You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2020 8:49 PM Title: Chapter 5

The reference to the whales is a nice little touch. Now I've got, "That's what I said, Alameda," going through my head. I'm thinking it might be time for a TOS movie marathon.



Author's Response:

Enjoy your movies. I might have to do the same.

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2020 10:49 PM Title: Chapter 3

Wow, Christine is a doozy in this. She is one of my least favorite characters on the original Enterprise crew because she's vapid and all hung up on a man she can't have. It's both funny and sad how she's acting. I really liked the visit to the Big Bear house. I'm hoping those people get to spend time in jail.



Author's Response:

Glad to see you're still around. Yeah, Christine is just one of those people. She gets under my skin because she's so fucking smart/capable/educated and chooses to act like a silly little girl. About the Big Bear cousins, I wanted some comeuppance that was both satisfying and a little humorous. Once again, thank you for reading.

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2020 10:06 PM Title: Chapter 2

I like how this piece is a complimentary story to Mair-Rigolauya. Almost the same cast of characters at different points in their lives add to your universe. I'm particularly liking McCoy in this, salty and funny is perfect.

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/31/2020 1:54 AM Title: Chapter 1

Now that I'm doing the work from home thing like everyone else, I've the time to catch up on my reading. Seems the comments I left on this were eaten when things wen haywire at the star t of the year. I like this chapter better the second time through. It's touching ,terrifying and exciting, and I'm also glad I know that the story doesn't end right here.

Reviewer: Pookie Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2020 6:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm liking this story more and more. At first I wasn't crazy about the flashbacks...but it works! It just seems so seamless...it's like reading two stories. Loving the humor and the drama!

Author's Response:

This is a hell of a compliment. I wanted to set myself a challenge of doing a flashback story that wasn't a disaster, as so many turn out. I'm glad you're enjoying it and that the combination of timelines/storylines and the humor/drama work for you. As always, thank you for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2020 7:51 PM Title: Chapter 10

I should know better than to read this stuff during lunch hour. Catsquatch pretty much did me in. Thanks for the laugh.



Author's Response:

Sorry, not sorry? My friend who gets to hear all of this read out loud as part of my revision process almost fell out of the chair at the catsquatch. I'm glad it works for more than me and that person because humor is quite honestly not the easiest thing to write. What the writer finds hilarious might fall flat on its face for anyone else. I'm always happy to see you here. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2020 7:36 PM Title: Chapter 9

This isn't the right word, but I like this chapter because it "humanizes" Sarek in a way. When he says he wanted better for his son, he really ment it.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2020 8:52 PM Title: Chapter 9

This chapter hit a nerve.  As I read Spock's letter to Sarek, I remember the one I wrote to my own dad but not only shredded but burned it as well.  Spock has always been my favorite character for a number of reasons, one having been the I understood his father issues.  At least he had a chance eventually according to canon to have some reconciliation.  I wish I could say the same.



Author's Response:

As always, thank you for your feedback. I know as I was writing this I wondered how this chapter would land since it's mostly centered around the parents and takes a more nuanced look into the tumultuous relationship Spock had with his father. I was accused, years ago now, by a friend who'd read three or four of my novels and she told me that I had a vendetta against "good" families and that I portrayed all parents as less-than-ideal. Sure, some were rotten and others fine, just like real life. She never could understand that not everyone has a television family, that people like Spock, people like you face that reality every day.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2020 9:11 PM Title: Chapter 7

This hits so many interesting topics (gut feeling, muscle cars, community parties) and none of it seems like it was crammed in or tacked on. I like Justin's brother so far. I desperately want Johnny and Carter to stay cool. Still loving the pace and the switch between past and present. Chapter 8, here I come!

Oh, had to look up the gut thing. I had no idea that there was a medical explanation for it. See, we learn stuff from these books too.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/16/2020 7:16 AM Title: Chapter 7

Notifications for this fic fell off my list someho, but that just means I got to enjoy two new chapters at once. 
I'm so loving this story! I'd love to see a lot more of these kids as they grow up together, hoping you keep this fic going. 
And I really like Jimmy & Carter, nice for the Vulcan kids to see that other children aren't all monsters!



Author's Response:

It looks like things are still recovering from the New Years' hiccup. I'm glad you found me and this story again. I remembered that you were enthusiastic about it but couldn't remember your name. . . I'm one of those people who's bad with names.

I was glad to give the kids some proof that not all children are vicious sociopaths. It's just that these three have encountered more than their fair share given their family backgrounds. I've got a few more chapters written and in the proofreading stage, so there's more on the horizon. Thanks again and again for reading!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/05/2020 7:44 PM Title: Chapter 6

I've been wondering what was going on for the kids. I still really like how the past and resent scenes are allowed to flow. None of it feels forced and that scene at the end where they meet the the stranger who wanted to know where Spock bought his ears was really uplifting.

The line about snowmen cookies not putting frosting carrots on their crotches had me laughing, so did Tralnor's comment about dicks. My coworkers probably wondered if I'd lost my mind. Chapter 7 can't get here fast enough!



Author's Response:

Co-workers can be a suspicious bunch. Glad you got a laugh. I'm shining up the next chapter and keep an eye out next Tuesday-ish. Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/02/2019 8:03 AM Title: Chapter 1

I love your story......but you ended it too soon. There needs to be more....is there?

 

what happened after Little Spock was found?  What happened with Kirk and Spock?  

 



Author's Response:

No need to fret, there's more on the way. Glad you're liking it. Thank you so much for reading.

Reviewer: Jaylen0827 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2019 8:23 PM Title: Chapter 1

Loving this addition to your main story. You are so right about how cruel kids can be and how Spock's life might be. I like that Kirk is showing some empathy toward his poor first officer and realizes there is something more going on here. Hopefully more is coming? Hope his cousins get raked over the coals by someone, it sure won't be their parents.



Author's Response:

More is on the way for this one and I'm glad that you're liking it. Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2019 1:27 AM Title: Chapter 1

This piece kinda got to me in a way that I find hard to articulate.  I've always loved Spock b/c he was an outsider, and that was a place where I found myself much of my childhood and even adulthood.  Fortunately, I didn't manage to get myself locked in a shed in frigid weather, but I did get enough knocks to have struggled with PTSD which he is clearing exhibiting as well.  Poor Spock.  Children are soooo vulnerable. 

 



Author's Response:

Kids can be vicious little monsters, especially those who are raised by shit parents of Ben and Shelby's ilk. When this story was first coming together in my mind, I got to thinking about the Ray Bradbury short story All in a Summer's Day, and how ruthless children are to peers who don't toe their cookie-cutter, mainstream culture line. Spock got me through some tough times because I know what it's like to be the weird kid too. He also gave me the inspiration to think I could become more than the truck stop waitress people expected me to be.

Thank you so much for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2019 11:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

From the Desk of That Guy Who Stole All Your Pens (and Your Lunch). . . I need this stationery right now!  That aside, I'm liking this unexpected addition to your intenresting world. What a warning about not being able to chose who you're related to.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and having a good time. Now that I think about it, I might have to make up some of Joe's letterhead for myself.

You must login (register) to review.