Reviews For The Mair-rigolauya
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2020 7:59 PM Title: Chapter 144

...The answers to life, the universe, and everything."  Surely they know that the answer is 42, right?  Lol.



Author's Response:

Yes, but they all forgot to bring their towels!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/14/2020 6:20 PM Title: Chapter 143

I like the way this is coming together - a little step here, a little nudge there - and tiny little pieces of progress each week.   On Fridays I am still watching with anticipation for your post and hope that you continue to do well.



Author's Response:

I'm always glad to get your feedback since it lets me know that I'm definitely on the right path with this story. Thank you for reading and I'll see you on Friday.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/29/2020 9:54 PM Title: Chapter 140

Welshie, nooooooooooooooooo! Ha! Ha! Ha!

Reviewer: Dee54 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/19/2020 5:48 PM Title: Chapter 52

I was worried that this story was going to end with Spock going to gol, know I have hope.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading! It's wonderful to have you here and I hope you like the rest of what you see.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/18/2020 6:30 PM Title: Chapter 139

Ok, you've got a lot going on here at the same time, lol.  Write faster!



Author's Response:

I'm clacking along as fast as my fingers can skip about my keyboard;) Honestly, it's the proofreading, copyediting, and continuity checking that takes the longest. If I wasn't such a stickler about polishing things up as nice as possible, you'd see more at a faster rate, but it just wouldn't be as good. I approach all my writing this way because you and the rest of my readers deserve the best.

It's great to hear from you again and thanks for reading/commenting.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2020 5:33 AM Title: Chapter 138

I didn't care a whole lot for Sarek because he seemed like such snob. He might have cared about his family, but it was hard to tell under all the displesure he showed for everyone, like the peopl in his kid's social circle. This fic almost since the start and especially, the last few weeks, you showed this guy like a real person, and getting this insight is changing the character in my mind. This makes me want even more to read some of his and T'Lal's archaeology adventures.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading. It was my hope that I could convey sound reasoning that might make someone like the ambassador alienate his own child and still have his wife's support. Amanda would never stay married to a man who acted with malice toward her baby. Depth of character is something I always try to put into my writing, showing the events and experiences that brought someone to their current state. In the case of working with franchise characters like the ones here, I place those details and try my damnedest to keep that character as true to the screen as possible.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/08/2020 4:13 PM Title: Chapter 137

Ok, where is McCoy?  Why is Kirk trash talking Vulcans?  And what is wrong with Laura?



Author's Response:

Kirk is frustrated at this whole situation is all especially with Bones' unintentional ruination of the transporters. Cheeky answers to the other two questions you've posed: Bones has gone off to find trouble and Laura is the sort of problem that some physicians wait their entire careers for. If I say anything else, I'm afraid I'll spoil some things. Thanks for popping by and commenting.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2020 5:40 AM Title: Chapter 137

Silvio is disgusting.



Author's Response:

He is indeed.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2020 12:21 AM Title: Chapter 136

I love McCoy, but sometimes that man is so stupid. I'm pretty sure I know who caught him and if I'm right about that he will wish he'd stayed back up on the Dragon.



Author's Response:

Bones is a bit on the impulsive side especially when he's charging off to help people. I find it part of his charm. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/21/2020 11:01 PM Title: Chapter 135

I don't think you realize how unusual this story is.  Since the 70s, I've read Trek fan fiction of various kinds and quality and yours is unique in a number of ways.  You have multiple characters each of whom has a perspective represented at some point.  Just the number of characters you have used is more than most of the fiction I have read as the numbers uually come down to the Big Three - Kirk, Spock, and McCoy.  You show more of the Vulcan perspective than is usual.  And this is a much, much longer story with a much broader perspective on Trek than is usual.  That is why I check every Friday until it shows up, lol.



Author's Response:

Wow, I'm bowled over. . . I've not had a chance to read a great deal of fanfic. I'm too young to have been around for the heyday of the zines, was not aware of the message boards when I finally got internet, read a few things in the early, horrifying days of fan fiction dot net and walked away in frustration, until about ten years ago when I was finally done with graduate school and had a sliver of leisure reading time, I stumbled across this particular site, read a few things I liked in fits and startles. . . blah, blah, blah. Anywhoo, I assumed that by the time I decided to throw my hat into the ring, that due to the sheer quantity of stories out there, I'd have a very, very similar product to other things out there.

The actual writing, I approached it like I do my original fiction. I was going to give it my best, run with an ensemble cast, have multiple complimentary storylines, and just try to tell the best story I can. I didn't expect to have it come out at mega-epic fantasy length, that's just how it happened here.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for reading and commenting. 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/18/2020 11:08 PM Title: Chapter 135

I re-read the previous chapter while waiting at the repair shop this morning, and the end hit me much differently than the first time I read it.  That is the first time I have seen brain injury as a reason that Sarek will not meld with Spock and makes a lot of sense.  No reason for Sarek's telepathic distance I have read makes Sarek more vulnerable or honorable than this.

