Reviews For Broken Images
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/21/2014 3:13 PM Title: Chapter 15

this is really a great story.
I'm happy that you published it here.

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/20/2014 7:01 PM Title: Prologue

Please continue.
I'm really hugged and can't wait for more...

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/09/2014 3:57 PM Title: Chapter 11

I'm further hugged.

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/05/2014 6:42 PM Title: Prologue

One thing I love about this story is how creepy the alternate McCoy is - his loyalty to Spock at all costs, even if that means sacrificing Kirk, and his ostensible concern for Kirk which is still subsumed by that overriding allegiance to Spock. 

It's also so interesting how subtly she addresses Spock's response to that - what does Spock think about McCoy's actions, especially in relation to whatever love he has for Kirk? For instance, he justifies McCoy's actions in a way that makes me think he might be in denial about how serious they were:

 

Spock drew back and spoke aloud. “Neuraline, in the form McCoy gave you, is simply an aphrodisiac, used to treat sexual dysfunction in Humans. It heightens desire, nothing more.”

Kirk looked at him sharply. “That’s not quite what McCoy told me.”

“He was less than candid with both of us at the time.” Spock smiled slightly. Kirk looked down, studying his finger as it traced an intricately woven design on one of the cushions. “Did you not wake me up, sensing my need through the bond, even while you slept, before I was aware of it?”

That need drove Spock now, heightened by the deep meld, but he tried not to let his bondmate share it. He kept his voice deliberately level. “After talking with McCoy, I am convinced that he did not force you to come to me. The drug perhaps allowed you to respond to me, keeping any fear you had at bay so that you did not reject consummation.”

Kirk looked up at him. “I wouldn’t have run out on you, at least I don’t think I would have.” (my emphasis)

 

It's not quite clear where Spock's priorities lie - his own need for self-preservation vs. his motivation to protect Kirk. And maybe that desire to protect Kirk stems from his guilt over what he has ultimately done. 

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/05/2014 7:08 AM Title: Chapter 7

I think this is one of the most beautiful and erotic bonding/pon farr scenes I've read.

Reviewer: skaylin Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2014 10:59 AM Title: Prologue

A wonderfully written story, thanks for posting it! Also, quite frustrating to know that this story is completed and exists somewhere in its entirety, but not be able for now to read it further.We now perceive some motives and tropes as cliched, and I love the careful, gentle and profound approach which can sometimes be found in old fanfiction. The author seems to write as if stepping with awe on some unexplored and exciting land, and the reader gets to feel a part of it.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2014 1:50 AM Title: Chapter 6

An interesting narrative choice, to begin this chapter, more or less without expanation that a significant period of time had passed, reveal first that Kirk had rejected Spock, and then eventually s how how it happened. I am not sure that it totally worked, but I found this very skilled writing, and appreciated the fact that in the end the conflict between them was shown vividly. 

murt, I will be interested to see my own reaction to the rape or rapes when I come to that part. 

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/02/2014 8:58 PM Title: Chapter 6

It's so thrilling.

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2014 5:41 PM Title: Prologue

Dunyazad, very true.... I was thinking the same thing. I was also thinking about the way rape is dealt with in this story - from the perspective of 2014, I find it problematic. 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2014 2:17 AM Title: Chapter 5

It is fascinating to read (or re-read) this story from the vantage point of 30+ years later and see how fandom's expectations about the characters and their society have changed. In 1983, K/S fans had to work against the pervasive counter-argument, "but they're not gay." Now, it's pretty much a given that the guys are bisexual or primarily gay and that 23d century Federation society has at the very least given them permission to express their sexuality, and indeed, actively encourages it. Of course, our own society has evolved to the point that marraoge equality is the law in most of the United States. 

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2014 5:31 PM Title: Prologue

Poor Jim,he is so brave and noble.

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2014 9:19 PM Title: Chapter 3

Oh my.
This story is so great, so well written. Wow.

Reviewer: HaveYouHeard Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2014 6:28 PM Title: Chapter 3

this story is amazing so far! 

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2014 7:02 PM Title: Prologue

Thank you very much for the posting. Can not waiting more. 

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2014 2:09 AM Title: Prologue

Glad to see this posted! One thing though, is that there is explicit rape in this story, arguably on more than one occasion. The way the rape is dealt with - ie., its aftermath - is also very problematic by present day standards.

I'm putting that out there as a trigger warning - I'd say the story is still very much worth reading, but I'm sure that many people - myself included - will find a good part of this story quite disturbing. 


Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2014 8:43 PM Title: Chapter 1

I'm hugged and waiting for more. ;-)
Poor Jim. No way out.
But also for the other Jim.
I'm eager to see, if we hear from the other universe too.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2014 4:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

I read this when Aconitum Napellus scanned it in and posted it, and I loved it.  I dislike most AU stories, but I found this one extemely interesting.

 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2014 2:02 AM Title: Prologue

Beverly Sutherland was a great writer and a wonderful person. Her death is a great loss to her many friends and to our fandom. I am so glad this novel is being posted here for a new generation to read.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2014 1:52 AM Title: Prologue

Very intense beginning. Looking forward to more.

You must login (register) to review.