Reviews For The Mair-rigolauya
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2020 12:24 AM Title: Chapter 118

There are some big chickens who've come home to roost in this chapter. Laura is in fine form to start out and then to see her continue to crumble is hard, especially when Veddah said what he did, it made me want to give him a hug. Between this and the last scene there was a pile of heartache. You know how to get a reader caught up in the mood. Can't wait for next week!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/22/2020 11:35 PM Title: Chapter 118

As you get closer and closer to the problem on Pezis's Gate, I anticipate more and more how this is going to turn out.  Usually I have some idea of how a piece is going to resolve, but this time you have me clueless!  Thanks.  I like not knowing how something is going to end before it does end, lol.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2020 9:57 PM Title: Chapter 117

My favorite part of this chapter was the discussion between Joe and Kirk.  Now Jim knows for certain that Spock had feelings for him in the past, but he may have screwed that up.  Will be waiting for your appearance next Friday.  Have a good week!



Author's Response:

The pieces are finally starting to come together for Jim. He's forcing himself beyond his self-sabotaging perception of the world. I hope you have a good week as well. Thank you so much for reading!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 5:26 AM Title: Chapter 117

A well deserved comeuppance (Silvio needed that months ago) and a load of bombshells (T'Pau is obviously way out of touch), and im left turning inside out wanting the next chapter. You put out all kinds of teeny treasures that add into a more complete backstory for this universe and that's on top of great storytelling. CBS could learn a thing or three from you!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the compliments and praise. You're right, T'Pau is out of touch. As far as good storytelling, it's my belief there is less and less of it because people aren't being taught to develop critical thinking skills as part of the writing process. In the US, a creative story doesn't do as well on a standardized test than a boilerplate tale because the bland, uninspired one ticks all the boxes in the scoring rubric. Have a good week and thank you for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 5:08 AM Title: Chapter 115

Supremely bad idea Jim! Bad, bad idea!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 1:44 AM Title: Chapter 113

Holy moly, what a series of revelations. Spooks and peaches and "alterations" and guns and--I can't wait to click next chapter!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 1:05 AM Title: Chapter 110

I'm so happy to have some time to catch up on my reading. Christine is the worst! She can't stop screwing herself, too many real people are just like that. It's pretty sad actually. Next chapter!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/2020 3:33 PM Title: Chapter 116

Jim Kirk - boo!  I am disappointed in him for skulking around and invading Spock's privacy.  He should be more mature even though I understand he is desperate.

Veddah is doing a good job taking care of Laura, too, but I have to wonder if Vulcans in a relationship with a human will always be doing the caregiving and not the humans.  if so humanity is going to have to work to make the relationship more two-sided!

And all that loot in the cave!  Now we're getting down to the nitty gritty.  Am looking forward to your next chapter.



Author's Response:

Kirk is certainly being a boob right now and he's dragged McCoy in even deeper. I wrote his finding of the toybox in the closet as a knee to the gut because sometimes you go looking for answers and get the smack you deserve.

Veddah is a good kid and Laura knows just how lucky she is to have him.

I'll see you on Friday.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/02/2020 12:15 PM Title: Chapter 115

OK, you've completely lost me with the cabbage soup mix!



Author's Response:

It's what's holding all of the toys/lubes/condoms that Tralnor gave Spock back in Chapter 30:

“It’s no wonder shore leave is synonymous with Mardi Gras-level depravity.” Tralnor entered, cardinal colored t-shirt tight across his chest, and a box marked CABBAGE SOUP MIX, tucked under his arm. “Even people who don’t think they’re stir-crazy get goofy when the gangplank goes down.”

Since this is a *very* long novel that's being read in a serialized form, I understand how something you read six months ago went bye-bye. I'm always glad to refresh memories and answer questions.

Thank you for your comments and continued support. I couldn't do this without you.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/25/2020 1:05 AM Title: Chapter 114

Getting a new chapter each week is the highlight of my week.  I am enjoying what you are doing and hope that you will continue to write other Trek work when you finish this one.

I was surprised by this chapter and was surprised to realize that I had never considered a reaon for Sarek' distancing in any other framework but rejection.  Your take on the situation was illuminating.  

I look forward to next week!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

It was always my thought that Amanda would not have stayed married to a man who rejected their child, that there had to be an explanation as to why her relationship with her husband remained close even though Sarek and Spock had a falling out. That falling out was exactly what it was, a father thought his son could do better and a teenager who didn't agree with his Old Man. As a child, Spock saw his father's distance as disapproval and rejection of his human side as straight out rejection. That is the conclusion a young child would come to, especially if this stand-offish parent doesn't offer up a reason why. That chasm is real, something that obviously never smoothed over completely, so things were never going to be sunshine and rainbows. There was too much damage. In Star Trek III, even though Sarek's appearances aren't long, the audience is granted a short look into the ambassador's regard for his child. So, that's where I'm coming from.

