Reviews For Episode Epilogues
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: spock2U Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2016 9:32 PM Title: Chapter 5: "The Man Trap"

hon, i'm the clown-prince of the archives who thinks about all things K/S TOS related far too seriously/deeply and believes everything in the subtext is far more interesting than what slides about all over the surface :)

star trek tos is an iceburg. 90% of it goes on subtexturally. and "the man trap" is very much about sex and sexuality - imo :D.  it's one of the most seminal episodes of the first series. certainly one that hints at an awful lot of 'things that couldn't be broadcast on tv in the 60s' - or even talked about in polite society. ah the intricacies of the relationship between spock, mccoy and jim. i do so love it!

you know 'subtext' is an anagram of 'buttsex', right? ;)

carry on camping.
xoxo

Reviewer: spock2U Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2016 5:14 PM Title: Chapter 5: "The Man Trap"

Interesting can of worms you've opened up here, namely:
"How do we feel about inter-species intercourse and where do we think the line should be drawn?"

In the additional scene you've created for us in Chapter 5, Bones is reacting to the salt creature's basic lack of humanoid features with a big fat 'ew' - which puts Bones firmly in the 'definitely prefers his physical intimacy with humanoids, thank you very much' camp. Whereas you seem to have Spock and Kirk ready to pitch a tent at anything sentient without regard for its physical form? (Putting them firmly in the Loki, 'is that a sexy intelligent  horse i see there? come to daddy!" camp.)

The logical corrollary being that it's intelligence and consent that differentiates boldly going where no man has gone before from bestiality?

Fascinating.

Infinite Diversity in Infinite Combinations, indeed :)



Author's Response:

*laugh*  You're reading WAY more into this than I intended; Kirk is talking about FRIENDSHIP, not about sex.  Nancy was married to Robert Crater, so McCoy wasn't planning to have sex with her, since he believed her to be married to someone else.


Kirk isn't saying that McCoy needs to get into bed with non-humanoids; he's saying that McCoy does need to be able to shake hands with them (or do whatever physical greeting is common among strangers or friendly acquaintances in that culture).  McCoy said that he didn't want the salt vampire's HANDS to touch him; intercourse was not mentioned in the story and wasn't anywhere in the author's mind.

I don't know if you meant your comment seriously or if it was intended to be humorous.  It was a lot of fun to read, assuming you meant it humorously.  But just in case you meant it seriously, I thought I'd better set the record straight. :-)

 

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/23/2015 12:19 AM Title: Chapter 5: "The Man Trap"

I'm kind of blown away by your trivia notes. As for #2, I grew up on the Trek trade paperbacks and this is how McCoy is usually characterized, so it needed no explanation to me. 

Anyway, as for the story, when he's talking about how 'this is our job' just have to say I really love this side of Kirk.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you're enjoying the notes.  Have you read Marc Cushman's These Are the Voyages?  He has a chapter for every episode, and the sheer quantity of information is riveting ... at least, it is for those of us who take our Star Trek a leetle too seriously. :-)

I'm only just starting to work my way through the TOS novels, thanks to a gift from my husband -- a rather large box, containing a truly ridiculous number of TOS novels.  I'm finding some of the novels quite fine and others of them horribly out of character, so they're a mixed bag.  But then, it's been 46 years since I first saw TOS, and my opinions of the characters have had ample time to settle and to base themselves entirely on the episodes, before being exposed to the novels. :-)

I'm glad you like Kirk here!  I quite liked him, myself.  I knew what I intended him to say but not exactly how he would say it, and the man who told everyone that "Risk is our business" that "We aren't going to kill TODAY" and "Leave any bigotry in your quarters; there's no room for it on the bridge" didn't let me down.

I've always liked Kirk, but Spock has always been my favorite character.  I'm finding that writing these epilogues is making me appreciate Kirk even more than I already did, which surprises me.  Who knew that I could find even MORE affection for a character I've known for 46 years?  Writing is such a strange activity. :-)

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review; I really appreciate that.  Thanks extra for commenting on the actual story; most people seem to like only the notes...

 

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/03/2015 3:10 AM Title: Chapter 5: "The Man Trap"

You just might be a contender for the title of my new best friend.



