You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2018 10:49 PM Title: This Deadly Innocence

I so love how this culminates in one simple last line!

Reviewer: ShiKahr Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/10/2017 6:45 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

Very interesting story. You very well explained the reasons behind their self-destructive behaviour ... and brought it to a Happy End. :-)



Author's Response:

Thank you much, Shi.  Yes, I wrote this tale precisely in order to deal with some contradictions I saw in Our Heroes' characters, and hopefully settle them.  I'm glad to see that my conclusions were...(Heheheh!)...logical. 

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/01/2016 9:27 PM Title: This Deadly Innocence

Wie wundervoll!

Danke

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/05/2014 12:42 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

Oh, wow, what a wonderfully intense, marvellous story! Wonderfully structured, great the idea of having the two of them isolated on this world without technology, with nothing to do but being together and trying to understand each other and themselves. Amazing the way you convey the alienness of Spock's thought processes. We always tend to make him a human with pointed ears and high temperature - instead of a creature that is different from humans in a wide variety of ways not only physical.



Author's Response:

Thank you much, glad you liked.  Yes, I really wanted to tackle Spock's thought-processes and deal with the contradictions in his own history, as well as some of the problems I saw with Vulcan culture.  That's probably what made this story so long!

 

--Leslie <;)))>< 

Reviewer: Random_Nexus Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/27/2014 3:16 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

Read this yeeeeeeaaars ago, can't even remember where.  Still a good read. XD



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad to see it's stood the test of time.

--Leslie <;)))>< 

Reviewer: museattack Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2013 12:14 PM Title: This Deadly Innocence

I understand why this is a classic: convenient bed sharing, mutual confusion, what-does-it-mean touching, and a happy ending. McCoy is, undoubtedly, damned pleased with himself. Loved this.



Author's Response:

Glad you liked.  I really did write this, as the title implies, to put the kibosh on the Hurt/Comfort Syndrome.  I chuckle to think of how direct K/S stories flourished after I first published this, and (yes!) the number of Hurt/Comfort stories fell off.  Of course, I can't take all the credit for that;  society's attitude toward same-sex also matured in the same time-frame.  Still, I'm happy to have done my bit in helping it along.

--Leslie <;)))><  

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2012 11:31 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

Great story.

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/12/2011 5:24 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

Oh golly, I'm not ready for this to be over!  Their innocence was so sweet as they realized the depth of their feelings.  Please write more of this beautiful story!

Reviewer: draq Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/02/2011 3:53 PM Title: This Deadly Innocence

This was the funniest, most endearing, most human parody of the hurt/comfort fic I have ever read.
McCoy is so clever and evil and bitchy.
It starts out as this funny quirky parody of the hurt comfort.  He was so eager and happy to die for each other. Like the scene where Jim has to save Spock from bears is so funny and perverse. (Almost as much as the killer whales)
The unicorns are so cute and every little animal is a character all it's own.

But it really morphs into this love pyschological and even philosophical tale of facing ones fears.  I even love the references to Father, and the previous episodes.  It is very well done.

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/14/2011 7:16 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

Ah, I remember reading this one- read it and later re-read it a while ago, nice to finally be able to review it :) I really like this story, it's cute and sweet, and the planet is described with such a lot of attention to detail. And the description of Spock's thought processes is intriguing to follow and well done, in my opinion.

Reviewer: Laina Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/10/2011 4:08 PM Title: This Deadly Innocence

OH MY GODS... this story left me speechless. it was utterly amazing =O wow hope you write more :D

Author's Response: Well, to be honest, right now I'm busy with Highlander slash stories, over on www.hlfiction, but anything's possible. --Leslie <;)))><

Reviewer: nhrc Signed starstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2011 8:30 PM Title: This Deadly Innocence

I have no words to declare
Just that I'm all bitter weeping
Your novel left me only Feelings & water

  * * * * * * *

And a little jealous that what happened three times that night (and again in the morning) - you have saved for yourself.

Reviewer: Kara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2010 8:19 PM Title: This Deadly Innocence

Absolutely wonderful, the best characterization of Spock I've ever read. Impressive, original style.

I loved it, I read it twice in a row just to savor it :))). Thank you.



Author's Response:

Awww, thank you.  I wrote this deliberately as a combination love-story and psychological study, dealing specifically with Spock's internal conflict as mirrored by Kirk's.  I did something similar in "Shelter" and "Poses", but in this story I took out the physical urgency so as to concentrate purely on the psychology.  Call it the Kinder, Gentler Version.  I'm glad you liked it.

--Leslie <;)))><

Reviewer: vitaminH Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/16/2010 1:51 PM Title: This Deadly Innocence

A heart warming story, tender and sweet. Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

Glad you liked.  I wrote this deliberately to be a love story, with sex implied but not even mentioned until the last few sentences.  I'm really delighted to know that I succeeded.  Thank you much.

 

--Leslie <;)))><

Reviewer: Spockaholic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2010 3:52 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

This is easily one of the BEST K/S stories I have ever read.  The characterization is amazing, and you created a hugely enjoyable world for them to play in.  The interactions between Kirk and Spock are fantastic...I actually got the "butterflies" when I read some parts :)  Whenever I find myself in need of some examples of great writing within the K/S fandom to inspire me in my own writing, this is one of the stories that I always come back to.  Thank you!



Author's Response:

Aww, thank you.  I had previously written K/S stories ("Shelter" and "Poses") with explicit action, but in this story I was -- as the title shows -- deliberately going after the Hurt/Comfort Syndrome, so the precise steps in the emotional development were of paramount (!) importance.  I confess that I make a habit of riding out to do battle with all the stupid attitudes toward sexuality that force people to tie themselves up in emotional knots.  And no, it's not unrealistic to assume that such knot-tying will still exist in the future, alas.  

--Leslie <;)))><

Reviewer: avictoriangirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2010 4:48 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

I can't tell you how much I love this. Sweet and angsty and just the right amount of fluff. Your characterizations are perfect and the little animals made me laugh! Thank you so much for writing this. <3

Reviewer: marksonpaper Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2010 10:59 PM Title: This Deadly Innocence

... That was the best ending ever. No smut needed. I love how you detailed the thought processes and the gradual awarness of the emotions. And oh, how I love thee Devious!McCoy.

Reviewer: croatine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/06/2009 10:49 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

Very well written, congratulations.

Reviewer: Mirrorgirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2009 1:40 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

Absolutely beautiful story. It brings down the walls. I loved it, thanks.

Reviewer: boruchcm Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/11/2008 12:44 AM Title: This Deadly Innocence

I enjoyed this story when I first came upon it a few years ago and it was nice to read it again. I like the concept--address the h/c stories with a beautiful first time K/S as well. Wonderful characterizations and the animals are a blast!

You must login (register) to review.