Reviews For Gentleman Alone
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2013 1:32 AM Title: Chapter 9

I really like the way you set a scene so vividly, drawing the reader in while keeping her wondering what is actually happening. Is Spock leaving his apartment to return to Vulcan? Is his company picking him up to take him to the spaceport? Oh, it's Kirk -- are they going to have a sad farewell at the spaceport? Oh, no, Spock is moving in with Kirk! A place with a half-empty closet -- has Lori moved out? Has Kirk? Or is this their nid d'amour? Excellent writing!

Deleted previous review for Chapter 9 and am reposting to see if this solves the problem with duplication and spacing:

I loved the explicit sex, but something about the dynamics of this chapter made me a tiny bit uncomfortable. I think I share the concern Forgotten One expressed about Kirk. Something about Spock's agreeing to an act he obviously had significant misgivings about, just because Jim wanted it and he would do anything to please Jim, made me squirm just a little, I'm glad it turned out to be totally satisfying, but still, it raises questions about the relationship. So I am eager as ever to see where the next chapter takes us!



Author's Response:

Oh good - that deletion worked!  thx. 

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2013 1:20 AM Title: Chapter 10

What a perfect lunchtime treat! Must they part?



Author's Response:

Parting is such sweet sorrow!  :(.  But we are not at the end yet so.....  ?

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2013 11:06 PM Title: Chapter 10

Wow. What a chapter! I particularly loved Scarlett grilling Jim on his prowess. You did great. More, please?

Author's Response:

Soon, I promise!  :)

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2013 2:15 AM Title: Chapter 8

In the previous chapter, you mentioned a neighbor of Spock's opening a door onto the hallway where the two guys were making out, and I've been waiting for the other shoe to drop, wondering who had seen them. But it seems that Kirk is being very open about his relationship with Spock. I like that. Waiting eagerly for the next plot twist ...



Author's Response:

mmmm - don't know why all this spacing and duplication in my response above and i can't seem to delete...maybe if you delete your review? sorry!

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2013 5:28 PM Title: Chapter 9

Wow.  Graphic.  Jim doesn't seem to be messing around with Spock -- he seems to be serious.  But I can't help but wonder.  Guess I've read too many philandering Kirk stories.  What IS Spock gonna do?  I hope he leaves that twit he married and takes his son and moves to Earth to be happy with Jim.  But would T'Pring give up her son that easily?  Hmm.  You're doing a fantastic job!  More please!

Reviewer: Vulcanlady Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2013 4:01 PM Title: Chapter 9

Wow, just wow!!!

Author's Response:

Thanks!!! Dee

Reviewer: cogasha Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2013 3:51 PM Title: Chapter 9

Wow things are getting intense, I really can't wait to see how they get through this. Update soon!

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/06/2013 10:27 PM Title: Chapter 8

Why, oh why, do I see this ending badly? Lori may not care but I have a feeling T'Pring will have something to say. I'll hold my breath for the next chapter....

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2013 10:24 PM Title: Chapter 7

AAAAAAAAHHHHHH!!!  Your story -- it's so GOOD!  I find myself hating T'Pring (not that I need an excuse for that) and Lori (again, no excuse needed) and wanting Spock and Jim to get together, but not if Jim's just going to use Spock like the others.  And what of Spock's son?  Oh noes!  This is too good and I'm putting it in my favorites so I can keep up with it.  Great job!



Author's Response:

LOL!! Thank you!!!!  And not to worry - I promise a Hollywood ending! 

Reviewer: DivaPammy Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2013 4:19 PM Title: Chapter 7

YES!!! This was a wonderful chapter. I love the progression between these two. And if T'Pring meets with a bad accident no one would not be upset.  Just saying...

Can not wait for the rest of this story. It has been a great read!! 



Author's Response:

LOL! T'Pring gets no love from anybody on this site!   Glad you are enjoying!  D.

Reviewer: cogasha Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2013 6:12 AM Title: Chapter 7

Oh wow now I really can't wait for the next chapter. Yay they finally made some goooooood progress. Update soon :)



Author's Response:

Oh definitely!  Thanks for the feedback! You guys keep egging me on! I'm a slave to my laptop right now!  D

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2013 4:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

oops - should have said 'initially ignored' in my last review!

