You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/26/2015 3:39 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is too much, too hurt , and too beautiful. 

I wish I never read this piece. I know this one will hunter me for a long time. 

 

If I can, I will give you 100 stars. 

 

 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2015 10:24 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is one of he best Fics ever 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2013 3:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow.  I'm stunned.  I'm so stunned that I don't quite know what to say, but that was amazing.

 

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 08/24/2010 12:24 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh this was so lovely, I had a lump in my throat at the end. Wonderfully evocative writing here. Thanks so much for sharing.

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 08/24/2010 12:24 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh this was so lovely, I had a lump in my throat at the end. Wonderfully evocative writing here. Thanks so much for sharing.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for reading. :)

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2009 6:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is the second time I've read this story and it made me bawl my eyes out again. They overflowed when Bones started talking about Jim being afraid of death and that his "thank you" to Spock was because Spock would be there beside him when it happened, and it didn't stop until long after Bones hoping they were able to hold hands at the end. If they HAVE to die, it just has to be together. Nothing else feels right.

This story is a punch in the gut, not in terms of action but of emotion, dark and heart-wrenching and moving and powerful. I felt for Bones who was left behind, shattered by the death of his best friends; for Jim, who was given such orders and left to face certain death courageously so others would live; and for Spock who abandonned everything to stay at Jim's side and protect him to the very end. I'm not fond of 1st person POV as a rule but in this case it worked wonderfully well, allowing us to discover what happened through Bones' eyes slowly the way one would, to view the interactions the three of them had and how much Bones loved them both. Your writing was full of little details that made it even more real and poignant; I felt your description of their last night together, slowly unraveling as Bones think back about it, was especially well-done. A truly beautiful piece.

 



Author's Response:

Wow. Thank you for such awesome feedback! To be honest with you, I'm not a fan of 1st POV myself, and usually I don't handle it all that well, therefore avoid it. With Bones, for some reason, it just felt right.

God, do I agree that they should go together. It's unimaginable what the events of Generations did to them both. Jim forever drowning in the narcotic trance of the Nexus. And Spock left alone. It doesn't even matter in this context if people see them as friends or lovers. Whatever it was, it was the relationship that defined them both and made them complete. To ruin it on a whim, just so JTK could fall off a bridge 80 years later seems unbelievably cruel.

Ironically, their last night together was the straw that broke the camel's back. ::sad smile:: When Steff wrote that terrific companion piece and made it Jim's POV, there was only one thing left unsaid and only one POV not brought in. I couldn't do it. As painful as this had been, Spock's POV would have been unbearable. But this way people may seek their own answers. That works, too. Thank you again for reading!

Reviewer: tmelange Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2009 6:16 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is the sort of ending I'd expect for them: together. Anything else is a travesty. :) Bravo!

Author's Response:

This is the sort of ending I'd give them if I could. Alas, I'm just a humble fanficcer. ;-)

Reviewer: dristi Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/30/2009 6:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

hi,

...wow! this story was ....overwhelming!

hope to read many, many stories from you in future...

pls keep up!



Author's Response:

Thank you! That's very kind. :)

Reviewer: meeksins13 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2009 7:36 AM Title: Chapter 1

beautiful~



Author's Response:

thank you~

Reviewer: Sahviere Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2009 2:57 AM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for a most beautifully drawn picture of Kirk and Spock, you draw out emotions with the touch of a master.

Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you for a beautiful review. I am honored.

Reviewer: mila Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2009 2:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

Superb writing is nothing less than what I have come to expect from you and this story lives up to your reputation.  Although it is difficult for me to completely buy into the premise of a James Kirk who would willingly have Spock sacrifice his life for Jim's own comfort and solace, I still enjoyed this piece for its quiet truth about what these two men mean to one another and for the great insights from McCoy's point a view.  Thank you for sharing "Should I Fall Behind" with all of us.



Author's Response:

Well, it certainly wasn't for Jim's comfort or solace, but if it reads that way then I totally fail as an author. Which is of course regrettable, but also a great incentive to strive for better. ;-) Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts, it is invaluable input to any author. :)

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2009 8:48 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow.  For this, and for the companion piece -- *wow*.  Very very nicely done.  Spare and lean, almost bare bones -- and *perfect* so.

Kudos from Greywolf, who admires the sharpness of thy blade



Author's Response:

Thank you. I am honored. And thrilled. :)

You must login (register) to review.