Reviews For Sharing the Risk
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/18/2020 6:24 PM Title: Complete Story

Even though I'm safe at home with my partner, I've been feeling sad and anxious since the pandemic began, not so much about the virus itself as about the weaknesses in our social fabric that the virus is revealing and about the lack of competent leadership from the White House.

So I've been re-reading some of my favorite stories, the ones that just plain make me feel good. I think we all need that desperately, right about now.

This story is one of them, and I thank you SO much for writing the kind of story that can make me feel good every time I read it.

 



Author's Response:

What a lovely thing to say. I'm SO glad that this little story brings you comfort.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/24/2015 5:41 AM Title: Complete Story

there is so much unsaid about the before time TMP I mean. however I've never got my head round the idea that Spock  as a member of a race with deep feelings would not logically have spoken of them. 

Kirk didn't know where Spock had gone but he did know that he had to go. He also lost the a Enterprise as well as a Spock. Getting her back didn't fill the hole. So at the start if TMP we have the reverse of your fic. Jim opening his arms but Spock dare not trust dare not stop being Vulcan.

you paint a story of the future of two people handing in the air so well. For these two the fate of worlds is easy the fate of themselves so hard to deal with



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I love that TMP gave us such rich material to work with! Thank you for reading. <3

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/26/2015 9:30 PM Title: Complete Story

Such a lovely story, and so beautifully done.  I love what you've done with Spock here, how he's mostly honest with Kirk but also plays him slightly, each time doing the right thing.  Kirk has had so much psychological trauma in the three years of the series that it's a wonder he isn't gibbering in a corner, and it's completely believable that he might have become burned out and self protective.  Thank heavens he has a Vulcan who understands more about emotion than he admits. :-)

I admire the deftness and subtlety with which you wrote this; you're really so very good at this.

 



Author's Response:

Oh, my gosh, thank you. What a wonderful comment. I love reading your insights! Thank you so much.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/13/2014 10:55 PM Title: Complete Story

Such sweet, pure, agonizing angst, and then a happy ending. Who could wish for more?



Author's Response:

Oh, my goodness. It's twenty years, give or take, since I wrote this snippet. Thank you for taking the time to read it! You're spoiling me.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/09/2014 1:01 AM Title: Complete Story

Thank you for this deep, poetic moment in the middle of a star-filled night when things slowly fall into place and lifelong hurts finally start to heal.



Author's Response:

Thank you. I really appreciate you reading it. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: tropicsnow Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2010 3:07 PM Title: Complete Story

This was an incredibly beautiful story. The ways in which you describe both Spock and Kirk's struggles was very real, nearly tangible. However, the one thing that I was most impressed and moved by was that of your characterization of Gary Mitchell. Fic writers often write how Kirk and Mitchell were once lovers, but because humanity was taken away from Mitchell in the episode, nearly every fic seems to denote that no such humanity ever existed. When you wrote of their imagined conversation, a real sort of tenderness was revealed to me, one which (for the first time) I mourned for Kirk's loss and briefly wished that the man had not died.

This was very well done and very beautifully written.



Author's Response:

This is such kind and generous praise. Thank you so much. I always thought there must have been more to Gary than we saw. He wasn't the kindest soul even before the accident, but then, I thought maybe he was jealous of Spock's friendship with Kirk, and therefore not at his best. :)

Thank you for reading this. You are the best!

Reviewer: vitaminH Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2010 6:15 PM Title: Complete Story

sweet



Author's Response:

Aw, thanks! I just saw this comment here -- must have missed it earlier. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: ThreadUnwinds Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/15/2010 6:06 PM Title: Complete Story

I enjoyed this very much. I feel like you really captured the cadence of the voices of Kirk and Spock. A really delightful read. Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much -- that is so kind! I'm really glad you liked it.

Reviewer: wanderer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2009 7:08 AM Title: Complete Story

Unconsciously, the human's body swayed toward him slightly. In response, Spock's hand strayed to touch him. It was a small thing, the back of his hand pressed lightly to the rough wool of the other's sleeve, each of them with forearms propped on knees, not looking at each other. They stayed like that for a long time.

 

 

Sigh happily~

You must login (register) to review.