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2013 4:05 AM Title: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed this chapter and I love the way you portray the way the relationship between Kirk and Spock is developing - it feels realistic, in a way that is, maybe not rare in fanfiction, but certainly isn't present in a lot of fanfiction I've read.... I can relate what Spock is going through to similar encounters in my own life haha (like the texts he receives from Kirk - which he ignored - and the kind of abrupt way he ultimately decides to sleep with Kirk)!



Author's Response:

Yeah, he finally just kind of went "fuck it!" and threw caution to the wind! Wheeee! 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2013 2:37 AM Title: Chapter 7

Oh, my, what a LOT you packed into this chapter. Such a fascinating reason for the difference between this Spock and the Spock of TOS. Who would ever have guessed it? The discussion between Spock and T'Pring about S'Bren's coming of age crystallized -- quite believably -- many of the differences between them. Of course, the reunion between Kirk and Spock had the satisfying ring of inevitability -- with the best yet to come.

And I loved, loved, loved S'Bren's birthday party, and the gift of the lyre. I confess I cannot tell from the text which setting of the Ave Maria S'Bren played. So, just as a way of saying thanks, here is one of my favorite settings of it (Brahms'). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHFkbJ8cvhE



Author's Response:

Wow, that version is really haunting and beautiful!  Love it, thanks.  It's such a timeline song and I do picture it living for centuries in all it's iterations.    I used this version to help me write that scene.  This is exactly who I imagine how S'Bren sounds. 

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRFYCerLF3o

 

Yes, a lot happened in this chapter - I actually considered breaking into 2 but ultimately decided to post as is.

 

Thanks!!!  Dee

 

 

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 10:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

I am loving this story! You portray Kirk as reminiscent of Bill Clinton or John Edwards in a way - a sleazy politician-type who comes on strong - and I can definitely see that!



Author's Response:

Yes, well you know Kirk has a tiny bit of that in him, for sure!  I was thinking of  the Jim Kirk that hit on Gillian in ST 4 - The Voyage Home -- "I didn't even get your number, ha ha!" and she's all 'whatever'! 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 3:03 PM Title: Chapter 6

Thanks so much for posting another chapter so quickly, and despite the holiday. Your writing is higihly accessible, and its deceptive simplicity conceals great artistry. It was a great narrative choice to have Scarlett accompany Spock so that she could interpret the signs of Kirk's desire to Spock. I like the way you suggested so very subtly that at some (deeply repressed?) level, Spock was aware of the signs Kirk was telegraphing, but needed Scarlett to bring that knowledge to the surface.

The CW in fan fic is often that Kirk's relationship with Lori didn't work because he was carrying the torch for Spock, and I like the fact that you are suggesting that other forces were at play. Love the parallelism between Spock's relationship with T'Pring and Kirk's relationship with Lori. The luncheon scenes served a worthy purpose, showing Spock that Kirk's relationship with Lori is hollow and loveless. I like that you showed that, rather than having someone, maybe Kirk himself, have to tell Spock that. Showing it is so much more powerful.



Author's Response:

THANK YOU for sharing with me  your thoughtful observations!  Yes, Scarlett provides us with the 'human perspective' and is there to interpret and voice what Spock cannot at this time.   And absolutely, the luncheon's sole purpose was to show the disparity between Jim and Lori - and of course, get Jim and Spock together once more! 

I'm so thrilled you're enjoying this!   D.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 7:42 AM Title: Chapter 6

“My God. You didn’t notice the way he looked at you? He’d do you in a second. Next time you two are alone together some underpants are coming off.”

This made laugh so hard, I had to remove spittle off my computer screen.

It seems that Spock has things well in hand....Love the chapter...

Author's Response:

bwah hah hah! 

Reviewer: Hobgoblin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 6:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

Degilles,I literally had to make an account after six months of putting it off, JUST to tell you that you quite literally control my life. Since I first started reading A Different Corner, and now with Gentlemen Alone, you just control my soul. Its a bad day then I see a new chapter and my life is sunshine and roses. Even if it is all angst, my day is somehow better! I will follow you to the ends of the earth. ;) I adore you!!!! XOXO

 



Author's Response:

Oh my goodness, thank you so much!  This means the world to me !!! You made my day --- no, my month!  D.

 

 

Reviewer: Roger786 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 1:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

You did it again ! An handsome addictive story...well thank you so much you give me real joy, I love the way you write. I cannot wait for the next to come. 

Reviewer: cogasha Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 1:20 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great chapter :)

You must login (register) to review.