Reviews For Companion
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2014 11:31 PM Title: Nyota (6)

Nice, believable resolution of the issues between Spock and Uhura. Good to see them all together. But how are they going to deal with Section 31?



Author's Response:

I am horribly late in replying -- have just read over all your responses to Companion and want to give you a big THANK YOU for all your feedback. I replied to another comment in which I mentioned I'm in the process of posting its sequel (Consort) to K/S and will get that completed a chapter a day; then, I have two or three more works from AO3 to cross-post into K/S and I'll be (dare I say it) ALL CAUGHT UP. If that'a actually a thing. Thanks so much for reading!!

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2014 11:27 PM Title: Bones (11)

Good for Bones, with his takedown of Boyce's/Section 31's Eugenist ambitions. A thousand extra points for mentioning Tuskegee. Wonderful rescue scene!

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2014 11:20 PM Title: Spock (10)

After that incredible fantasy, what a devastating shock. 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2014 11:15 PM Title: Jim (11)

Oh, my, I think this rivals anything I've read in K/S for sheer erotic power and passion. I did mean to finish reviewing this story, and will try to catch up so I can go on to read Consort. Which I think you posted on AO3 but not here? Wondering.



Author's Response:

You're right, and I'm finally correcting that omission now by cross-posting Consort, a chapter a day starting today. Don't know how I forgot to do that and didn't realize it until I started cross-posting a piece I just finished up on AO3. Which I will NOT forget to post on K/S. Thanks!!

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2014 8:38 PM Title: Spock (9)

After such knowledge, what forgiveness? (T.S. Eliot, "Gerontion.") I am running out of superlatives to describe the relentless truth-telling in this story. 

Interesting that Uhura was the initiator in the coupling with Kirk; it struck me as evening the emotional terrain, if that makes sense.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2014 8:19 PM Title: Nyota (5)

I could never quite understand why AOS Kirk is such a dickhead, but this was an incredible chapter, and McCoy gave him the tongue-lashing he deserved. Great emotional dynamics with both Uhura and McCoy.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2014 4:30 PM Title: Spock (8)

Achingly beautiful.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2014 4:26 PM Title: Bones (9)

Powerful flashback and powerful next stage of the story. The lines you give McCoy are the best.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2014 4:19 PM Title: Nyota (4)

The truth-telling in this story is remarkable. I like the short, spare way you reveal these deep truths about the characters without being wordy or excessive, as it would be so easy to do. And I'm glad to see the explanation for how Kirk stayed "alive" until he could be regenerated. If there's a better way to make sense of how Kirk came back from the dead, I don't know what it would be.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2014 4:11 PM Title: Jim (9)

Amazing, the way you show Kirk growing, settling, perhaps discovering what is really important. Superb wriitng.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/14/2014 3:12 AM Title: Bones (8)

OMG. You certainly know how to build the drama.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2014 8:43 PM Title: Bones (7)

So this was Uhura's news. Wondering why Bones' heart "sank even more" when he saw the results of the DNA analysis. Why would there be DNA analysis, anyway? More mystery ,,,

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2014 8:37 PM Title: Spock (6)

I sense that this is the core chapter, the hinge on which this story turns. Spock is being powerfully honest; good for him.

I am sorry that I'm just catching up on this story, reading and reviewing, instead of when it was first posted.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2014 4:20 AM Title: Nyota (3)

You know, Spock can be a real PITA sometimes with his Vulcan schtick. but I love, love, love his honesty with Uhura in this chapter.

And the Obstetrics floor -- is this about the "news" Uhura was practicing how to tell Spock, some chapters ago?

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2014 4:04 AM Title: Bones (5)

The medical detail in this story is wonderful, but I'm wondering, where are all the specialists? Is Dr. Boyce a neurologist? I would think that every discipline at Starfleet Medical would be in to check out Kirk from its point of view. given how unusual is the experiencing of recovering from death.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2014 12:59 AM Title: Nyota (2)

Your Uhura is a very perceptive woman. And I agree about her badassery.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2014 12:50 AM Title: Spock (3)

Impressive writing -- the way you show-not-tell the strength of Spock's feelings for Kirk and how, watching his girlfriend lying in bed with Kirk with her hands on his body, all he can think about is Kirk.

I like this Spock's "voice" better than the loquacious, overly explicated prose of he earlier chapter. Of course, the latter IS Spock's voice in the Abramsverse.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2014 12:45 AM Title: Spock (2)

I like the way you show Spock having a certain amount of success in meditating, but apparently unable to get to the very bottom of what he is feeling and experience. Excellent writing.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2014 12:39 AM Title: Nyota

Wondering what Uhura's "news" is, and why she doesn't say ... I have a feeling we will have to suffer in suspense.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2014 12:36 AM Title: Bones (2)

Much more realistic than the movie, and MUCH more satisfying, too.

You must login (register) to review.