Reviews For The Game
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: scioscribe Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/18/2019 4:33 PM Title: The Game

This is so amazingly funny and delightful and then just swings hard into both serious, beautifully-expressed regard and heart-wringing admission of feelings.  Totally perfect.

Reviewer: HazelSage Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/13/2017 5:29 AM Title: The Game

Ouch that got me RIGHT in the feels at the end... But so hilarious and lovely before that too! Well done!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2016 3:50 PM Title: The Game

This gets me each time I read it because I forget the punchline. No, sorry the sledgehammer last line.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/09/2015 1:01 PM Title: The Game

In the list of altimeter best of K/S

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/30/2014 8:38 PM Title: The Game

Wow.  It was a cute and funny story clear up until the last line, when it became unexpectedly poignant.  Good job!

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/17/2013 3:53 AM Title: The Game

Hee!  That was great!

 

Reviewer: Cabbageheart Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/18/2013 10:17 PM Title: The Game

Oh, my goodness. It's so weird, I saw this story all over the place in rec lists and people's favorites and such, and I never read it, I guess because it was so short. I'd read and loved other stories by you, also, and just never this one. 

i did not know what I was missing. This was incredible, cleverly funny in the beginning, and then the end was so beautiful that I was just sort of blown away. Loved it, thank you.

Reviewer: SpockUndomiel Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/25/2012 7:03 AM Title: The Game

AWWWWW! So cute!

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2012 3:54 PM Title: The Game

Nice story.

Reviewer: Bluebell Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/16/2011 12:46 AM Title: The Game

Wow! Suddenly touching ending. And Spock's hilarious, he's way funnier than humans sometimes! You got the characters down pat, this is gorgeous. :D

Reviewer: Ashura Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/19/2011 7:55 AM Title: The Game

*whimper* Oh, my HEART.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/16/2011 8:43 AM Title: The Game

Always loved this story. Short and sweet and right on target. Love the way you slipped "aboot" in there.

In retrospect, I have to add that isn't it funny that in STXI Spock Prime tells young Spock to "Do what feels right"? And he still believes in Kirk... I guess Spock wins the game after all. :D

Reviewer: spirk-sporked Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/24/2010 4:55 AM Title: The Game

BAMF ending. Actually, just BAMF awesome all around. I verrrrrrrry much enjoyed that. It was long enough to be engaging, but short enough not to ramble. Characters were spot-on. Especially McCoy. I <3 it quite substantially. Thank you.

-Spirk-Sporked >: )

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/04/2009 3:32 AM Title: The Game

This is such a beautiful, moving, poignant short story. And I so wish it was longer! I've read it at least 4 times and this is certainly not the last. The concept of the game that's at the heartof the story is a very original and fun one, and it was a great opportunity to show how well the characters knew each other and most of all, what they thought of each other. I loved that Spock came off so brilliantly as the winner, when a lot of the people around him often think he doesn't understand humans at all. He so does, and he's got his friennemy McCoy pegged perfectly, too. 

You made me laugh out loud in that first part, which made the seriousness and poignancy of the last third all the more unexpected and gut-punching. Those hints you gave us into Jim and especially, Spock's feelings for each other are probably my favorites lines. I loved how Jim stopped treating the whole thing as just a fun game, and instead really took the time to think about the kind of person Spock was, and how honorable, loyal and utterly devoted to him he was. Like he just couldn't treat Spock lightly like he did with the other two; like Spock was too important to him for that, and like he understood how important his answer would matter to Spock. That was a sobering and very, very important moment, and Scotty and McCoy felt it too.

And then you had to add to the tightness in my chest by having Jim look wistfully at Spock and saying he wished one day Spock would tell him what he'd never say...and then that image of Spock left alone in front of Jim's door, whispering at the shut door his deepest secret....God, you just killed me.  It made me want to grab him in my arms and hold him very tight. How you managed to pack so much quiet agony, restrain, love and complete devotion in so few words, I still can't figure out. But it was an awesome piece, and one of my very favorite.

Thank you for writing this.

Reviewer: viridian Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/18/2009 8:49 AM Title: The Game

OH THAT ENDING KILLED ME. Thank you for this story.

Reviewer: Farfalla Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/30/2009 7:40 PM Title: The Game

All the characters are spot-on, the dialogue is warm and funny, and the unexpected poignancy at the end gets me every time. Great job!

Reviewer: Simone Allen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2009 7:26 PM Title: The Game

I enjoy all your stories, largely because the characterisation is spot on. I love this one because it's just so sweet.

Reviewer: Zia Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2006 4:58 AM Title: The Game

i love this story. So warm. Short, yet the characters are well done. I loved its simple quiet ending. Definitely one of my favorite.

Reviewer: Linda B. Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2005 4:30 AM Title: The Game

This wonderful . Very funny story, (my favorite line is "Spock is always correct") but poignant at the end.

Reviewer: DS Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/11/2005 12:27 AM Title: The Game

I absolutely love this story. Have you ever thought of making a sequel to this?

You must login (register) to review.