Author's Response:

*smile*  I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2015 4:44 AM Title: Chapter 5: "The Man Trap"

Wow!!! Thanks so much for your hard work with each episode. Such interesting background information. I had no idea it was Nichelle singing. I assumed it was Nancy Crater. 

But, getting back to the episode in question. I really enjoyed how we see McCoy's disgust of the creature. How could anyone love that? It did love McCoy. He seems to deal better with the creature in a professional manner. If it was hurt, he would do anything to help it. 

Seriously, I thought I knew everything about Star Trek's behind the scenes. I knew about the salt shakers, but you managed to share other things that I didn't know. Thanks so much for that. 

Looking forward to more...



Author's Response:

Thanks for leaving a review, dear Dahliaxat; I appreciate it in general and appreciate it all the more when I'm covering an episode that most people aren't that excited about.

Yeah, McCoy is a skeptical and cautious soul, and rushing out to love weird creatures is not his style.  And yet his soft heart -- so well hidden much of the time -- comes out whenever anyone is injured.  Although we love Kirk and Spock best, we can't do without McCoy; he provides some needed balance.

DeForest Kelley said in some interviews that although everyone admired Kirk and Spock, HE was the one the audience could actually relate to, because he was much more like ordinary 20th-century people than either Kirk or Spock were. So he kinda saw it as his job to be a relatively normal guy, as opposed to the capital-"H" HEROES that the two leads were. 

I love watching them make up an entire fictional universe as they go along, and I love seeing how many people contributed their ideas and creativity.  Spock's green blood was invented by Marc Daniels and wasn't decided upon until this episode -- who knew, right?  While Roddenberry is justly celebrated, he had a LOT of help, and Star Trek wouldn't be what it is today without Gene Coon and Bob Justman and Dorothy Fontana and Leonard Nimoy and Marc Daniels and SO many other people.  It takes a village to make a Star Trek! :-)

 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2015 8:05 PM Title: Chapter 5: "The Man Trap"

I like it a lot, as always, my favourite part is the background information, so exhaustive and revealing.

I love Bones' selfanalysis - for me he always was a doctor - stop. As a kid I didn't even gather that he is an officer as well!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for leaving a review; I appreciate your generosity in always letting me know when you've read something and how you liked it!

I think my favorite McCoy-as-officer moment comes in "Obsession," when Kirk is acting strangely, and McCoy questions him on it as a friend.  When Kirk brushes him off, then McCoy questions him by the book, as CMO, with Spock's back-up.  I get the sense that he'd rather not have to act as an officer, but he can and will if he really has to.

The TOS Writer's Guide says, "Of all the men aboard our starship, McCoy is the least military."  Oh, yeah, they conveyed THAT all right! :-)  But "least" isn't the same as "not at all," and I enjoy those occasional moments when McCoy shows us that he is both a doctor AND a Starfleet officer.

 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/24/2015 5:56 AM Title: Chapter 1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

I enjoyed this immensely. You have such a knack for dialogue. It is so realistic. I could actually see them all drinking tea. Another thing I liked is how we get to see more through your eyes. How does Jim feel after what happened? Bones is pretty surprised that Spock gets Jim more than he does. How can someone who doesn't seem to understand human emotions, understands what Jim is going through. Meditation was a great idea on Spock's part.

Love the notes as well. We get to know how things were back in the day. I agree that things have changed. I wasn't old enough to see Star Trek in its original run. Many may laugh that it looks outdated. But, the show got away with many things, when hidden in a sci-fi format. 

Thank you for doing all this research. It couldn't have been easy. 



Author's Response:

Hi, Dahliaxat.  Thanks for leaving a review; your reviews are always such a pleasure to read!

I'm SO glad you like my dialogue!  I love these guys -- I guess you can tell :-) -- and I want to do them justice.

