Reviews For The Lotus Eaters
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/15/2021 9:54 AM Title: Chapter 9

I checked my former review and I first read this fiction in 2013. I have forgotten the datails but the general story stayed with me all this time and reading it again in 2021, it's still a perfect wonderful story, something that doesn't apply to all the books and fictions that I have read in my life. Some of them look silly or flawed when read for a second time but this fiction still rocks! If only it could be used as the basis of a StarTrek movie or TV episode! Or at least an official novel... One can dream, right?

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/15/2021 9:50 AM Title: Chapter 4

Reading this amazing story for the second time and loving it!

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/31/2015 12:41 PM Title: Chapter 14

It was unbelievable story. You have a broad imagination.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2015 4:11 AM Title: Chapter 10

Suddenly hit me enlightenment:
This space version of "Robinson Crusoe"!

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/25/2015 7:49 PM Title: Chapter 8

That was a sweet ending for the chapter.

I like that longclaw of yore's.
You describe her touchingly.
How did you think of her?
What is your inspiration?
Do you have a drawing?

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/22/2015 7:53 AM Title: Chapter 3

If the zombies will not kill me, the tension between them will do.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/22/2015 4:48 AM Title: Chapter 2

I hate zombies (who tose?) I get scared easily, but I love Jim / Spock so I stayed to read this horror movie.

Reviewer: sundara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2015 3:30 AM Title: Chapter 14

Loved this unusual and detailed story! You created a very interesting, interconnected place. Excellent evolution of characters and plot. Thanks for a great read.

Reviewer: The Sherlockian Vulcan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2014 11:19 PM Title: Chapter 14

Love this story!! It is so amazing and so well written! I am very happy to have found a story that is so long and so good. Is there going to be a sequel where they bond and make their relationship official? Because amother story like this one would be very welcome. I hope you consoder writting a sequel! 

Reviewer: FanficTrekkie Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2014 3:39 PM Title: Chapter 14

Okay that was sooo worth the wait!  Loved the way you built up to the moment espec in the way Kirk finally initiated first contact (pun intended), ha with reaching for Spock'ps hand but asking if it was alright.  Awesome job w this chapter!

Reviewer: FanficTrekkie Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2014 11:33 AM Title: Chapter 11

This is a very bizarre story that had me lost at times, yet I still found it intriguing and couldn't stop reading it! :-)  I was disappointed that Spock and Jim hadn't started becoming romantically involved well into the first few chapters or progressed faster than it has been, so we cld enjoy that scenario on this dangerous, primitive planet - but as long as that happens soon I'll be happy :-)  Kudos

Reviewer: elospock Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/07/2014 3:36 AM Title: Chapter 14

I absolutely LOVED it. Thank you for such a delightful piece! I shall recommend it heartwarmedly to anybody asking for a good fic rec. This definitly goes straight in my personal top 10! :)

Live long and prosper and may you continue to write for a very long time!

Reviewer: klayn Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2013 12:09 AM Title: Chapter 14

“Hansel and Gretel? No?” Spock shook his head. “You’re missing out.”

“On what, precisely?”

“Gluttony. Child abuse. Cannibalism.” Jim shrugged. “You know, a children’s story.”

Loved this part too :D But I'm also curious, is there an explanation for the bulbweed and the Noxians (which is a word I quite like) and everything?

Reviewer: klayn Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/09/2013 11:48 PM Title: Chapter 13

"For a man who always insisted he was a simple country doctor, he sure didn’t mind throwing around terms like ‘hippocampus disruption’ and ‘LHPA axis.’ "

I loved this line omg

Reviewer: thislittleicequeen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2013 1:41 PM Title: Chapter 14

Almost certainly the best case of alien world building in a fanfic that I've ever come across.  And amazing use of true scientific theory for how things interconnected in the world vs. how often scifi (not just fanfics) resort to pseudo-techno-babble to move along plot. I was genuinely enthralled by not only the plot and the characterizations, but also this alien world. And the plight of the "cattlebug" civilization just fills me with horror and curiosity in turns, and often at the same time. And it goes without saying that the Spock/Kirk storyline was fantastic.

