Reviews For Cracking the Ice
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2014 2:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

That was funny.

Reviewer: museattack Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2013 9:14 AM Title: Chapter 1

This made me ridiculously happy! You write their voices perfectly. 

Reviewer: kokoroyume Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/07/2011 2:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

Nice story :)

Thank you !

Reviewer: BioPyroManiac Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2011 6:09 AM Title: Chapter 1

Um this is beyond cute But I must say, I ADORE K/S but what about Uhura/Spock in the new reboot? Doesn't this end all of our delicious slashy moments? It's ganna be some huge romantic shit in the new one? I can't read K/S knowing that in the original there was tons of K/S but now we hafta give up our slashy ways on a pairing that will never happen because of the damn new movie and Uhura!? Help...sorry I ranted, but I did love this story!

Author's Response:

Thank you for your very kind words about my story, and no worries on the rant!

For my part, if we are such canon mavens that we have a hard time slashing K/S in the new universe (and I will admit to having such leanings) the gift that Abrams gave us was that his universe is a parallel one, and that it doesn't negate Roddenberry's world, at all. In that way, I can read and write slash in TOS with great ease and enjoyment.

That said, of course, one can slash characters in any story, if one sees fit to do so. Technically (and very strictly) speaking, K/S is not canon in any universe that has appeared on screen to date. However, Roddenberry was very generous in his remarks for the novelization of Star Trek: The Motion Picture, again allowing us leeway and some legitimacy in seeing things as we wished.

Finally, I have to say that we don't necessarily know what will happen in the new movies. It's most likely that the producers will not persue a sexual relationship between Kirk and Spock, given the societal expectations in America, but Abrams has seemed committed to preserving the strong friendship between them. I admit that I didn't feel it that strongly in the first movie, but it was portrayed as the first time they met and then had to work together, and in that universe, it started out as adversarial. I'm interested in seeing how it progresses. If the PTB lose focus on that, then they'll lose me as an audience member.

I have hopes that this series of movies will be rewarding, and have already picked up a few threads of hope for being able to write K/S in the ST:XI universe without throwing Uhura under the bus. I am bound to say that I really loved her screen time in the movie, and wish that they had given Nichelle Nichols that kind of respect in the original series. For now, though, I'm biding my time and reserving judgment.

On that note, I shall end my lengthy response to your thoughts. Thank you so much for sharing them with me. :)

Catherine

Reviewer: putigress2012 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/29/2010 1:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

Beautiful. I'm glad they got it together, at the end. ;D



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! (And so am I. ;))

Catherine

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2010 7:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was brilliant and so very unique....I really enjoyed it.  You have a way a bringing the reader along. You writing is so descriptive it is easy to imagine them together. I loved this..thanks so much for sharing...



Author's Response:

You're very welcome! Thank you very much, indeed, for your very kind remarks about my story. I'm delighted that you liked it so much, and that you found it so easy to visualize them. :)

Catherine

Reviewer: lucybun Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2010 8:49 PM Title: Chapter 1

So sweet.  And, the characterizations were really well done.  Though I love the Abrams-verse, TOS is still my first love, and I wish there were more new TOS stories out there.  It's so nice to see a new TOS story that's this lovely.  Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much, indeed! TOS is my first love, as well. The Abrams-verse is fun, but it doesn't yet grab me as much as the original. So I'm very grateful that you liked this offering in TOS, and that you thought the characterizations that much. :)

Catherine

Reviewer: Lorelei21 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2010 6:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

Cute work. I smiled a lot when I read your description about Spock's stumbling in the snow. It's really cold in my town, with lots of snow and cold wind. I could commiserate with Spock.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I, also, can commiserate with him. ;)

Catherine

You must login (register) to review.