Yes, McCoy is surprised that Spock understands something about Kirk's feelings that he doesn't.  But there are a lot of reasons why I had Spock do that.  Some of them I think are canon, some of them I think are logical deductions from canon, and some I admit freely are simply headcanon.  So let me explain. :-) 

There's a difference between FEELING emotions and UNDERSTANDING emotions.  Spock claims (publicly, at least) to feel no emotions, though we all know he's lying about that. :-)  In episode you're responding to (which I think is "The Enemy Within," even though the label on your review says otherwise), Spock has no trouble labelling the emotions that Kirk's feeling.  He says, "We have here an unusual opportunity to appraise the human mind, or to examine, in Earth terms, the roles of good and evil in a man. His negative side, which you call hostility, lust, violence, and his positive side, which Earth people express as compassion, love, tenderness."  So Spock has no trouble IDENTIFYING such things as hostility, lust, compassion, and tenderness.  He'd claim not to be able to feel them, but he can recognize and understand them with no problem, even in canon.

Also, Kirk, Spock, and McCoy are all crammed together into the office section of Kirk's quarters, which is not a large room, and Kirk is having some pretty strong feelings.  I figure that Kirk is probably projecting pretty loudly at this point, and Spock is a telepath.  So although I think Spock could probably recognize what was happening with Kirk from the outside, I think he also may have had a few flashes from the inside, as well.

And let's think about Spock growing up for a minute.  He grew up with a human mother and a scientific mindset.  On Vulcan, his mother's emotions would have been strange and different, and we know that Spock has boundless curiosity about anything strange and different. :-)  And here are these strangely different emotions, right here in his own house!  I think that young Spock would have observed his mother closely, trying to figure out what all this emotion jazz was, and of course, Amanda would have been perfectly willing to explain it all to him, to answer questions about it.  So I think growing up with Spock's wonderful mind and a human mother -- an emotion demonstration model, as it were -- Spock would have learned plenty about emotions.  This is the part that I think is a valid deduction from canon. :-)

And how does Spock control his emotions?  We're never given any information about HOW that happens.  I suspect that Spock has to learn how to identify his own emotions in order to be able to control them.  I think, in fact, that Spock has to be BETTER at identifying emotions than most humans are, in order to be able to catch them in time to prevent their expression.  Of course, I'm a licensed clinical psychologist in real life, so of course I WOULD think that. :-)  This is the part that's head canon.

And although Kirk and McCoy don't yet know about pon farr, and Spock doesn't yet know that HE will go through pon farr -- he's still hoping that his human blood will spare him that, at this point in the series -- Spock still knows that pon farr exsits and what it's like.  So that savagery that must be controlled with an extra-thick layer of civilization (that he talks about in this chapter) -- part of that is Vulcan emotions, but part of it is pon farr.  Not that pon farr can be controlled forever, of course, but Vulcans have to be able to control it for long enough to get to a private place with their mate and not go rampaging in public.  Even though Spock doesn't mention pon farr when he talks to Kirk in this chapter, his mentioning that Vulcans sometimes NEED an extra-strong influence of civilization to control savage impulses is a big deal for Spock -- he's giving Kirk a very large gift here, to help him feel better about his own savagery.  And Kirk's savvy enough to recognize that. 

The research about Star Trek is no trouble, because I've been obsessively reading behind-the-scenes stuff about it anyway. :-)  The stuff about what TV sets were like in 1966, I did do some research on that to confirm my memories.  But it turns out that someone has preserved the brochures that advertised TV sets in 1966 and posted them online.  It's truly amazing what you can find online if you look. :-)

Thanks again for your review; I'm really glad that you enjoyed this chapter! 

My husband and I will be out of town for a few days, so I won't get to "The Man Trap" right away, but I hope to have it ready about a week from now.

 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/19/2015 3:50 PM Title: "The Enemy Within"

I enjoy this so very much, actually I enjoy  the notes as much as the epilogues themselves. They are methodical and enlightening and feel like an expression of your deep love for TOS as well as of your thorough knowledge about it. Thank you so much for sharing both with us!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review; I really appreciate it!

Yes, I do love TOS to an almost ridiculous degree.  Luckily, I have excellent company, since there are lots of other people who also adore those 79 episodes. :-)

So, which episode is your favorite, of them all?  I'm especially fond of "Amok Time," "Journey to Babel," , and "The Devil in theh Dark."  I can't WAIT until we get to JTB, since I have an idea for a missing scene for that episode that I think will be really cool!  Unfortunately, it's a looooong time until then.  Oh, well, off to re-watch "The Man Trap." :-)

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/18/2015 7:44 PM Title: "The Enemy Within"

Enjoyable approach I like your way of weaving a story around the idea of how the trio cope with the fall out after the mission was over. Also liked your plea not to look through retrospectascope at episodes. WitnESS two young princesses who were splashed over the front of a UK newspaper today demonstrating. Natzi salutes. considering that Nimoy was a major force in supporting GLW after the real world rape this libe seems all the more bizarre. I wonder whether this was the point where Nimoy started to think about what was OOC a concept which was novel in the eRA of being tied to a studio and having to do as you were told with little editorial control. 



