Reviews For Saying Good-bye
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ioana Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2021 9:45 PM Title: Chapter 1

Only a masterpiece such as this one can make one weep and laugh joyfully quite uncontrollably. Carloyn, I absolutly adore your stories! 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2018 10:28 PM Title: Chapter 1

At the moment, I am slowly working my way back though the archives as I did several years ago when I first found it looking for stories that really feed my soul.  This is one of them.  I don't know if you still follow comments or whether you care about comments, but I'm going to make one anyway.

This story is excellent.  To me it has just about everything - love, loss, reconciliation.  It is impossible for me to tell you how many times I have thought of it and the heartbreaking consequences of Jim's attempt to restore Spock to life.  In part, that probably stems from my personal emphasis on leading a good and meaningful life and, if necessary, undergoing a meaningful death.  But as your tale has so poignantly pointed out there are strictures to reality, limitations to our own capacities, and times when the universe has only one way that it can go on.

Thank you for this.  To avoid forgetting who wrote this or where I found it, I will bookmark it this time so I can come back anytime I want to and appreciate it all over again.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for these comments. It means a lot to know that someone is still reading and enjoying this story. I've enjoyed your work for years and hope to read more from you in the future. I so appreciate that you took the time to respond. You made my day!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2014 3:37 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love your writing so much, it is calm and dense and to the point. It makes me want to read slowly, savouring every word. This story is truely heartwrenching and the way you tell it with Jim's narrative voice, makes it even more so. You can feel his incredible sense of loss from every word. The story is highly instructive, too, showing how useless it is to wish things had gone otherwise - because we never can know what else would have resulted from a different situation. And the end ... well it is a balm we all needed after having read what preceded it! :-)



Author's Response: Your very lovely comments made me feel so good, angelocustode. Thank you. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. It was fun to play around inventing different scenarios for the death scene. Your response was deeply appreciated.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2013 8:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

I thought I had read all your stories and came upon this one, where I hadn't. When Spock died in the shower with a broken neck, that just killed me there, and later dying left and right...Jim just couldn't handle the pain anymore, and had to let him die, as he was meant to, in the reactor room, with dignity, saving the ship, and lives on board.

Later, Jim does get that chance to say how he feels, but Spock had heard him all along. What a heartwrenching story, with a happy ending.

I do believe I have Prism to read. Not sure if I read that one. 

Thanks for sharing...



Author's Response: You're welcome. Thank you for your very lovely comments, Dahliaxat. It means a great deal to me that you liked the story.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/03/2012 7:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

Whew!  I looked up another story of yours and decided to read this one next.  I am exhausted.  Spock's death has always been painful for me, even when I can step back and tell myself that he is not real but a fictional character.  I like your take on this idea because it is somewhat like my own outlook on life - that sometimes things are inevitable and cannot be changed regardless of what factors change.  Losing Spock in the fashion shown by WOK would be one thing.  Losing him in some stupid death would have been an entirely different thing.  I really like your story.  Now I think I'll compensate a la Kirk and McCoy and go find myself a stiff drink.  Whew!



Author's Response: I can't believe I missed this loc, PaintedBird. I'm so sorry it's taken me this long to respond. Please know I am very thrilled you enjoyed the story and felt it was worth responding.

Reviewer: Jeanne Marie Sosa Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/25/2011 5:59 PM Title: Chapter 1

There is brilliant, and there is brilliant, and then there is THIS.

Carolyn:  THIS is brilliant (i.e. unforgettable, memorable, searing and fine).

I wept at the end, and sit here now weeping still.



Author's Response: Thank you so much, Jeanne Marie. I will treasure your very kind comments. I'm so glad the story pleased you.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/08/2011 9:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

Damn--thought you were gonna pull the rug out one more time, right up to the last words.

That was so well-written, sad and wonderful.



Author's Response: Thank you. I'm so glad the story kept your interest right up until the end. I so appreciate your comments.

Reviewer: TLara Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/21/2011 9:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

wow, that was an amazing read! Beautifully written, great story line - we can't escape our faith even if it were possible to change the timeline. Moving, touching, perfect characterisation! Thanks for that wonderful story - really one of the highlights in K/S fandom!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, TLara. I'm glad the story "spoke" to you. With all of the wonderful K/S stories that have been published over the years, for someone to call a story of mine a highlight is such a lovely compliment.

Reviewer: dyk0523 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2011 12:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

wow. this leaves me wordless. good thing we know that Spock will be back. reminds me of the first butterfly effect movie. This is incredible.



Author's Response: It pleases me so much that you thought my story was worthy of such lovely comments, dyk0523. Thank you.

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2011 5:48 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a terrible, wonderful story. I'm glad that in the end, Jim got what he wanted wihtout committing such a terrible act.

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2011 5:48 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a terrible, wonderful story. I'm glad that in the end, Jim got what he wanted wihtout committing such a terrible act.



Author's Response: Me, too! Thanks for commenting on my story. I'm glad you enjoyed it, CMM.

Reviewer: Kara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/26/2010 7:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

An absolutely stunning tale of despair, desperation, destiny and great love, and totally moving as well. Jeez, I actually cried, and I rarely do - it's all your fault ;).

Beautiful.



Author's Response: I guess I'll have to take the blame then. ;-) Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm so glad you liked the story and that it spoke to you. You made my day!

Reviewer: spockollama Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/21/2010 8:58 PM Title: Chapter 1

This story made me cry, it was so beautifully sad. The ending made it all better, luckily, but all lof it was amazing.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for letting me know my story moved you. I'm glad I transmitted a bit of what these characters mean to me.

Reviewer: vitaminH Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/21/2010 7:16 PM Title: Chapter 1

wow.



Author's Response: I'm pleased you liked the story. Thanks for responding.

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 11:52 PM Title: Chapter 1

My goodness...your writing is just so lovely and flawless. This also reminds me of a movie I saw a few years ago. A woman has a vision that she is going to get caught in a major multi vehicle car accident. She and everyone in her car will die. She stops her car, causing the traffic behind her to stop. The accident happens, but everyone lives. But one by one, they die within the year in very horrific ways. This story geve me the same shivers as that movie...you can't stop your destiny.



Author's Response: Your kind comments warmed my heart. Thank you. I don't really believe that our destinies are laid out for us ahead of time--"I am the master of my fate, the captain of my soul"--but the idea can produce a shiver or two.

Reviewer: SoldierGirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2010 8:55 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was wonderful and tragic. Reminded me very much of my favorite published ST novel, "The Entropy Effect"... but in reverse, with Jim trying to save Spock this time. I loved the happy ending!

Author's Response: I loved that novel, too, SoldierGirl. It's quite a compliment to say my story reminded you of that one. Thanks for your very kind comments.

Reviewer: lucybun Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2010 6:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is absolutely wonderful.  I am so glad you have taken the time to post your stories here.  I was weaned on ST but am fairly new to the whole K/S scene, so I haven't been able to read any of the printed zines.  I read professional-grade stories like yours here and know I've missed out on some wonderful fiction.  Please continue posting so people like me can experience your talent.  Thanks!



Author's Response: Thank you so much. Your comments just made my day! It was lovely of you to take the time and trouble to respond.

You must login (register) to review.