Once I finish this and Home for the Holidays, I've got an idea or two kicking around for another trip through the Celluloid Vokaya universe. I've had to set Home to the side for the moment because I'm on a roll with trying to finish The Mair-rigolauya. I'm on the home stretch.

It's uplifting to hear that my writing in the highlight of someone's week. When you connect with readers in that way you know you're doing something right. It makes me happy that you want to finish this journey with me. Thank you so much and I'll see you next Friday.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2020 10:55 PM Title: Chapter 112

Another great chapter, thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/2020 10:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

Glad to see you posting again this week.  It looks like things are coming to a head in this piece.  I've become so accustomed to your posting on Friday that I will miss it.  I check eachc Friday until it's up.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

We're finally heading into the closing stretch on this one. I won't know what to do with myself when it's finished either. As always, it's been great to have you along on this adventure.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2020 4:14 AM Title: Chapter 108

Dr. Okuda, that's awesome.



Author's Response:

As I was writing that scene, I was trying to think of a name for the creator of this new warp tech and looked over at the bookshelf. The Star Trek Encyclopedia was right there and I thought having a Dr. Okuda was rather appropriate.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2020 9:46 PM Title: Chapter 108

This is getting so convoluted, I'm beginning to have trouble keeping track!

Always happy to see an update from you, this one was excellent, thank you..



Author's Response:

When I started on this, I had no idea I was heading into a project that shares a lot of its structure with Joan D. Vinge's The Summer Queen (950 pages in the mass market paperback and a word count the author has put at about 400k) which is simply a huge sci-fi epic. When that book is read straight through instead of in parcels, the fuzziness and confusion fades, and details/characters/plotlines solidify, making much more sense overall. The people who've re-read The Mair-rigolauya from the beginning have told me the same thing. It can be tough to read something like this in the serialized fashion in which its put up on the Archive, but I don't want to leave people hanging and this method gives me time to do the best possible job editing/proofreading that I possibly can. When this is done, I'll have a Dramatis Personae and a couple of other supplements that you often see with novels of this kind. So, that's kind of where we are on that for now. I'm not trying to make your head spin, I just want to do the best job possible. . . 

The Mair-rigolauya is definitely teaching me that "epic" length projects are of a different sub-species of novel. Most of my book-length work clocks in between 100k-150k words, so I've never faced some of the challenges that I'm dealing with on this, a true learning experience.

As always, thank you so much for taking the time to read and review. Your time is valuable and I'm so appreciative that you leave feedback as that's the thing that allows authors to improve on their craft. Happy reading and I'll be seeing you around!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2020 9:03 AM Title: Chapter 106

I like Joe's explanation of t'hy'la even if he thinks its not very good. Points on a line, not a triangle, makes sense here. Then you toss more intrigue in at the end to keep the readers on their toes, nice.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/16/2020 4:51 AM Title: Chapter 104

Lol, it has taken me a couple of weeks to find a very circuitious means of being able to make a comment so just let me say that I'm glad you're continuing to post on both stories.  It looks like you're getting to the nitty gritty of this tale, and I look forward to seeing what you do with it.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

I've not got any plans of leaving either of these hanging. I'm almost done with Home for the Holidays and The Mair-rigolauya is shifting into the home stretch (which given how this doorstopper keeps going) won't see "The End" for a while yet. Thank you for reading and I hope all is well and that your hand injury has healed nicely.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2020 1:47 PM Title: Chapter 104

Just when you think there can't be another layer of mystery, bam! You hit us with some more. I hope this means that Jim is finally back on track. Good stuff.



Author's Response:

Good to see you made it back to the Archive. Thanks again for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/05/2020 3:41 AM Title: Chapter 102

Squeeeeeee! I'm so happy-happy-joy-joy that this story is going to be updated. I was going into total withdrawals. Oh, and Jim is being such a dick to Joe. Don't be a dick, Jim!



Author's Response:

I'm glad to be back. I've got several more chapters written and ready to go. Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/25/2020 12:39 AM Title: Chapter 98

Yes, I saw your comment.  The site seems to be partially up - it's possible to read, to make comments, and there is a read count continuing, but the capacity to add additional chapters is still out.  I'm glad you're still writing.  That will mean more chapters later.  i'm using the time to write as well.

Let's both hope this situation is fixed soon.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/22/2020 5:26 PM Title: Chapter 98

I don't know whether this will actually post given the condition of the website at the moment, but I wanted you to know that I just finished re-reading the entire piece from beginning to here and thoroughly enjoyed it.  Re-reading helped me pick up some details I missed first time around.  Well done!



Author's Response:

I was drifting through to see how things were going over here as I'm sitting on several more chapters of this work that I'd love to share with everyone and was delighted to get your review. Thanks for taking the time to re-read and thank you for the compliments. Now, here's to hoping things will get back to normal around here. We'll see if this response makes it to you.

You must login (register) to review.