Author's Response:

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter!

Marc Cushman says that Leonard Nimoy began sending memos on the scripts with this episode, and as you noted, this was decidedly NOT common practice in that era.  Cushman doesn't quote the entire memo, so we don't know whether Mr. Nimoy objected to his line to Rand.  The part Cushman quotes is where Mr. Nimoy is objecting to Spock's and McCoy's squabbling.  He says (quoted by Cushman in These Are the Voyages, Volume 1. p. 152), "Also, it comes at a time when the Captain is in trouble, and the bickering in scenes 18 and 19 reduces two military men to a pair of children arguing over who should do the errand for mommy."  (I love Nimoy's phrasing there.)

One of the things older people have to offer is an eyewitness account of the history they've lived through.  I remember 1966, which a lot of TOS fans don't, so I try to add the perspective of how things were at the time.  Things have changed SO much in those forty-nine years.  Once we actually DO get to the 23rd century, it'll almost certainly be far more different from our time than we can imagine right now.  I wish I could see it...

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2015 3:04 AM Title: Chapter 3: "Mudd's Women"

Nice work, I love your dedication that doesn't back down even if an episode is frankly a bit, well, like that. If you found few things to work on you used them well. And your remarks on character formation and world building are really enlightening.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  I'm really glad that you're enjoying the epilogues.  Thanks for taking the time to leave a review; it means a lot to me.

Bob Justman (one of Star Trek's producers and an absolutely indispensible member of the behind-the-scenes team) famously said of the TOS episodes, "I love them all ... but I don't love them all equally."  That's pretty much how I feel about them.  Even the episode that I think is the all-time worst TOS episode -- "And the Children Shall Lead" -- has moments that I wouldn't be without.

To me, part of the charm of TOS is watching them build the world and the characters before our very eyes.  The behind-the-scenes books and articles I've read all agree that they were making these episodes as fast as they could, and everyone was working insanely hard.  The amazing thing is how good TOS turned out to be and how well they managed to make it all hang together.  Most modern TV shows have much bigger writing teams, much larger budgets, and much longer production schedules than TOS had.  To turn out such quality on a six-day filming schedule, to get such performances when they were usually only allowed one or two takes ... it's just amazing what they managed to accomplish.

One time when a network guy was trying to get them to cut corners and do things faster, he exasperately said to Bob Justman, "You guys act like that ship is really up there."  Justman reportedly looked the man right in the eye and said, "It IS!"  That attitude -- that the ship was really up there -- is a big part of how and why TOS became so compelling.

So I adore TOS and am in awe of what they managed to accomplish while making it, and that love and those thoughts tend to overflow into the epilogues.  I'm glad at least one person is enjoying all the behind-the-scenes stuff that I'm cramming into the insanely long author's notes. :-)

I used to be a professor, back before I retrained as a clinincal psychologist, and my husband teases me that I'm now a professor of Star Trek.  You can take the WeirdLittleStories out of the classroom, but you can't take the classroom out of the WeirdLittleStories. ;-)

Sorry.  I tend to run off at the mouth when given the chance to talk about Star Trek.  I'll shut up now. :-)

 

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2015 2:51 AM Title: Chapter 3: "Mudd's Women"

Nimoy explained in I Am Spock that if you watch the earliest episodes Spock smiles a lot. He hadn't fully formed Spocks personality yet and he was still working on him.

I'll get back to the point. I think this piece is going to be one of my favorites. I'll definitely be back for more of this. PS if you write a continuation of Shore Leave youre my new favorite author, if you write a continuation of Amok Time you're my new best friend!

