Reviews For Gentleman Alone
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Goodweed Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2014 9:17 AM Title: Chapter 1

awwwwwwww daddy/mommy!Spock best ever !!! awww i'm in love with this !^^

Reviewer: Precira Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2014 6:11 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, just wow! It was an awesome story from the beginning to the ending, really well done. S'Bren was too adorable I just want to take him into my arms and squeeze him :3

Reviewer: Logic_and_Reason Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/16/2014 1:17 AM Title: Chapter 1

This was just so... I can I even describe how wonderful this was. You paint the characters beautifully and efficiently. There is so much more that is wonderful about this story, but I'm so overwhelmed with the sheer amount of positive attributes that I cannot even begin to describe a single one. Clearly, this has rendered me practically speechless, and I thank you for this.



Author's Response:

Oh my goodness, thank you so much for your kind words! You've made my day! D.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2013 7:54 PM Title: Chapter 14

What a wonderful ending to a terrific story. I hadn't expected the redemption that would come after the terrible conflict when Spock returned to Vulcan, but it all fell into place perfectly. Thanks for taking us along on this journey.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/20/2013 2:03 PM Title: Chapter 14

This was fantastic! I didn't know how you would end it but I love it. T'Pring is happy, Spock is happy, S'Bren is happy, everybody's happy. This was a very thought provoking story. Thank you so much for sharing your gift with us.

Author's Response:

Aww, thank you for the kind words!  It was my pleasure!  D

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/20/2013 6:28 AM Title: Chapter 14

And so it ends... thankyou for a magnificent journey with a difference. I am so glad they end up together. Although I am left wondering what their future holds and how it works out... Any plans for a sequel?



Author's Response:

Thanks!  Well, I can't picture a sequel right at the moment but I'll give it some thought!  I can see at least doing some 'vignettes' though, after a little break.  Right now, I'm looking forward to catching up on the all the reading I haven't been doing as I've been writing this! 

Reviewer: Vulcanlady Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/20/2013 5:35 AM Title: Chapter 14

Sigh........ what a beautiful happy ending! A real treat early in the morning, Liked the way you depicted T' Pring's side of the story. The haircut as a symbol of self- development and liberation was great.

Author's Response:

Yes, indeed Spock is coming into his own, finally!  And yes, I felt the need to give the much-reviled T'Pring a little bit of redemption!  Thanks for reading and commenting - I've enjoyed your insightful comments.  D.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/20/2013 4:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow...What a roller coaster ride this has been. I understand now how T'Pring felt, why she acted towards Spock, being so cold...I am glad that she has found love once again, and that Jim, Spock and the boy, have formed a family. Well done.



Author's Response:

Thank you - glad you enjoyed!  And yes, I figured it was time to tell T'Pring's side at long last!  D.

Reviewer: Vulcanlady Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/17/2013 8:56 PM Title: Chapter 12

What a scary parenting moment for Spock, i hope his son is okay and that his peers didn't bully him for having a father with a preference for certain human male.

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/17/2013 2:02 AM Title: Chapter 1

I am so hooked on this story!!


I like the way you portray Vulcan - it's not so dissimilar from many places on Earth (or maybe  21st century Earth) - your Vulcan has a capitalist economy, attorneys and likely an adversarial legal system, and Vulcans who seem to live in nuclear families, are fairly emotional, and have arranged marriages in some cases and go on dates in others. It's been fun to read.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  It's been fun to invent the various aspects of culture that - as far as I know - have never been brought up in any of the tv series or novels!

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/17/2013 1:02 AM Title: Chapter 12

Well, we knew there would be no happily ever after, at least not yet, but there is a lot more drama brewing in this chapter than I could have imagined. On the edge of my seat here -- hope you update soon!

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/17/2013 12:50 AM Title: Chapter 12

Hey, this is getting good. Spock is basically outcast even more now. How will he fix this, I wonder? What a great story. Thanks for the update!

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/15/2013 12:33 AM Title: Chapter 11

Oh, my, I guess you could say this heartwrenching turn of events was completely predictable, and yet it wasn't. What could be more logical than two persons in loveless marraiges finding love with each other? Nothing, unless it conflicts with the narrow interests of others. It is unutterably painful to see Spock's father show so little regard for his son's happiness. I was almost equally angry with Amanda when I first read the chapter, but on reflection, realized that she is torn between her son and her husband (as is so often the case, I think).

Given Jim's declaration as he drives Spock to the station, one would hope that Spock could gather up S'Bren, take the next flight back to Earth and live happily ever after. But knowing your gift for spinning angst-filled tales and the complexity of your characters, I am willing to bet that this is not what will happen next. I just hope that Jim doesn't do something crazy on the rebound....

Spock's circular thoughts at the beginning were very effective, and showed, better than any description could have, the conflicting commitments that are now at the heart of his existence. Well done, as always!



Author's Response:

Oh, you were so close to the truth that I had to bite my tongue earlier.  Now that its done - I can tell you, with regard to the ending 'you called it!'  And yes, Amanda is more angry and hurt that Spock did not reveal to her this major life-changing event; it was nearly a betrayal in her eyes, given that she shares lots of things with him and that he had thus far been open as well. 

