Reviews For Coals of Fire
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2019 12:02 AM Title: Prologue: Never Quite Amok (Jim Remembers)

Question on Chapter one, why in the World would McCoy and his Nursing Staff have not cleaned up the Captain while he was still under some sort of sedation? why would McCoy allow Kirk to experience such humiliation and degradation? Seems McCoy purposely was either punishing Kirk for caring "too much" about Spock and risking his own life, and/or was angry at Spock and purposely working to put roadblocks between Spock and Kirk resolving any issues. Nasty thing to do to Kirk, who he calls Friend!

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/15/2019 10:48 PM Title: Prologue: Never Quite Amok (Jim Remembers)

Question on Chapter one, why in the World would McCoy and his Nursing Staff have not cleaned up the Captain while he was still under some sort of sedation? why would McCoy allow Kirk to experience such humiliation and degradation? Seems McCoy purposely was either punishing Kirk for caring "too much" about Spock and risking his own life, and/or was angry at Spock and purposely working to put roadblocks between Spock and Kirk resolving any issues. Nasty thing to do to Kirk, who he calls Friend!

Reviewer: SnapeInDrag Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2019 5:16 AM Title: Epilog: Not Twice Shy

Fantastic plot. Solid original characters. Spicy smut. What more can you ask for?

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2017 2:40 AM Title: Act I: The Art of the Possible (part 2)

Can you make my heart ache any more for Spock.  JTK can't even let him get the words out "I need my first officer".   Let's just pretend he has not feelings.   Trusting it will all work out in the end.

Reviewer: valbrickel Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/07/2017 12:48 AM Title: Prologue: Never Quite Amok (Jim Remembers)

I have read this story many, many times; it is so beautifully written.  Captures the TOS charactors so well.  Not sappy, very on-point.  Thank you so much for sharing your talent with those of us who have loved these guys all our lives! Awesome!

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/12/2015 4:40 AM Title: Epilog: Not Twice Shy

There were a range of emotions that arose in me through your story.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/11/2015 3:16 PM Title: Act IV: Out of the Fire (part 2)

(Breathes deeply) It took me two days to read this chapter.
I wanted to be in the right mood to read what I believed to be an explosion of tenderness and emotion.
With much emotion I could hardly concentrate on reading.
My heart beats in different rhythm.
It was just exquisite.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/10/2015 5:23 AM Title: Act III: Out of the Frying Pan

A cold wave runs through my body.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2015 6:30 AM Title: Act II: War by Other Means (part 2)

Still confused, but now I also tense.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/07/2015 4:53 AM Title: Act II: War by Other Means (part 1)

(Scratching my head) I'm confused

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/06/2015 8:11 AM Title: Act I: The Art of the Possible (part 2)

This is so sad situation.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/05/2015 8:15 AM Title: Prologue: Never Quite Amok (Jim Remembers)

Oh boy, it does not feal predicts good.. I hunt down!

Author's Response:

Yes, keep going.  Thanks for giving me your first responses.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/28/2012 2:14 PM Title: Act I: The Art of the Possible (part 1)

Jim Kirk was extraordinarily good to look at as he stood before the backdrop of the window and its glory of sun and yellow-leafed trees and bright sky, in his gold-trimmed dress uniform, bending his gilded head.
_____________________

Beautiful.It remind me of Mucha.

Author's Response:

Thanks!  I'm glad you enjoyed the description.

 

Jane

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/22/2012 5:17 AM Title: Prologue: Never Quite Amok (Jim Remembers)

Such a beautiful work. Thank you very much.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: Mary Kay Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2012 1:03 AM Title: Prologue: Never Quite Amok (Jim Remembers)

A truly engaging, extremely well written story.  Characters all sounded true, and the plot was superb. I enjoyed it very much!

Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  This was my first lengthy story, and I worked hard on the plot.  I'm very pleased you liked it!

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2011 10:23 PM Title: Epilog: Not Twice Shy

Wonderful, and what an ending!



Author's Response:

Thank you! 

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2011 10:16 PM Title: Act IV: Out of the Fire (part 2)

Sorry I have gobbled through to here w/out reviewing but I was totally taken. I got pulled up short by the --lol--bootlaces, which are still hiding in there.

Great great narrative!



Author's Response:

AGH, are they?  Must edit again!  Thanks for the catch?

Reviewer: ImperiousTiberius Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/27/2011 4:27 PM Title: Epilog: Not Twice Shy

Thank you for posting this wonderful story on the archive.  Coals of Fire is one of my favourite K/S stories of all time – I remember reading Still Amok, Coals of Fire and Kaddish over a decade ago when I first discovered K/S on the ASC newsgroup – and I still have old text files of these stories that I occasionally pull out when I crave a good read.

I hope you’ll be posting more TOS stories here in the near future.



Author's Response:

Wow, thank you.  Text files!  That's amazing.  What a lovely review!

Reviewer: Simone Allen Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/26/2011 9:22 PM Title: Prologue: Never Quite Amok (Jim Remembers)

Excellent story. Well written, thoughtful and with a plot that draws the reader in. I very much enjoyed it.

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/26/2011 3:45 PM Title: Prologue: Never Quite Amok (Jim Remembers)

I love this story!!!!! As I said in my other review, it's probably my favourite of all time along with Still Amok! So glad to see your work posted here!

Author's Response:

Thanks, murt!  I'm glad I found the archive.

You must login (register) to review.