 

 



Author's Response:

Yes, I've read both of Mr. Nimoy's autobiographies ... several times, in fact; see my response to Soral for more on that.  It's why I say, in the "Character Moments" part of the episode summary, "Spock has a sassy, snarky aura during this episode; he's not yet the perfectly cool Vulcan that we'll see later in this season.  Leonard Nimoy is still figuring out how to play a character that pretends to have no emotions, and he hasn't yet refined Spock down to the minimalist creature he will become.  (This is one of the reasons why I strongly recommend watching the episodes in production order, since watching Nimoy figure out how to play such an unusual character is part of the charm of the first season of TOS.)"

I'm so glad you've liked the epilogues so far!  That makes me very happy.  I already know what I'll be doing for "Shore Leave," but since it's the 17th episode, it'll be awhile before we get there.  I don't know if you'll like it, because what I have in mind will not be a light-hearted romp like the episode was; I plan on going to a somewhat darker place.  I have a tendency to take my Star Trek far too seriously. :-) 

"Amok Time" is my favorite episode, and I'll try hard to do it justice but will probably fail, because I can't even DREAM of being able to equal Theodore Sturgeon.  A lot of people write post-"Amok Time" stories where Spock feels terribly guilty and Kirk has to calm him down, but I won't be going there. 

By the time of "Amok Time," they've already seen Gary Mitchell become crazy after hitting the barrier at the edge of the galaxy, they've seen most of the male crewmembers be distracted by the effects of the Venus drug, Kirk has been split into halves and done things the whole man wouldn't do, the Psi 2000 virus has made half the crew wacko, the entire crew mutinied under the influence of the spores on Omicron Ceti III, and Spock tried to take over the ship when hit with blinding pain by the parasites on Deneva.  I figure by this point, they'll have had vast experience with people doing crazy or terrible things while not themselves, and they'll have settled on a policy of not holding people responsible for things they've done while not themselves.  So I figure they'll meet, Spock will apologize, Kirk will say, "Yeah, this falls under the not-oneself policy," and they'll move on to other things.  I don't know what I'm doing for "Amok Time" yet, but it won't be the usual. :-)

So, if you like both "Shore Leave" and "Amok Time," does that mean you're a Theodore Sturgeon fan?  He's written some absolutely gorgeous short stories; some of them may well be the Platonic ideal of the short story.  "Slow Sculpture" is incredible.  And the underlying message in "The Skills of Xanadu" is chilling, for all that the story itself is sweet and fun.  How he managed to turn out such perfect little gems ... he was a truly amazing writer.  (If all you know of him is his Star Trek episodes, I encourage you to read some of his short stories; the volume Selected Stories contains a dozen of his very best.)

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and I hope that I can continue to please you!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2015 9:32 PM Title: Chapter 3: "Mudd's Women"

I live your take on this it was much better than picking the more obvious oddities of this episode. Though I've always wondered what was going on on set. Was it just Nimoy getting used to who Spock was or was  there a lot of joking going on and not enough time for straight faced retakes of scenes. There are so many points Nimoy looks like he is trying to stop himself from laughing. 

 

 



Author's Response:

*smile*  Thanks!  Yeah, mail order brides on drugs ... just say no. :-)


Have you read Marc Cushman's These Are The Voyages?  He interviews almost every guest star that TOS ever had, and they all report that Leonard Nimoy stayed in character between takes.  Some of the guest stars understood what he was doing and respected him for it; others didn't understand what was going on.  Robert Brown (who played Lazarus in "The Alternative Factor"), for example, referred to Mr. Nimoy as "the morose man with the ears."  Didn't get it. :-) 

George Takei talks about the way Mr. Nimoy stayed in character between takes in his autobiography, and Nichelle Nichols has given interviews where she says that she sometimes tried to crack Nimoy up, and it didn't usually work; she said something like, "That bloody Vulcan; you could never make him laugh!"

If you haven't yet, you might enjoy reading Mr. Nimoy's autobiographies.  Both 1975's I Am Not Spock and 1995's I Am Spock are worth reading, though if you only have the time for one of them, the later book includes a lot of material from the earlier one.  In his autobiographies, Mr. Nimoy says that finding the character of Spock took him awhile, and there were several different things that enabled him to gradually get a handle on what a Vulcan should be like.  He talks about regretting the fact that he allowed Spock to smirk as late (in production order) as "Charlie X," but a character like this had never really been done before, and even so intelligent and able an actor as Mr. Nimoy took awhile to figure out how to do it.  Of course, he did figure it out eventually; his ability to show us -- for example -- that Spock's heart is breaking while still looking almost completely Vulcan was breathtaking. 

