffled back and forth on for many many many days and weeks and months.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 3:20 PM Title: Flower of Hope

Awww!  This was sweet.  I was so worried, with Spock getting worse, and Sarek not being able to help.  I didn't know what to think.  I thought for sure Selek would be able to help, since it was essentially himself, but he couldn't.  Sadness!  And then Jim going into labor...oh no!  He's lucky he survived labor with his bondmate not there.  But little Amanda Rose is there, and she is Spock's T'svaistaya.  (That's a mouthful.)  She helped her daddy when no one else could.  Yay for family!  So they're together now.  Is this the end?  Is there more?  This was a really great story, I loved it.  Thank you so much!



Author's Response:

There's still a fluff-tastic wedding chapter to come (since I promised people that I'd write one), but our story has basically reached its ending point. It did have to happen eventually. :-p

When I was plotting out this story (all the way back in September -- so long ago now!) I absolutely fell in love with the idea that their daughter would be able to save Spock. Spock's emotional connection to his daughter is so much stronger than the connections he feels with his father, or even with Selek. It was that emotional connection that made everything possible.

And if Jim hadn't been pregnant, if not for freak of nature circumstances and the willingness to go through with the pregnancy and have their baby...Spock would have died. It was a nice touch for an MPREG story, I thought.

That and I loved the idea of how, through the whole story, Spock was there protecting Jim and his baby from harm. And so the first thing that his daughter does is decide to hurry herself into the world and save her father!

Yay for family!!!!!

Reviewer: Tlema Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 2:40 PM Title: Flower of Hope

I was so freaking worried through this chapter. But, once again, it was a really awesome chapter. Thank you.



Author's Response:

I'm just happy that this was the last angst chapter. I feel all wrung out from writing it. *sigh*

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 2:37 PM Title: Flower of Hope

That was so emotional. I really believed Spock was going to die. I love that the baby brought him back.

Author's Response:

Since this was an MPREG story, I wanted to do something very special to kind of celebrate that. This was obviously the end result of that desire. :)

I could never let Spock die -- at least not in a fluff story!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: goleh1990 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 2:36 PM Title: Flower of Hope

I was clutching my dog the whole time I was reading this! He now is hiding in my closet in fear! It was an amazing chapter. Really emotional and very very good. But I hope that is it for angst, I really need crack fic after this! =P



Author's Response:

Oh, your poor dog -- I hope that he recovers! I don't like to see animals traumatized...

Yes, this was the last angst chapter. The story's basically over, if you hadn't figured that out. Basically all that's left is the fluff-tasticness of the wedding chapter. Which, as much as I would LOVE to have done in time for Valentine's Day, probably just isn't going to happen. I'm exhausted (emotionally and physically) from writing the last three chapters, and I think my brain isn't going to be able to handle cranking out another chapter in a day and a half like that.

Reviewer: skepticallady Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 1:28 PM Title: Flower of Hope

Yay, yes, awesome chapter.  Whooo hooo!! Just what I needed this morning.  Good job,  update soon please.



Author's Response:

Glad that I could make your morning -- there has to be a good reason for staying up until 4 am finishing a chapter, right? :-)

Reviewer: Mostillogical Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 11:45 AM Title: Flower of Hope

Yay, glad Spock's alive.



Author's Response:

I know, what a relief, right? *wipes brow and gives happy smile*

Reviewer: putigress2012 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2011 7:54 PM Title: Lak'tra heh Utan'es

Oh... at first I thought T'Pring was going to be one of the good guys! I really started to like her, what with the way she defended Jim at the cafe...

But then her thoughts were ominous.

And... And... Spock! I really hope he is okay. And that the baby waits until his daddy wakes up before he decides to come into the world. Spock would never forgive himself if he wasn't there for Jim during the birth...

Great fic.



Author's Response:

As Jim found out, it's definitely hard when you trust somebody only to have that trust betrayed.

That is, of course, exactly why I had to do it.

Wait and see on the Spock and baby front...you may love it. Or you may hate it.

There's just no telling how people are going to react to the events of next chapter.

Reviewer: Spockaholic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2011 7:28 PM Title: Lak'tra heh Utan'es

Uh ohs!  I should've known some serious caca was about to go down after that super fluff-tastic last chapter.  You were softening us up for the kill, you evil, brilliant woman, you!  Not that I mind :) 

I really enjoyed Admiral Kirk's appearance in this chapter...so cool that both of the boys had their turns gettinga pep talk from their TOS counterparts.  You also did a great job in handling T'Pring's character; I am really interested to see how her story will be resolved :D



Author's Response:

Yeah, you hadn't noticed that I tend to throw out a whole lot of fluff before I throw out a whole lot more angst? You should have seen that coming. *evil grin*

T'Pring's fate will be resolved next chapter. Jim makes an important decision that could be very important to him in the future.

