Reviews For Compeer
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 11:25 PM Title: Chapter 9

Very satisfying ending to a great story.

Oh, I see, xenograf is an immunosuppressant. I'm trying to not be too put off by Carol Marcus for perhaps taking too much credit for her role in pushing Xenograf as the solution. But it's OK -- everyone on the team contributed, even if Spock's contribution was overwhelmingly important. I wonder if McCoy and Carol will ever know how important it was?



Author's Response:

In my mind, McCoy absolutely knows even if he isn't aware of the details.  Not so much Carol, but I imagine if she did, she'd be pretty upset that Spock used this opportunity (unintentionally?  maybe not!) to horn in on her action (ref. the Chekov chapter in Companion!).  Serves her right for sitting between Spock and Jim on the shuttlecraft in STID, ha ha!

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 11:06 PM Title: Chapter 8

You're right, Kirk's couldn't just simply wake up, looking gorgeous, after being dead, without a lot of s**** going down. You are showing vividly the agony is took for Kirk to be regenerated -- thus making the episode so much more than a plot gimmick.



Author's Response:

THANK YOU!!  I absolutely adore STID and have seen it -- you're the first reader I've confessed this to -- THIRTY TIMES (19 in theaters and the rest on DVD and streaming) but there are some plot holes big enough to drive the starship Enterprise through, and Kirk's death/rebirth is one of them.  I love that Kirk demonstrated the personal growth and responsibility of sacrificing his life for his crew, but the writers almost completely negated that sacrifice by magically bringing him back to life with so little explanation.  Deus ex Khanina!  And the clean-shaven loveliness (his HAIR didn't even grow!  Which is why it absolutely did, in the sequel to this piece, Companion) offended me at the very first viewing.  But obviously not enough to keep me from seeing it 29 more times...  ;-)

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 11:00 PM Title: Chapter 7

Wow, what a rough ride. You vividly showed the cost ot Spock of maintaining the meld.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 10:55 PM Title: Chapter 6

Oh, no. Did McCoy make a terrible mistake? What is Xenograf? (Wondering if I missed something in the films.) The banter between the two guys is priceless.



Author's Response:

I totally made up "Xenograf" by mashing together "Prograf" (an actual immunosuppressant drug) with "xeno" to imply that it can be used across different species.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 10:51 PM Title: Chapter 5

This story continues to be very engaging. Still wondering, though, exactly how McCoy managed, after Kirk died, to restore heart-lung function and prevent the brain damage that would inevitably have occurred after 8 minutes of oxygen deprivation (as I understand it). If Kirk's body needs regeneration by Khan's blood, how can his mind be "intact"?



Author's Response:

Another plot hole created by the STID movie.  I could find no way of getting around that.  In the movie, they had to wait for the radiation in the warp core to disperse, then open it up, pull him out, zip him up in a body bag, transport him to Sickbay, unzip the bag, then all gather round and look sad until the tribble woke up.  All of that in real ife would probably have taken at least an hour, at which point Kirk would be waaaaayyyyy past revive-able.  I did toy with the idea of having Kirk brain-damaged but discarded it, even though it would have been more realistic, and decided to go with the idea that a person's consciousness could be rescued (kind of like Spock's katra going into McCoy in ST:TSFS), even from a damaged brain, and restored once the brain material had been repaired.  But yeah, you're right, the entire scenario as presented in the movie is unrealistic.  I worked around it.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 10:35 PM Title: Chapter 4

Another chapter with powerful, realistic writing. Spock's memory of being pulled down by the waves is agonizing.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I had originally written this chapter with details about Kirk's specific thoughts but it was so clunky that I replaced his thoughts with the metaphor of ocean waves -- too dynamic and powerful and overwhelming at first to someone who hadn't experienced them before, but Spock gets used to it, eventually... ;-)

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 10:29 PM Title: Chapter 3

The images Spock sees in Kirk's mind are vivid and believable as the kind of "dreams" one has under anaesthesia. Excellent writing.



Author's Response:

Yes!  I once had a dream of being cold that was so vivid (because I really was cold, physically) that I was able to recall it, many years later, for use here.  I still remember the anxiety and distress, ugh.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 10:26 PM Title: Chapter 2

Love the technical details and McCoy's thoughts, his fear of failure, anger at Kirk's risk-taking and reminder of the Hippocratic Oath all mixed together. Well done,

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 10:23 PM Title: Chapter 1

Excellent beginning; am wondering idly why Khan needs to be sedated for the transfusion?



Author's Response:

Since I kind of made up (OK, totally made up) the whole serum separation process (didn't have much to go on from the movie -- all Bones says is that he made a serum from his super-blood), I assumed that removing the blood products and returning them back in an altered/subtracted form should be as traumatic for Khan as it would be for Jim, so I thought it was safer to knock him out too.  But Khan being Khan, I guess he could have taken whatever the side-effects were and laughed them off.  ("Now, Doctor, shall we begin?")

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 3:49 AM Title: Chapter 9

This was quite the enjoyable read.  ^_^



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/25/2013 9:23 PM Title: Chapter 9

Good job. I like it.
I would love it to read more. :-)

Author's Response:

I'll begin posting the sequel very shortly.  Thanks for reading!!

Reviewer: Blthug Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/25/2013 7:29 PM Title: Chapter 1

wonderful story, I will have to look up your other ones on ao3



Author's Response:

I'm transferring them all over to K/SA as well.  Thanks for reading!

You must login (register) to review.