One of the interesting features of Leonard Nimoy's autobiographies is that he talks about just how much it cost him to stay in character as Spock for twelve hours a day.  His acting technique required that he BE the character while portraying him, and since they filmed from 8 a.m. until 6 or 7 or 8 p.m., and since Nimoy got into character while his make-up was being applied, it meant that he was in character nearly every hour that he was awake, during the work week.  Most actors are highly emotional people, and putting himself into a Spock frame of mind for most of his waking life while the series was being filmed ... it was a strain.

It's a pity that Gene Roddenberry never really understood or appreciated just what an astonishing performance Leonard Nimoy was giving; Roddenberry loved Shatner's much showier work and discounted what Nimoy was doing.  Oh, well.  He gave us Star Trek, so we can forgive him for being human and making mistakes. :-)

Oh, dear.  I have rambled on, haven't I?  I used to be a professor, and sometimes it shows ... scratch a professor, get a lecture! :-) 

 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/27/2015 6:54 AM Title: Chapter 2: The Corbomite Maneuver

This concept is great! I'm looking forward to the hopefully numerous episodes you will be integrating with your epilogues. I like your style, the depth and caring the two men have in your writing. Can't wait to read more.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  I'm happy that you're enjoying the epilogues so far.  I feel like the depth and caring is in the characters, so I can't take any credit for it, but I'm glad to hear that it's coming through. ;-)

 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/25/2015 3:12 PM Title: Chapter 1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

When I saw your first chapter posted, I wasn't convinced that anyone could do anything with the episodes, but when the second was posted i was intrigued.  Surprise!  You have found a different approach, and your characterizations are spot on.  I am looking forward to future chapters and have a big smile on my face since I know that means 77 more of these gems.



Author's Response:

Oh, wow.  Thanks so much for your wonderful review!  You've made my day.

Keeping Kirk and Spock in character is hugely important to me, so I'm thrilled that you think I've done so.  I was afraid that people would think Spock was out of character because he shared so many personal things in this chapter.  But he did think they were all about to die, and that does often cause people to re-evaluate they way they're living their lives...

I'm not really looking for a different approach; I just have a strange mind. :-)  I noticed that my take on things often differs from other people's and thought that meant that perhaps my epilogues wouldn't be superfluous, even though this sort of thing has been done before.

 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/25/2015 4:21 AM Title: Chapter 1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

What a delight to read. I can't say enough how you just ace their voices. It felt so real that I could see them together. having that meeting. What a great idea getting Jim to identify Spock's statements if they were true or false. 

What a complete fail on Jim's part. Since you did mention that they might be on the ship now for a year, I would have thought that Spock had told Jim more personal things about himself, but it seems that was not the case.

The fact that he is doing so now, shows the trust and friendship he is feeling for his captain.

I was a bit surprised that Spock admitted that sometimes he wished he were human. But, I did love his response that he gave to Jim. He always has to be the stoic Vulcan...always watching himself so that he doesn't slip. Imagine being human and not having to worry about making mistakes. Spock puts himself on such a high pedestal that he dare not fall off. Always trying to keep himself in check. If he were human, he's entitled to fall once and awhile. We do have that famous saying:  We're only Human...

Love your writing. Can't wait for chapter three.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, Dahliaxat, I'm so glad you liked this chapter, and you know how thrilled I always am when people think I've gotten their voices right.

In Jim's defense, he DID think that the second statement should be false and only guessed it as true because he knew that at least one of the statements had to be true.  So he actually did know one thing, the one most closely connected to their daily lives on the ship. :-)

As for Spock's telling Jim personal things, in the TOS episodes we see, Jim doesn't learn about Spock's estrangement from his father until "Journey to Babel," which was the 10th episode (in broadcast order) or the 15th episode (in production order) out of 26 in the SECOND season.  That means that Kirk doesn't learn all of this until one and one-third years (by the earlier, broadcast order) into the series.  Even assuming as I do that the first year of the mission happens off-screen, and the first year of the series is the second year of the mission, this is only the second episode of that year -- 2/29ths of the way through that year.  So Spock is still telling Kirk about his estrangement from his father earlier in my little series than he did in TOS.