(Also, thank you for Sarek and T'Pau's characterization in this story. It's very similar to how I see them. Oh! And thank you so much for how you handled Uhura and Uhura/Spock. Well done all around.) 

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/15/2013 9:12 AM Title: Chapter 14

wow...such an unexpected and amazing journey.This fandom has best authors ever.If I had money and premission, I would definitely create a movie after your amazing fiction and Ship of Dreams by LonaMyLona.

Your story completely captivated me and I doubt I would ever forget it.My only regret is why I didn't read it sooner. I must mention that Longclaw rocks!She was a great addition to story and officially joins my list of favorite OC and species.The part that Jim kept running after her to tend to her wounds and ended up throwing stuff at her and her reaction and her comment when saying goodbye to the planet...AWESOME!

Oh...and your description of a Gorn...lol, totally rocks! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful story.

Reviewer: aerlalaith Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2012 6:40 AM Title: Chapter 14

This fic was incredibly imaginative, especially the depictions of the alien planet.  The K/S was also very well-paced and believable.  Excellent storytelling, I really enjoyed every bit of it.



Author's Response:

Awww, thank you!  I really appreciate it.  "Believable" was definitely one of the biggest concerns on my mind writing this, to the point where I added entire chapters and expanded existing ones to stupid lengths (much of that a bit last-minute, too)! :D

Reviewer: Chris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 4:27 PM Title: Chapter 14

I'm not very good at expressing myself this way, but.. this has been the best story I have ever read. And I am not exaggerating. It would be hard to point out what I liked the most, the combination of your fantasy, plot, characters and overall adaptation was perfect. Thank you very much for giving me these intense moments!



Author's Response:

Oh my goodness, thank you so much!  I really appreciate your kindness, and I'm so glad the story brought you as much enjoyment as it did.  It's always wonderful knowing I've passed on that feeling to other people. :D

Reviewer: nothingcomestomind Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2011 11:49 PM Title: Chapter 8

Enjoying the story, very much. It's a bit slow-going, but that makes it all the more inticing and unpredicatble. I'd been thinking the thing most missing from this story's Spock is his curiosity. Then came this chapter. Ironically, while I think the author's mostly ignored this aspect of Spock's personality, she uses it rather convincingly to have Spock try things I'd generally never guess he would take to - like playing Truth or Dare. I do wish Spock were more consistently in character, but who am I to say...? Thanks for the enjoyable read, and esp. for writing action, adventure - there's too little of that in ff!



Author's Response:

Oh look, another review I completely missed on this site (the perils of too much crossposting)!  Sorry 'bout that!  Anyway, it's been awhile since I've even read this fic, so I can't comment much regarding Spock.  I do recall feeling like his stereotypical place with Kirk was almost reversed as I wrote, though, because his physical strength was such an asset he didn't have much time/energy for brainy stuff.  But I'm glad you enjoyed in any case, and thank you for commenting! :)

Reviewer: Bluebell Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2011 4:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

Haha, looks like everyone's been reading this in a marathon way into the night judging by the comments! I did as well. :P
I'm not sure what else to add, except that it's so refreshing having a properly good, thought-provoking and well-padded-out K/S fic to read! I love the romance, but sometimes it's just the romance and that leaves out a whole lot of what their relationship is really about. (:
I love the detail, it was in no way too much at all! I'ma fan of sci-fi (well obviously, I'm into Star Trek) and so I thought a lot of the stuff you came up with in this was really interesting, like Longclaw's species' social structure. If there is a sequel to this in the works or just another story, I'm definitely going to be looking out for more of your stuff!
I already rated, but here's another 5 stars. (:



Author's Response: Your comments made my day, and I'm so glad you enjoyed the story enough to marathon! Somehow this fic ended up being the most ambitious writing project I've ever attempted, and you touched on all the goals I had for myself (i.e. a decent story), which made me do a little dance of joy and relief! I did leave things open for a sequel, in case the inspiration gods strike me once I've recovered. (Until then, I intend to get back to my roots and write lots of porn and fluff in much smaller doses.) Thanks again for your sweet comments! :3

You must login (register) to review.