When I read this chapter, I grinned when you managed to use that plus what we know of Sarek's death together in a coherent concept.  Well done!  I am already looking forward to the next chapter to see how thing are going to turn out.



Author's Response:

I'm almost at a loss for words at reading your comment. When I finally decided to write this story, I figured I'd just be retreading the same well-loved ground and hoping that what I put out there wasn't too derivrative. I always figured there was a damned good reason Sarek didn't meld with his son and it wasn't because he was a bigoted old bastard. If that was the truth, the man we meet in STIII would have been an entirely different person, not to mention what we see of him in TNG. I felt that a TBI, something that isn't readily visible and not an artifact of a shitty personality, was a realistic way to approach this issue. Thank you so much for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2020 7:15 PM Title: Chapter 134

That last scene is touching and heartbreaking. I can't help but feel sorrow for the ambassador.

I thought the references to Ray Bradbury's book were pretty interestings especially since the points you bring up are a sorta strange parallels to what is going on with these characters. Now I might just have to read Something Wicked This Way Comes while waiting for next week's post.



Author's Response:

Something Wicked still scares me to this day and it felt like a good fit because of the themes and characters in that story. I think Bradbury might have even been one of the scifi writers that the Star Trek production team would call up and get his ideas on things. Happy reading on whatever you pick between now and Friday. Thank you for commenting.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2020 5:29 PM Title: Chapter 134

Somehow I managed to miss your post last week so if someone online says a person has been looking for you it would be me, lol.  I'm glad to see that I was in error and that you are still plugging along.  It's good to see the plot line as it moves along, and I am looking forward to the resolution in the future.  Just don't kill off Spock or Tralnor, ok?  Thanks!



Author's Response:

So you wound up with a 2 for 1 special! I'm finding that notifications aren't very timely these days, if they go out at all. I try to get the week's chapter up by 7:00pm Pacific Time every Friday. Your request that I not bump off certain characters is quite the compliment because if people want them to stick around, they like said characters. Thanks again for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2020 2:12 PM Title: Chapter 131

You are such a tease!  Each week I think "Now we'll get moving into the gory details!" and each week you draw out the suspense a little more.  Frustrating but I like it.  When the end comes, I think it's going to be dynamite.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

Early in my writing career, I had a distinct problem with transitions and pacing where I lost and/or fatigued my readers with a cycle of lack of or too much information. I learned to weave in that tease to keep things interesting and keep the story moving, and that's more engaging to readers. Thanks for being willing to put up with a bit of frustration.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/17/2020 3:34 PM Title: Chapter 130

Leech repellant, that's got me shaking my head. Bones is a funny one. So Silvio a bigger prick than ever. The way he talked about Veddah has me wanting to smack Silvio upside his racist head. I liked this chapter and Friday needs to get here.



Author's Response:

Silvio is a piece of work. I sort-of modeled him on these two bullying idiot jocks I went to high school with. They managed to be co-valedictorians and everyone knew they lied and cheated their way there. They weren't handled then, but once they got away from our hometown and had to be big boys out in the real world, things didn't stay so nice for them. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2020 3:39 PM Title: Chapter 129

Oh, I needed this! I think the hardest hitting part of this is that esnsign dead body diddler couldn't have caused so much damage on his own. He had to have help and we don't know who it is yet. If there's active saboteurs still on board how much more trouble are they going to make?



Author's Response:

Glad to be of service. We all know that Kevin treacherous, but it's looking like they've only found the tip of an iceberg. Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2020 1:13 AM Title: Chapter 129

Looks like we are getting down to the nitty gritty, and I am looking forward to the resolution of this tale!



Author's Response:

I'm always saying thanks for staying with this story and I know it doesn't seem like much, it means a lot. Thank you.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2020 3:56 AM Title: Chapter 128

Who knew an exploding coffee maker would be so revealing? Now we know why Pezigs doesn't want NX ships parking up around their planet.



Author's Response:

Even innocent food service items aren't always what they seem, right? Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2020 9:42 PM Title: Chapter 127

Interesting discussion between McCoy and T'Lal. She gives some good points to think about for people who are of mixed backgrounds.



Author's Response:

Good to see you and thanks for all the comments. It's good for someone like McCoy to get an alternate viewpoint from someone he doesn't verbally horse-fight all the time. I'm thrilled that you and other readers like these characters, that they resonate. Catch you next time.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2020 9:27 PM Title: Chapter 125

More Laura revelations, gives me the chills. Veddah is worth his weight in gold, I hope he comes out of all of this in one piece.

You must login (register) to review.