Reviews For Reminiscence
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: DeeGilles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/25/2015 10:59 PM Title: Complete Story

I remember reading this back in the 90s but couldn't remember who wrote it or what the title was.  I just know that the bitter sweetness of the story has stayed with me for nearly 20 years.  I'm so glad I came across this story again.  Along with Killa's Turning Point/Full Circle, this story came to be the gold standard by which all other stories were to be judged throughout all my years of enjoying fanfiction.  It simply does not get any better.  The writing is sensual and powerful and vivid.  Like Jim it brings me  pain to think of all the years that they missed being together, but I am so happy they finally got together, here, at last. Brava, brava, brava! 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much. This story has always been special to me because writing it was very much a stream-of-consciousness experience. Bittersweet is exactly what I was aiming for, so it's wonderful to know that it moved you in that way. And I consider being mentioned in the same sentence as Killa a great compliment indeed!

Reviewer: ironland Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/26/2014 3:37 PM Title: Complete Story

@ M E Carton:

The quote from The Heart by Stephen Crane. 

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2014 12:02 AM Title: Complete Story

This is a very special and wonderful story, and it seems pretty believable. Great job, or an unbelievable job.

I am so sorry for Kirk, what is he in the story, a Vulcan concubine? Kaiidth, we can not get everything we want.

 

 

“Is it good, friend?”

“It is bitter—bitter,” he answered;

“But I like it
“Because it is bitter,
“And because it is my heart.”

 

shamlessly beg more. 

 



Author's Response:

Thanks very much. Yes, this story definitely is about coming to terms with an imperfect situation and about cherishing what is, in spite of what might have been.

I love the quote - very appropriate! It seems familiar, though I can't quite place it. What's it from?

Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Logic_and_Reason Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2014 9:41 PM Title: Complete Story

I really enjoyed this. The first person POV is quite different from what I usually see. There's something else about this that's different and intriguing, something which I can't describe - perhaps it's gentler, more subtle than the typical fic? I don't know. But it's there and it's nice, to say the least. Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your comments. I really enjoyed writing in first person on this one, so it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the results!

Reviewer: DivaPammy Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/21/2014 12:00 AM Title: Complete Story

I loved this. I had no clue how you were going to bring them together. I must say that you did it perfectly. 

This was an amazingly good story. Thank you for sharing it !!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I appreciate your lovely comments.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2014 11:43 PM Title: Complete Story

So glad you posted this here, because I missed when it appeared in T'hyla years ago. I love this Kirk -- he may be a man of action, but he is also deeply thoughtful  and someone who seeks meaning and connecting with others above all else in life, even command. I appreciated the scope and dimension of this story, encompassing so many years of the two men's relationship.



Author's Response:

Glad that you caught the story here, and also that Kirk's characterization worked for you. I enjoyed exploring a deeper side of his personality, which I've always thought was essential to his connection with Spock. Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2014 10:51 AM Title: Complete Story

Wow, this story is all kinds of wonderful! Thank you so much for posting it here! I  loved that moment, when everything changed - that was masterly written. The whole peaceful normality suddenly pierced by the light of recognition, turned upside down by love and passion and fullfillment of all the things that for years had been lying hidden. Great writing!



Author's Response:

Thanks very much! That moment of epiphany was an incredible pleasure to write, so it's wonderful to hear that it came across as you describe it.

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2014 12:44 AM Title: Complete Story

I so enjoyed this that I know it sounds like a broken record, but sequel, please?  I mean surely you can't stop here when the thing with T'Manda is begging for a resolution?  Jim could be the Band-Aid between father and daughter because what female can ignore Jim's charm when he really lays it on?  Loved it and thank you so much for sharing! 



Author's Response:

It's my pleasure to share, and thanks for reading. I must say that a sequel had never occurred to me because the bittersweet nature of the story was by design...but Jim charming T'Manda certainly is a fascinating idea!

Reviewer: ShayAlyce Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2014 11:42 AM Title: Complete Story

Absolutely lovely and totally believable. I prefer this vision of their future to anyone else's. Of course it's not perfect, but nobody's life is, so I like that, too. It makes it more realistic.



Author's Response:

Wow, thanks! Great to hear that you found this scenario believable. I also treasure realism in stories, even when the price is some pain mixed with the pleasure.

Reviewer: WendyPlains Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2014 11:02 AM Title: Complete Story

What a lovely story, it rings true as a bell.  You are a very good writer. You should post more stories off you have them - I'll read every single one.

 

 



Author's Response:

I consider "ringing true" a great compliment, so thanks very much! I do have several other stories posted on the archive; hope you enjoy them as well.

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2014 5:27 AM Title: Complete Story

I love both the sadness of wasted years, and the great joy that they may know each other. Lovely.



Author's Response:

Such mixed feelings are exactly what I was aiming for. Thanks!

Reviewer: mila Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2014 3:05 AM Title: Complete Story

Incredible story. The "lost years" are bittersweet and it's hard to imagine how they would not have known/felt what they were to each other but timing is everything.  Perhaps they needed that time to grow and mature to deserve one another.  I'll be thinking about this story often in the weeks to come.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much. Bittersweet describes it perfectly. While I certainly believe they might get together much earlier in their lives, the angst potential of this particular scenario was delicious to explore!

Reviewer: bellavoyager Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2014 2:08 AM Title: Complete Story

Enjoyed this. Quite a different take on how they get together. The fact that Spock has a bondmate for that "special time" only was very interesting.



Author's Response:

It was one of those ideas that just came out of nowhere, and was fun to explore. Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: Naughtytrekker Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2014 12:47 AM Title: Complete Story

Love this - perfect TOS Kirk!



Author's Response:

Thanks! Getting Kirk's voice right can be a challenge, so I'm pleased to know that this worked for you.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2014 12:37 AM Title: Complete Story

That was wonderful! 

 



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed. Thanks for reading!

You must login (register) to review.