(That is, I've started pondering a weird idea for a sequel *smacks self in head* and I've thought of a very nice way that T'Pring could fit into that picture. But that is soooooooooo far down the line in terms of stories that I want to write. I've had too many other ideas rolling around in my head while I've been trying to finish up this WIP; I need to write some of them before I even begin to think about working on a sequel to this particular story.)

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2011 4:38 PM Title: Lak'tra heh Utan'es

(sigh)  You always do such a great job at your writing.  This was terrific.  I loved how it started out innocent enough, with Pickwick playing on the bridge and Jim getting nice orders from Pike.  But the reporters worried me, and I didn't expect T'Pring to be bad.  I was trusting her, and now I'm mad at her.  But I agree with the elder Kirk.  Revenge is not the way.  It must be horrible, having lost a bondmate and children in the Vulcan disaster.  I hope Jim's able to let go.  I also hope Spock will get better soon!  He needs to be there for his baby and husband!  I'll be waiting anxiously for more of your delicious writing.



Author's Response:

The chapter did start off rather sweet, didn't it? Which probably just makes the rest of it all that much worse, I'd imagine.

Please don't be mad at T'Pring. It's not her fault. Not really. And it's a good thing that Kirk!Prime is able to point that fact out to Jim, because otherwise I have this sneaking feeling that Jim would have done something that he'd later come to regret.

As for Spock...as I've said elsewhere...just wait and see.

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2011 10:59 AM Title: Lak'tra heh Utan'es

Great job. I didn't expect someone to go after Jim and Spock while they were on vacation.

Jim's dream was very interesting. Talking with old Kirk is cool.

I hope Sarek and Selik can wake up Spock's mind before the baby comes.

Author's Response:

Yeah, nobody ever expects to get it on vacation, do they? That's just not nice. Especially not on Risa -- that just adds insult to injury.

I thought it brought a nice symmetry to the story. Spock got some advice from Selek to keep him from making a really bad choice, and now Jim's gotten some advice from his counterpart to keep him from making a really bad choice too.

As for Sarek and Selek...well, as I've said, something very special is in the works.

Reviewer: Mostillogical Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2011 10:41 AM Title: Lak'tra heh Utan'es

Oh no, I hope Spock will be alright. :(



Author's Response:

I refuse to comment until I've posted the chapter...

Reviewer: Tlema Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2011 3:57 AM Title: Lak'tra heh Utan'es

Hmm, I knew I got my hopes up when I thought someone was writint T'Pring as a good guy. I hope SPock hurries up and comes out of this coma. I hate it when they're apart... It's Khan all over again. I might start bawling.

I love your story. Can't wait to read more.



Author's Response:

And the thing of it is, I really don't see T'Pring as being a bad guy in this story -- something which I hope came out in this chapter. She was probably a very good person in life, before she lost her family and lost her mind.:-(

And here... *hands you a box of tissues* ...you may want this for next chapter.

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2011 3:26 AM Title: Lak'tra heh Utan'es

Ooh. Nice one. Jim meeting his other self in that way, through the memories from his mind meld with Spock Prime. You never cease to amaze me Jen.



Author's Response:

I really wanted to find a way to have Kirk!Prime in this story, without it being completely messed up. This seemed like a good way to do it. :)

That and the major theme of the "Tapestry" series is about the choices that Jim and Spock have made throughout their lives, and how those choices have affected them. Kirk!Prime experienced so much in his life, knew exactly the kind of pain and hate in his own life that was bound to be going through Jim thanks to what T'Pring did to Spock. I loved the idea that Kirk!Prime might be able to save Jim from making some of the same mistakes that he did.

Reviewer: putigress2012 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2011 4:04 AM Title: Sexy Pants, Amazing Timing, and Fuzzy Boots

Gorgeous chapter. And don't apologize for the silliness - I loved it. :D



Author's Response:

I'm glad to hear you didn't think the silliness was overdone. I always worry that I'm going to go too over the top with The Silly. :-p

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2011 10:06 PM Title: Sexy Pants, Amazing Timing, and Fuzzy Boots

This was a fun chapter. I'm so glad you are back to writing it.

I thought for sure Jim was having the baby in the bathtub.

Update again soon!

Author's Response:

I admit, Jim having the baby in the bathtub would have been pretty awesome.

But I have something very special in store on this particular topic...so no bubble bath birth for baby.

You must login (register) to review.