But...all's well that ends well!  D.

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2013 6:59 PM Title: Chapter 1

Poor Spock, forced into a marriage to a cold bitch... by his parents, and now little sympathy when he finally finds love. I hope in the next chapter we'll see him getting some backbone, enough to give his father the middle finger, leave Vulcan and go to his love at last...

Reviewer: Vulcanlady Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2013 5:43 PM Title: Chapter 11

"Oh the bitten mouth, oh the kissed limbs,
oh the hungering teeth, oh the entwined bodies.

Oh the mad coupling of hope and force
in which we merged and despaired.

And the tenderness, light as water and as flour.
And the word scarcely begun on the lips.

This was my destiny and in it was the voyage of my longing,
and in it my longing fell, in you everything sank!

Oh pit of debris, everything fell into you,
what sorrow did you not express, in what sorrow are you not drowned!

From billow to billow you still called and sang.
Standing like a sailor in the prow of a vessel.

You still flowered in songs, you still broke in currents.
Oh pit of debris, open and bitter well.

Pale blind diver, luckless slinger,
lost discoverer, in you everything sank!

It is the hour of departure, the hard cold hour
which the night fastens to all the timetables.

The rustling belt of the sea girdles the shore.
Cold stars heave up, black birds migrate.

Deserted like the wharves at dawn.
Only the tremulous shadow twists in my hands.

Oh farther than everything. Oh farther than everything.

It is the hour of departure. Oh abandoned one."

I thougt this extract from another great poem by Pablo de Naruda covers this chapter very well.

The humiliation was hartbreaking, poor Spock, he didn't deserve to be slapped in the face by his father. For the first time in his life he encountered love, he should stand tall and confront his parents. After all, T"Pring is seeing this S"Triton guy. Isn't she? I hope Jim is going to take the first shuttle available and rescue his most precious one!

Author's Response:

Oh what a lovely poem, very apt.  Don't you just love Neruda? There's nobody else quite like him.

I know - poor Spock.  I'm really putting him through the ringer! 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2013 3:22 PM Title: Chapter 11

Why are people so foolish as to have affairs better to close one chapter before opening another. But that is it what the fic is about, I feel incensed that T'Pring's actions remain undetected and un sanctioned. I hope the bitch is discovered pregnant with gestation matching spock's time away. She deserves it. 

But hope worst case Jim moves on doesn't happen to destroy Spock's dreams though given your pechant for angst I doubt a happy end comes soon.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2013 3:14 PM Title: Chapter 11

Damn. Did not see that coming and yet I did. I knew T'Pring would throw a hissy fit but throwing Spock out and telling his parents... but then again, Spock wasn't that careful. It was a great chapter. Way to go.

Reviewer: Blthug Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2013 1:54 PM Title: Chapter 1

I registered on here so I can leave you a review. This is an awesome story, I love it and am eagerly awaiting the next chapters. Thank you for sharing.



Author's Response:

Awww! I am SO touched to hear that!  Thank you so much! - You've made my day!  Working on the next chapter to post this weekend!  :)

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2013 12:26 PM Title: Chapter 10

Love the parallelism of the exchange between Kirk and Spock ("I love you" - "I love you more") and the earlier exchange between Scarlett and Gianni. I am wondering, though, if in fact Spock does love Kirk "more" (than Kirk loves him) and what rocky road may lie ahead. Since the Enterprise refit is complete, does this mean that the events of ST:TMP are on the horizon? Still wondering what is Kirk's and Lori's status.



Author's Response:

This story is post TMP.  Remember how Enterprise got deployed too early in order to  intercept VGer?  Enterprise wasn't quite ready to go at that time - hence some of the mechanical issues they had during Vger.  So the premise of this au  is that Spock is one of the engineers to make the necessary repairs and fix all the system glitches they encountered as a result of not being fully inspected and launched.  So Lori in the version doesn't die (for whatever reasons you wish - perhaps someone else did die because of the transporter malfunction or perhaps the transporter works fine in this version).  I did this because I didn't want to do a 'Jim the widower' story here.  I wanted to show that Jim would choose Spock over Lori had she lived.  He wasn't a convenient replacement in Jim's heart. 

With regard to Jim and Lori - well, they are kaputs with Lori graciously bowing out (alluded to with the Jim's half-empty closets, as you surmised).  I figure a person who lives in a  society that now has marriage 'contracts' is grown up to handle the reality of serial monogamy (and even polygamy between consenting adults for that matter) .  I didn't want to spend a lot of time on that because it's not Lori and Jim's story - this time around, anyway!

I love that you are so attentive and engaged in this story!  I keeps me inspired to write!  thx a million. D

 

Reviewer: Vulcanlady Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2013 4:25 AM Title: Chapter 10

The day of their separation is approaching.... what is going to happen next? I love the way Jim kissed Spock in front of his cousins during the fireworks! Please update soon !

Author's Response:

Yes, a little pda now and again is really sweet, isn't it ?!  thanks for commenting and I'll have more posted this weekend!  thx - D

You must login (register) to review.