And it was being sure that they were all about to die in this episode that made Spock open up; at least, that's how I'm making it all make sense to myself. :-)

Yes, I knew it would be a bit controversial to suggest that Spock sometimes wishes he were human. :-)  But remember, he did say that the moments of wishing that were "both few and fleeting," and he also said that he wishes this at times when his energy is unusually low, which I took to mean when he's sick or injured or has been working nonstop without sleeping for weeks because of some crisis. 

So think, for example, about the events of the episode "The Apple."  First Spock takes a chest full of poison darts (darts deadly enough to have killed Hendorf).  Then he gets knocked on his ass by a force field.  Finally, he gets struck by lightning, and McCoy says he has second-degree burns (which are quite painful, if you've ever had second-degree burns).  Spock gives a single cry when the lightning strikes him, but once the surprise of being struck is over, he makes no sound of pain.  This has been a horrible day for Spock; this is the third time he's been injured.  You don't think he wishes -- for just one fleeting second -- that he could show how much pain he's in or that he could rest for awhile?  But that isn't the Vulcan way, so he sucks it up and goes on.  And yeah, Spock's awesome and all, and we admire how brave and strong he is.  But I can't escape the notion that he might have wished -- for just one second -- that he didn't always have to suck it up and go on.  Of course, you can feel free to disagree -- this is just my head canon, because I think about TOS in general and Spock in particular way more than is strictly sane. :-)

Thanks for your review!  I'm off to watch "Mudd's Women," so I can write the next chapter. ;-)

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2015 10:21 PM Title: Chapter 2: The Corbomite Maneuver

I am loving this treatment and I very much like your characterisations in this ficxercise!



Author's Response:

Thanks!  I'm really glad you enjoyed the chapter.  And I love the word "ficxercise;" that's cute.

 

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2015 5:14 AM Title: Chapter 1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

You just added a piece yo my head cannon and that is increasingly rare. I didn't like it, I loved it



Author's Response:

*smile*  Ooh, thanks for telling me that; that makes my day!

 

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2015 9:37 AM Title: Chapter 1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

Thank you for this.  I'd like to think that most of us would not react the way Gary did in that situation, but I just don't know.  I like this.



Author's Response:

Yeah, Gary seemed like he was kind of a jerk from the beginning, didn't he?  After all, Elizabeth Dehner eventually got the power, too, and she didn't act that way.

I"m glad you enjoyed this chapter; thanks for leaving feedback!

 

Reviewer: skaylin Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2015 10:49 PM Title: Chapter 1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

I love your writing! Will certainly be waiting for more



Author's Response:

Thanks, Skaylin!  I really appreciate your saying that.

 

Reviewer: Miltonway Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/18/2015 11:12 AM Title: Chapter 1: Where No Man Has Gone Before

This is good idea, and I really like how you're approaching it.  You make some interesting distinctions between human ESP and Vulcan telepathy.  The dialogue is great and I think you've really got their 'voices'.  

I'm not familiar with all the TOS episodes. I've seen many over the years, of course, but not in the proper order or anything.  I did once record them all on Sky+, but the box went kaput and I lost them all before I even got chance to view many of them :(

Don't worry about the lack of overt slash, the slashy undertones/subtext will do me just fine :)  Love the 'simple is not easy' line, it's so true.

I'm looking forward to the next one.

Thanks for posting.

 

 

  



Author's Response:

I'm sorry to hear that you don't have access to all of the TOS episodes; I hope you manage to see them on Netflix or borrow a friend's DVD's or something, because TOS really IS a wonderful series, even 49 years later.  Thanks for letting me know that not everyone is familiar with the episodes, so I'll know to include a brief summary the next time.

I love thinking about Vulcan telepathy, so it'll probably come up again and again in this series. :-)

I'm glad the voices sound right to you, since keeping them in character matters greatly to me.  I generally find Spock easier to write than Kirk, but I've been working on my Kirk voice, and hopefully I'm getting there.

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review; it's much appreciated.

 

You must login (register) to review.