Reviews For Golden Boy
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: k1of7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/18/2020 6:37 PM Title: none

Again, just great writing

Reviewer: WriterPam4 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2016 5:29 AM Title: none

Perfection absolue.

Reviewer: keerawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/02/2015 10:33 PM Title: none

Oh, that was painful.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/08/2015 5:02 AM Title: none

That was exceedingly powerful and well done ... and I wish that I had never read it.

 

Reviewer: skaylin Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2013 8:55 AM Title: none

Incredibly well written, with a totally unexpected twist at the end (Whaat? SAREK???). It takes masterful imagery and great character dynamics to make this version of events so believable.

Reviewer: Ishtar205 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2013 6:34 PM Title: none

It was soooo heartbreaking... Wonderful but really really sad

Reviewer: Ymas Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2012 5:49 PM Title: none

I really loved this one. Don't even want to think about what Jim's desicion is gonna do to Spock, but wow. It had me floored.

Reviewer: Lorelei21 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/09/2010 5:12 PM Title: none

I'm flabbergasted. This story hit me really hard. As one of the previous readers stated this Kirk is far from the idealized one, but who knows what kind of men was our famous Golden Boy?

During reading it, firstly I thoguht that Sydan was Spock and eventually they would meet on the Enterprise, etc. But when I read that Sydan was actually Sarek... I nearly lost my mind. And Kirk was so self-sacrificing that he abandoned Spock - his beloved, just for Spock's concern.

Great story. Thanks for sharing it with tke K/S fans.

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2010 3:17 PM Title: none

FYI


 


This story is fucking great, and I don’t just mean as an adult K/S fanfic. It’s powerful and unfrogetable as an example of the science fiction  genre (telepathy, alien sexuality, etc.), but also as a work of modern fiction, including all those stories that are free to all and all those that are examined in the mouth before being reluctantly bought.


 


True to human psychology is “Golden Boy” by Jungle Kitty, as great short stories must be. Romance? Yes: the kind you can reread for years into the future. Formless or hit-and-miss? Not a bit: Nowhere.


 


So, read it and say “That must be why professional writers fear fan fiction on the net. They know how arbitrary is the catching of mass market or minor press publication by more than decent writers.”


 


 


Thanks, Jungle Kitty. Keep writing!


--Melissa  

Reviewer: PolarStar Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/18/2009 9:14 AM Title: none

Wow, this is good. Totally AU and totally believeble- a rare one.

Reviewer: dristi Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/13/2009 11:35 PM Title: none

hi,

this story was amazing, yet so sad...

i'll definately visit your website and read your stories...

keep up and pls never give up writing!

Reviewer: tmelange Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2009 10:51 PM Title: none

Outstanding. Bravo!

Reviewer: Mirrorgirl Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2009 11:11 PM Title: none

A mesmerizing story that is K/S canon in my mind, and a story I return to again and again.  Beautifully written; a bitter and tragic love story with equal parts kink and romance.  Engaging and moving, a real classic.  This is required reading in the genre. 

Reviewer: sexynelly Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2008 6:51 AM Title: none

although this story is a little harder to read than your other fics, it is so well written that it is impossible to stop reading it. Your characterization of Kirk is amazing and did a wonderful job of making him almost too believable. It's almost hard to imagine him not being a prostitute now. Amazing. Painful, but completely amazing. A definite 10 out of 10.

Reviewer: Starshadow Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2005 2:50 AM Title: none

This was so well written and so evocative that I will never forget it, even though it broke my heart to read. *snif* Well done.

Reviewer: Rabble Rouser Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2005 10:43 PM Title: none

This is dark, but painfully honest and, as one reviewer said, part of what's so amazing about it is that it takes very little liberty with canon events, and even though it's a dark, Kirk, it's still one I find moving and a hero in spite of himself.

Reviewer: kira_nerys Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/08/2005 6:08 PM Title: none

This is a painful story, but it's also very poignant and well worth checking out. Sometimes a story that's a little painful to read is just what you're looking for. "Golden Boy" is among the best in that genre.

Reviewer: Killa Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 09/08/2005 8:45 AM Title: none

It's just the smallest of steps from canon to visualize Kirk as a male prostitute, isn't it? *g* Seriously, this story hits hard, and paints a picture of Kirk that is so far from idealized, you won't soon forget it. Sharp writing and powerful imagery won it a fistful of Golden O awards in 1998, including Best TOS Challenge Story and a tie for Best TOS Story.

You must login (register) to review.